The Americans

Show Reviews (81)

Great
741 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 1.0

    The Whole Show

    By ScottyMyers, Jul 18, 2015

    @ stephenhill52459615, I am 100% in agreement with you. I stuck to the bitter end JUST to see if those waste of spaces would be caught and put away forever. And what they were putting the Daughter through! Yea, the Dad was there to help shield her from becoming part of the "machine" but, he too HAS to answer for his crimes. The Mom, lock her away deep into a pit and let her rot. I loved this show and at the same time hated it. I am glad it is off of the air. As a vet having served during the show's timeline, I am disgusted by it. Oh, and hooray for the Daughter at the end. Now I can fantasize that her scummy parents were caught, tried and hung as well they deserved.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    The Best Show You're Not Watching....

    By baneofkings, Apr 03, 2015

    The Americans is one of the most underrated shows on TV, and it should be having the same exposure as the likes of Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones. Tense, gripping, awesome cold war drama at the top of its game with some great acting from Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell. The child actors are surprisingly good as well, and the rich atmosphere of this show with the strong serialization and individual episode quality (there hasn't been a poor one three seasons in) makes this a must watch.moreless

    8 0

  • 3.5

    too slow moving

    By strategic56, Mar 30, 2015

    I was a real fan of the Americans, but season 3 is just too slow moving. Everythiing so far should have been in just 3 episodes. The show has gotten away from spying and into endless unrelated diversions which die of their own weight. The whole South African saga was a waste of time and not connected with the main focus of FBI vs. KGB. Phililips' fake affair with the teenager is pathettic and not appropriate. The killing of the old lady in the computer repair shop was unbearable and cruel.

    Boring sessions with Gabriel seem to be a part of each episode I can't believe he is the model of a KGB controller, assigned to the US.. In those days, it would more likely be some tough guy who looks like Ivan Konev or Georgi Zhukov or Vladimir Putin. How come Gabriel never seems to interfact with the KGB Rizidentura or Arkady or Oleg who are more believable. The only saving grace of this show is Paige (Holly Taylor) who will really be a star and Annet Mahendra (Nina) who is also terrific and the guy who plays Arkady and Oleg. . .Finally, it is incredible showing the FBI so incompetent that they are not staking out Martha's home to see who goes there (Philliip) There is no real story to season 3, it is just a collection of reactions. I wish Stan (Agent Beeman) had more of a love interest in TORI, she is HOT and she had her own TV show about a sports psychologist.moreless

    0 7

  • 10

    Masterpiece

    By Borx25, Mar 27, 2015

    The show is just amazing, no need to say anything else. Now answering to a previous review: the "extremely evil characters" its the point , if you have a high sensitivity for that kind of stuff then this show is not for yoy. And i doubt there will be such exodus as walter white was an extremely evil and selfish character but people still loved and loves the show. The main character doesnt have to be a knight in shiny armor saving ladies and puppies for a show to be good.moreless

    4 0

  • 1.0

    Divestment

    By stephenhill52459615, Mar 21, 2015

    Just watched the tire burning scene on the latest episode. With the two main characters constant killing of people and watching this cruel execution I am finding myself wanting the main characters caught, tried and executed for their violent crimes. This show needs to change it's direction or viewers are going to stage a mass exodus and it will be cancelled. I am very serious here. Hard to like them when they are extremely evil people.

    1 10

  • 10

    Cold War jitters

    By omeboy487, Feb 23, 2015

    This show has me on the edge of my seat multiple times an episode. Even the so-called "slow" episodes have enough conflict/drama to grab my attention. The family dynamic is also intriguing/tense to say the least. It's not your everyday simple, hackneyed script neither. You're not left rooting for any side in particular because it's a show that delves into the grey area of is right and that is definitely oversimplifying the great writing/acting.

    5 0

  • 10

    Love it

    By jaydale967, Feb 21, 2015

    Really like the show keep up the good work don't believe the naysayers below it's a really awesome show good job fx.

    3 1

  • 1.0

    I give up on this

    By acura9927, Feb 14, 2015

    The show has way too many characters to have a big impact. There are countless FBI, Russian, whatever spies now that I have to get a pen and paper to keep track. No good or bad guys, am I suppose to root for Russia or USA. This show has probably got good reviews due to being off the beaten path. The most overrated show on TV.

    FX- you killed off " The Bridge" and let this garbage go on! How bad is that.moreless

    1 7

  • 2.5

    Good Plot - Extremely Poor Taste!

    By Viewer1, Feb 08, 2015

    I was not aware of this show until fairly recently, as I pay little if any attention to the FX channel. Though I had not seen any of the first two seasons, I decided to try watching season 3. I found that I could pretty much follow the story and plot despite not having seen what preceded it.



    But after two episodes I am "turned off' of this show. Graphic explicit simulated(?) sex scenes in one episode, and showing a woman sitting on a toilet bowl urinating in a second episode, are highly repugnant. Whether the producers/directors/writers were trying for "shock value" or they wanted to show how "liberated' they are from having to observe conventional decency is irrelevant. Those scenes displayed an extreme lack of good taste.



    This is a shame because the story is intriguing (no pun intended) and the characters both interesting and well written. It would have been enjoyable to continue watching the show. Instead, I will not bother with it any further and will go back to ignoring the FX channel.moreless

    2 13

  • 10

    Awesone!

    By njbob, Jan 29, 2015

    Best show on TV

    5 1

Load More Reviews