The Trial of R. Kelly

Episode Reviews (25)

Superb
227 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    This episode was absolutely hilarious!!!

    By BabyKitten199, Sep 03, 2011

    This was the first episode of the show that I've seen but OMG, it had me in tears from laughing so much! I love the voices of all of the characters. The scene where the prosecutor was asking the underage girl about R. Kelly peeing on her was the best "If I didn't want to be p***ed on, I would've moved outta the way. S***, I been p***ed on by guys w/out a record deal, it ain't no big thing." I love Cedric Yarbrough (Jonesy from Reno 911) & he played the best exasperated prosecutor ever - "We have a video tape!!! She's a little girl!!!" I can't wait to see more episodes of this show!!! it's a great addition to Adult Swim!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    R. Kelly goes on trial. Huge mountain of evidence against him, yet he walks out a free man. Why? Read my review.

    By lightning_kf, Jul 15, 2010

    This is the episode that I truly believe was a lot better than the first episode, "Garden Party." From the scene where Whitney Houston and Bobby Browne to the end of R. Kelly's trial had me laughing like crazy. I know Robert Freeman and Uncle Ruckus had some funny moments too, though my main focus is on R. Kelly's trial.



    "The Trial of R. Kelly" also shows us that not only can some famous celebrities can get away with some of the most heinous crimes because of their name alone, it also shows us how stupid and ignorant black people can be sometimes. And I'm black myself so no offense.



    R. Kelly had a cell written with his name on it after seeing all of the evidence, ranging from urine samples to the video where R. Kelly is actually peeing on the girl and calling his social security number for the court to hear. Okay that last piece of evidence was good. But 2 things saved R. Kelly's hyde: his defense attorney and the fact that EVERYONE in that court room (expect the Dubios and Huey) was a die-hard fan, even the judge.



    I'm glad Huey talked some sense to those people in there, even if it fell on deaf ears. If it were an average black man that did that, everyone would want him rot in prison. However, the defendant was R. Kelly. Need I say more?



    All in all, a great episode to start off the beginning of Season 1. Looking forward to Season 2 next year.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    The trial of R Kelly

    By saiyanman5215, Jul 15, 2010

    This has to be one of the funniest episodes of any show I have every seen. The timing was great. Some, if not most, of the characterizations were dead on. The one-liners were great and the dialogue seemed to fit well. There isnt much to not like about a show that takes one of the day's headlines and skewers it much like a sketch comedy does. That doesnt cheapen the experience any though cause this whole show's premise is one that has a man-on-the-street level of story-telling and it's those sensibilities that bring out the best in this episode. The exchanges between the main/central characters (Grandpa, Huey, Riley) come off as very believeable (especially considering my personal family experience). The only downside (if it can be called that) is seeing another celeb get out of trouble, serious trouble just because they're famous. It's sickening, but I suppose that's how the cookie crumbles. It's also possibly why we watch................moreless

    4 0

  • 10

    Another awesome episode of The Boondocks.

    By tv4ever, Jul 15, 2010

    This episode was hilarious. The reason why R.Kelly walked away a free man was because his lawyer said R.kelly was just loving his black sisters and pointing out how Tom Dubois was married to a white woman even though he was black which at that point made the jury and the people hate Tom. I won't reveal anymore things but overall, this was a very well-written episode.

    1 0

  • 10

    Huey does battle with ignorance in this episode...and ignorance wins.

    By antifrantik, Jul 15, 2010

    The episode cleverly discusses both sides of the R.Kelly debate, with Riley and Huey both making valid points for the for and against sides respectively. However, McGruder goes on to explain, through the unfolding events in the episode, that reason often takes a back seat in such situations.



    I've always wondered why R. Kelly is not in jail right now at this very moment. "The Trial of R. Kelly" asserts that the dude is obviously guilty, and in truth he actually is. Yet the public always sidesteps the issue and allows him to roam free and continue to make millions of dollars off of his sexually-explicit music and lyrics. The reason why? "Cuz he good!"



    Pathetic.



    Thank you, McGruder, for showing us all how foolish we have acted. Next time, maybe ignorance will lose.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.9

    well we really learn that our ignorance can sometimes overrule our mind. when u really think about it its pretty much all a game to some people and they just dont know what could happen

    By Quincy34, Jul 15, 2010

    well I really laughed my eyes out this episode and it really is interesting to think that serial killers on the loose cuz he good or something like O.J Simpson he really isn't innocent. we could be surrounded right now if we didnt know any better we need more sense then that this episode pretty much revolves around riley and huey well we know that we cant blame this one on white people wait what am i saying yes i can a Quote from Huey Freeman . And if R. Kelly Go To Jail Ill Piss On Yo Cat. A quote from Riley Freemanmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    great episode

    By Blind_Legend, Jul 15, 2010

    The episode cleverly discusses both sides of the R.Kelly debate, with Riley and Huey both making valid points for the for and against sides respectively. However, McGruder goes on to explain, through the unfolding events in the episode, that reason often takes a back seat in such situations.I've always wondered why R. Kelly is not in jail right now at this very moment. "The Trial of R. Kelly" asserts that the dude is obviously guilty, and in truth he actually is. Yet the public always sidesteps the issue and allows him to roam free and continue to make millions of dollars off of his sexually-explicit music and lyrics. The reason why? "Cuz he good!"Pathetic. Thank you, McGruder, for showing us all how foolish we have acted. Next time, maybe ignorance will losemoreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    One of the best episodes in the series so far.

    By Connman14, Jun 11, 2008

    This is why I watch the show. It pointed out what is wrong with society. It showed that certain people make mistakes in the courthouse just based on race. It becomes apparent that the creators of the show does think R kelley is guilty becasue of the speech Huey gives. It is one of my favorite parts of the whole series. "What the Hell is wrong with you?" It made me crack up. It got the creators point across and it was funny. This was actually the first episode I saw of the Boondocks. I watched it with my mom... that was not a good idea.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Funny as usual

    By LilJay2, Apr 16, 2007

    This was by far one of the funniest episodes, they had every pun and inside joke right on point. An interesting point that if the girl didn't want to get peed on she could have just moved out of the way. This episode gives comedy shows like Chappelle's Show a run for it's money.

    0 0

  • 8.7

    This episode of The Boondocks is one of the best ones since "Guess Hoe's Coming To Dinner".

    By nobie05, Apr 06, 2007

    The Trial of R. Kelly episode was really funny. I realle don\'t see how R. Kelly won the trial. I\'m not saying that he should be guilty in real life, but that doesn\'t mean that he should not be guilty either. it\'s true what Riley said, when personal responsibility become an option in this. But it\'s true, exactly what was going through his mind if he did pee on the girl. And what Huey said should\'ve had the audience agree with him. and they shouldve stopped the damn dancing too, cuz if a case like this happened for Micheal Jackson, would you have seen kids and adults doing the moonwalk on top of tables? This episode was well written. I would also have to give thanks to R. Kelly's mistake, or this would have never happened. I give it an 8.7/10.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews