The Beverly Hillbillies

Show Reviews (28)

Great
768 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Trying to find an episode

    By guyrusso7, Feb 10, 2015

    This isn't a review, but a call for help! Does anyone recall an episode in which there was a scene with a young man (maybe Arte Johnson?) in a convertible outside of the Clampetts' mansion, with a German Shepherd in the car with him, ferociously barking and growling at him? Please let me know if you know which episode this is. On IMDB, Arte Johnson does not have a Beverly Hillbillies credit listed, so maybe it was another actor.

    0 0

  • 10

    RIP Elly May

    By umbala-umbala, Jan 02, 2015

    We lost Elly May to pancreatic cancer. RIP sweetheart.

    1 0

  • 10

    Legendary Sitcom

    By KieferReich, Jun 07, 2013

    What's the wittiest show I've ever seen "Beverly Hillbillies" would probably my answer! This crazy sitcom is really a bomb!!!! The actors is plainly talented with great acting ability and everyone is a comedian here so no dull moments and each episodes are truly enjoyable . I have great love for Granny, of course! She's really great and funny! I also searched everywhere to obtain my own copy of this show and found it at memorylanedvd. com . Glad I received good quality set! Eventhough, I have seen all of the episodes of it before, I still enjoy watching every moment of it until now! One of the renowned or I must say the Legendary Sitcom ever-produced!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    An Original Fish-out-of-water Classic

    By gwactuary, Jan 15, 2013

    There's always something funny about watching a fish live on land - people who just don't seem to fit in, yet rise above their surroundings. It could be the most naive country boy ever, recruited by the Marines. Or it could be an Eastern European heiress married to a Harvard Attorney, choosing to live on a God-forsaken farm. Or it could be the poorest of poor, suddenly finding wealth, and having no idea how to handle it.



    When The Beverly Hillbillies was running, it reminded me of a similar show: The Second Hundred Years. TSHY never made it, because it tried to compete with perfection in The Beverly Hillbillies.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.8

    Funny all the way

    By Susie-Gibbs, Aug 03, 2012

    The Beverly Hillbillies was a TV sitcom about a hillbilly family living in Southern California in the 1960s.

    The patriarch strikes oil while hunting on his land near a fictionalized town called Bugtussle in the Ozark Mountains. After becoming wealthy he follows the advice of friends, neighbors family, and moves with his family to Beverly Hills,

    0 1

  • 10

    The Beverly Hillbillies was is THE classic.

    By Kevin1954, May 08, 2009

    Buddy Ebsen was as down to earth in real life as he was on TV. My uncle was managing the office of his hotel and when business slowed he sat down to watch the Beverly Hillbillies as Buddy Ebsen came in to rent a room. My uncle said, "I'm watching you on TV right now." Buddy said, "We're not on for another hour." My uncle said, "You're on right now." Buddy said, "Oh, I forgot to set my watch ahead leaving Denver." He then said, "Can I watch it with you? So, my uncle watched Beverly Hillbillies with Buddy Ebsen.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    The Beverly Hillbillies is good old-fashioned American comedy. A comfortable, friendly, and good-hearted show.

    By scotchex2, Aug 29, 2008

    The Beverly Hillbillies is good old-fashioned TV. Sure the humor isn't now, and wasn't then, cutting edge -- but sometimes it's nice to sit and watch some simple good-hearted comedy.



    The jokes are standard sitcom fare, and the characters broad stereotypes. Still their humanity showed through. Granny toting her shotgun was always funny, Jethro always dumb, but happy -- and Elly May always the pretty tomboy.



    The premise was as simple as can be -- the fish out-of-water hillbilly Clampett clan in Beverly Hills -- but America immediately loved it. The series lasted almost a decade and was #1 in the ratings it's first two years. Since then its folksy comedy has survived as a rerun staple, entertaining, literally, generations.



    One of the classics of American comedy.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.8

    The irony of this show is that it is just so literal! If you listen to the lines of the characters, you can see how literal they interpret everything. Do country folk really interprete things this way? Who knows! But lots of fun anyhow.

    By ugamom, Jul 07, 2008

    I loved watching this show every Friday night in prime time back in the day. I enjoy catching the Saturday mini marathons when they are on. I do enjoy the honesty of the characters and how the Clampets were portrayed as so very unpretentious. Even though they were living in the "Hills" of Beverly, they held fast and true to their old fashioned, down home morals and values. That is something to say for a family who has gone from rags to riches - then or now. I do enjoy the literal content of the script and am constantly surprised each time I watch an episode how the comedy was mixed with literal references for adults. This wonderful writing combination made the show entertaining for children and for adults, resulting in a great all around family show.moreless

    3 0

  • 9.7

    Get ready to laugh, the good old fassioned way!

    By OrangeOctopi, Apr 12, 2008

    This show is so funny! Laugh, Cry (from laughing), get sick (from laughing, and from Granny's food), and laugh some more! Jed Clampett, a poor hillbilly living out in the middle of no where with his family, strikes oil on his property. When an oil company offers to buy his land for a few hundred million dollars, Jed isn't quite sure what he's gotten himself into. His sister in lay Pearl convinces him to move to Beverly Hills, California. The rest of the show describes the hillarious antics of Jed, his beautiful young daughter Elly May, his none-to-bright nephew Jethro, and his kick-but Mother in law Granny as they learn about life with the rich and famous, while the rich and famous learn to deal with them! In a few episodes Pearl and her daughter Jethreen (Jethro is Pearl's son, forgot to say) come to visit. The president of the bank keeping the Clampett fortune, Mr. Drysdale, is thier neighbor and is desparate to keeps them (and their money) in Beverly Hills. This is an old show, in black and white. Part of the fun is seeing all the things they considered 'new' back then. If you haven't seen this show, WATCH IT!! This is the funniest show, and it's good for all ages!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews