The Americans

Show Reviews (65)

Great
578 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    Confusion over who the bad guys really are

    By Aardvark2013, Apr 06, 2014

    I'm upset when I read that supposedly loyal Americans are actually rooting

    for the 2 evil enemy agents, Phillip and Elizabeth Jennings. Remember that they

    are in this country to serve their Kremlin masters and undermine our way of life. Phillip

    killed an FBI agent (Amador) and Elizabeth murdered a neighborhood watch policeman

    in cold blood. They threatened the lives of both the maid's son and a warehouse

    worker and are using their own children as innocent cover for their nefarious

    activities. I realize that this is just tv drama but I hope that, in the end of the

    series, Phillip and Elizabeth meet a very unpleasant end.moreless

    0 3

  • 1.5

    Losing Interest

    By gigigsimmons, Apr 03, 2014

    The show is beginning to lose my interest. I'm finding it quite an insult to my intelligence that I'm assaulted with every 8 minutes another sexual situation scene. How many times can we watch a fictionally married couple have sex? Have the writers of the show run out of KGB story lines already? I will discontinue watching the show unless the writers come up with better content for viewing. If I want to watch a couple having sex on the screen, I can log onto the internet at any given time. I was hoping to be entertained in a more intelligent fashion, by way of a witty writer giving me a story of a KGB Agent. .moreless

    5 5

  • 7.0

    Always the same...

    By deanbratton, Mar 28, 2014

    I really enjoy the drama of the show. But I am getting bored, after an entire season and into this one, week after week; every mission the Russians run seems to work out. As for the FBI and the Americans, they're always screwing up. The most pathetic part is, every American citizen is a sell out for sex. Have sex with a guy and he's prepared to commit treason. I wonder how the Russians managed to lose the cold war with so many sex crazed Americans with Top Secret clearances ready to give up secrets for some bedroom action.moreless

    4 2

  • 9.5

    Classic and Amazing!

    By withlovemoney, Mar 28, 2014

    Actors acting is nice, i like these kind of classic spy dramas. Its interesting to watch, the dialogues and one of the best. After Homeland, this is what i have been watching!

    1 7

  • 10

    KGB NEVER LOOKED SO GOOD

    By ronmchugh, Mar 21, 2014

    find myself routing for the KGB, love the show and all the charactors.

    0 3

  • 10

    You should be watching this.

    By WhiteBoy41, Jan 15, 2014

    Casting- Acting -Directing - All get an A. Great Show !

    7 7

  • 9.0

    I am totally in love with this serie

    By FernandaGomes1, Dec 10, 2013

    It's kinda freak how much I love Elizabeth and Philip because what they do is not right. But the FBI is no saint either. And I think this is the whole point of it: wanting that the FBI destroy the enemy but not wanting it at the same time! I am a great fan of Matthew Rhys and he's amazing!

    3 5

  • 10

    Good, Old Espionage

    By Grazzy, Aug 11, 2013

    When I first heard about The Americans, people were saying that it was FX's Homeland. I immediately gave it a pass, since Showtime's terrorist threat-hunt show gets on my nerves. A few episodes and good reviews later, I decided to give it a try - and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only is the show truly riveting and suspenseful, like a true espionage one should be, but it is a powerful drama as well. The undercover Russian spies lead a very suburban life - nice house, two kids. They are so immersed in the American way of life that the husband starts to have a change of heart: is the "enemy" as bad as they say, after all? Or are the agents from both sides just puppets in their government's hands? The Americans addresses these and other questions well. And the fact that it takes place in the 80s, during the Cold war, it gives a nice, retro touch to the universal story of loyalty and family love - and its complexities. Great acting, soundtrack and opening titles. Highly recommended. My only complaint would be the fact that the Russian spies can have an impeccable American accent even though they were born and raised in Russia. Anyone who knows about language learning is aware that this would be almost impossible. A minor flaw, however.moreless

    5 6

  • 6.0

    Who's not to like? - Everyone (almost).

    By samuelquentin, Jul 16, 2013

    I guess all this fascination with this series has a lot to do with being American. Even though I can appreciate the craftsmanship in the writing, directing and acting of it, and even though I appreciate the historical context being woven into the action, I must say that I am quite disappointed about the main characters' "vibes": there is hardly anyone to like (or even to hate, for that matter). The acting is fine, I guess (and I am especially fond of Nina, Stan Beeman and Claudia - but the leads are still somehow dull and robotic, even. - But maybe that's what life as a spy inmidst enemy territory does to you.moreless

    7 11

  • 10

    Great series

    By mrivera, Jul 15, 2013

    I loved this series. I was saddened that we seemed to be a step behind the KGB at all times. I hope that wasn't the case in real life.

    1 4

Load More Reviews