Ourselves Alone

Episode Reviews (16)

Great
392 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.0

    Look, I *know* we can't expect this show to be an action-packed thrill-seeking roller-coaster ride week in, week out but this is just getting ridiculous.

    By screenagedkicks, Jun 18, 2011

    Look, I *know* we can't expect this show to be an action-packed thrill-seeking roller-coaster ride week in, week out but this is just getting ridiculous. The writing staff have been dancing around the same minuscule, uninteresting plot points for about half the season now and frankly, it's wearisome. If it weren't for the possibility that Thomas Dekker might get his kit off any second, I'd stop watching the bloody show. 'Ourselves, Alone' takes the psychoanalytical bent that's dominated every episode since 'Earthlings Welcome Here' and tries to inject some originality by aiming the microscope at Cameron instead of Sarah. Um, nice try guys, but you're not fooling anyone. She kills a pigeon, panics a bit about her motor-neuron reflexes and um, Riley dies. Oh wait, did something actually happen? Jesus. Get. The. Hell. On. With. It.moreless

    0 5

  • 9.5

    Cameron suspects that Riley sees her cutting through her own skin to repair herself. Sarah finds out information about Riley making her, and John, suspicious. Derek is on a mission to capture a new target, while Jesse is forced to make tough decisions.

    By siggytv, Sep 03, 2010

    Excellent episode, reavealing motives and objectives of characters previously in the dark. More importantly, Riley's role in the story is revealed and compromised as - finally - is part of Jesse's mission in the present. John remains in the balance between his sympathy for Riley and belief in Cameron. We are being prepared for a climax, and could therefore describe this episode as both revealing and pivotal in the series. The few remaining episodes of Season 2 are expected to make significant revelations and we hope to see John take more action against the future war. Derek seems to be the only one really focused on his mission, with Sarah and John struggling to understand and resolve the problems that arise with their hearts, rather than with remorseless actions.moreless

    6 2

  • 8.5

    Finally something interesting

    By cra2ywolf, Sep 03, 2010

    Much, much better episode than the last few ones. I suppose we all knew the past few eps were leading up to a huge event but they were less than interesting. I almost did not want to wait around for this ep but patience won out. I got a good ep out of it with a huge twist. Although I was wanting to see Jesse get taken out, the end result capped off a good episode. It was worth the wait and once again interested to see how this turns out. Reactions to Riley's death should be intense and significant.moreless

    5 0

  • 8.5

    A return to form for the series. Sarah meets Riley's foster dad and guidance counselor for some answers. John wrestles with his feelings for Riley and Cameron, knowing that they could compromise the fight against Skynet.

    By jgoldminex, Sep 03, 2010

    Finally, the Sarah going insane arc is over. It's not that I didn't enjoy a trip into her psyche over the past few episodes, but it just felt a bit superfluous in the scheme of the show. Especially knowing that this may be the final season of the show, it would be nice if they kept the pace up. **SPOILER ALERT**



    We find out in this episode that Riley's role in John's life was to die at the hands of Cameron, thus turning him against his metal companion. I thought it was very cleverly written, with Jessie posing as a guidance counselor and selling Riley down the river. The start of the episode was also well done, with Cameron inadvertently killing a bird that she wanted to free. This was later juxtaposed with Riley and Cameron, leading to a very suspenseful scene. What would Cameron have done if John didn't intervene? We are starting to see some real character development from a character that we thought was programmed to protect John and nothing else. She appears to be learning more and more behind the unknown logic that can dictate human decisions: emotions. Between wanting John to help her, and then giving John the locket that could destroy her, Cameron is becoming a more interesting character that I hope gets more attention in upcoming episodes.



    The sexual tension is still there between Cameron and John, and I am wondering how long it will be until we see something on that end. With the Sarah going crazy arc over for now, hopefully they will go down the Cameron/John's relationship route. This episode put the show back on track for the rest of the season. I only hope that the show makes it to a third season, because I think things are getting set up very nicely for some crazy robot action.moreless

    6 1

  • 10

    Riley's secret floats closer to the top, and Cameron glitches out again.

    By darkwolfette, Sep 03, 2010

    I absolutely LOVE Cameron, flaws and all. When she tries to set the bird free, only to squeeze it to death, I felt so bad. She's finally beginning to experience some human emotions, especially empathy. It started when she turned over Agent Ellison in his house, like the turtle. She tried to be nice but her hardware malfunctioned. She's been saying that she doesn't know a lot of the time. This is further proof that she is beginning to analyze her actions from a moral standpoint, and less like a terminator. When she confronts Riley in the shed, she honestly has no clue what she is going to do, and I personally find that amazing. she is defying her natural programming, and second guessing decisions that she would usually make in an instant. The true climax was when she gave John the power to kill her. She is willing to die to protect him, and it goes beyond her Terminator duties. I can't wait to see what she'll do next.moreless

    7 2

  • 9.0

    Finally, I really good one after some stinkers.

    By pcbadass, May 21, 2009

    I was very impressed with this episode after a few rather crappy ones. We finally see more advancement of the "John loves Cameron" storyline. Several scenes of them interacting with each other and talking about issues. Watching Cameron repair herself was really cool. It helps re-emphasis the fact that she is a killer cyborg, not a girl, which is very important to remember when watching her interact with humans. For instance, when Cameron is interrogating Riley in the garage. The acting was quite good in this one, too: a lot of emotion and effort to make it believable. I really liked Derek at the bar.moreless

    1 1

  • 7.0

    Unusually thrilling.

    By mrslimm, Apr 30, 2009

    Opening with some terrific cyborg effects (Summer Glau operates on her own arm in the same way Arnie did in the first Terminator), this episode reveals the full nature of the Riley-Jesse plot strand and it's pretty cool. The hurling of Riley into the plot hasn't worked because the audience knew there was something more going on immediately but it took several months for the writers to confirm that. Her first reveal should have come much sooner, perhaps in the first of her episodes, definitely by the second. The timing of the first reveal makes no difference to the full reveal in this episode. It culminates in a rather good fight where two minor characters battle and you genuinely have no idea who will emerge the victor. Because of that, it is unusually thrilling. Good stuff.



    This Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles, The episode contains unpleasant cyborg scenes, strong violence.



    For more bite-size reviews of TV, anime, games and movies visit my blog at misterslimm.wordpress.com.moreless

    0 0

  • 4.0

    Terminator falling in love while two girls pull each others hair. yawn....whatelse is on

    By SmoothDaddyG, Mar 09, 2009

    Is this suppose to be a SciFi Action show? While we watched the terminator fall in love, the girls are beating each other up. Are the writers on strike again? This show has the opportunity to bring amazing machines from the future and do things we can't even imagine but instead we get to watch a lame hair pulling scene between two girls (I actually saw something like that once in high school) The other thing we got to watch was alot of facial expressions. The kinda stuff you see on shows like 'young and the restless'. The basic format is talk, talk, facial expression with some music, commercial. anyways, use the fast forward on this episode.moreless

    4 15

  • 9.0

    riley is gone

    By noway746, Mar 08, 2009

    i think that this episode helped bring the show back on track a bit. I was glad to see Riley go, i didn't like her character. I think that the storyline about riley and jessie coming back from the future to pull John away from Cameron was weak. I was glad to see some closure to that. Cameron having more technical difficulties was interesting, and i hope they go somewhere with that idea. I enjoyed this episode, and am looking forward to the next, i do think that the writers could have/should have worked the Riley/John storyline out a little faster, but at any rate, it's done, i'll take what i can get.... i really do love this show, glad to see Reese and Cameron playing a larger part in this episode than the last...moreless

    7 1

Load More Reviews