Pilot

Episode Reviews (25)

Poor
327 votes
4.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 3.0

    A bad start for a FG spinoff

    By fsaenz0125, Dec 17, 2011

    Cleveland Brown and Cleveland Jr. leave Quahog and take to the road. On their way to California, they stop in Cleveland's hometown of Stoolbend, VA, where he reunites with his old high school crush, Donna Tubbs. Cleveland, still in love with Donna, is determined to start a new life with her, even if Donna's kids aren't exactly angels.I thought this was a bad start for an alright Family Guy spinoff called The Cleveland Show. While the show isn't that bad itself as most people are saying, I do agree that this pilot was bad. I didn't laugh very much in this pilot. The characters that gave me laughs were Peter (he was making that another bathtub gag again) and Tim. Also, I don't think Rallo was funny in this one. He was okay. Overall this pilot of The Cleveland Show was bad. Season 1 wasn't was a good season at all.- 3/10moreless

    1 0

  • 8.0

    Quit whining -- it's better than Family Guy

    By dm503, Nov 18, 2011

    First of all, someone mentioned that they need to be more like the Simpsons... The Simpsons hasn't been funny since 1997. A lot of people are complaining that the show is too much like Family Guy, because it's a cartoon about a semi-stupid man and his antics with his family. I hate to break it to you, but 99 percent of sitcoms on television have had that same structure. I'm sorry the show doesn't have some mind-blowing, unique plot or structure, but its an animated sitcom.



    Family guy has become stale and quite frankly, awful. Two-thirds of the show are gag jokes and there's virtually no plot or actual story worth remembering. Yes, as a spin-off, the Cleveland Show is going to have similarities to Family Guy, but the writing is pretty decent. Not every single joke is the greatest joke ever (that would be impossible) and some do suck, but that's the same with every comedy TV show EVER. The show has gotten better as they develop the characters more and more, and I think people need to stop complaining that it isn't as funny as pre-cancelation Family Guy and learn to like it for what it is. And it's still better than any live action sitcom on television and pretty much any of Adult Swim's original programming.moreless

    0 3

  • 5.5

    A pretty lame start to 'The Cleveland Show'.

    By amazing_race, Aug 18, 2011

    I like the concept of a spin-off from the brilliant Family Guy, but this is not what I had in mind. Cleveland is so boring, I can't listen to his voice any longer!



    The character of Tim is more interesting than Brian though, at least in my opinion. That is as far the improvements get, I'm afraid.



    The episode was quite boring, it just introduced us to Cleveland's new, boring family, and we met most of the characters.



    I thought the storyline was weak, and I thought the episode was quite boring. Having said that, there were probably two funny moments, both involving Tim the Bear.



    I will continue to watch this show, but after Episode #1, I'm not impressed.moreless

    13 0

  • 6.0

    I think it was a decent start off to the new series

    By nikerocks, May 08, 2011

    I think it can work to being a good tv series, and people who hate this, why do you watch it then?

    I reckon it is decent start off just needs time to develop. I like the whole storylines of how Peter ruined the house, then Loretta gets the house and drives Cleveland out of his home, and also the whole thing seems really cool. I like how the creators thought of this show. I think the Pilot episode was a decent kick off to the new series just needs time to become solid as i have said. And in the future it could become the family guy we have right now, who knows about Family Guy that show gone all downhill since it's return in 05. I like also how they are gonna get celebrities to play roles in the Cleveland Show too.moreless

    1 1

  • 9.5

    Stoolbend, Virginia where Cleveland runs into his old high school crush, Donna.

    By YianniHatgidimi, May 08, 2011

    "Pilot" is the first full-length episode of the Family Guy spin-off The Cleveland Show. The episode aired on September 27, 2009 on Fox Broadcasting Company. In the episode, Cleveland and Cleveland Jr. say goodbye to their friends and Quahog, Rhode Island to relocate to Cleveland's hometown in Stoolbend, VA. There, Cleveland reconnects with an old flame and finds love and a new family. Cleveland and Donna later get married, and the two families accept each other into their lives.

    The episode was written by Seth MacFarlane, Mike Henry and Richard Appel and directed by Anthony Lioi. It was viewed by approximately 9.42 million viewers in its original airing. episode was pretty strong and was very funny. "Dats What I was Telling You Before" joke was hilarious (join the group on facebook). It is also very much like family guy.moreless

    3 14

  • 1.0

    Excruciating... It almost made me want to give up completely on Family Guy and Seth McFarlane... (But then I watched the new Family Guy)

    By Hasakinopahai, Sep 16, 2010

    I was not a fan of what should have been a laugh-out-loud series premiere. After watching it, I began to wonder if maybe it was a joke to all of the Family Guy fans from Seth McFarlane, because Cleveland hasn't been getting a whole lot of screen time. There were a few gags that did get a bit of a laugh out of me, but not enough to make me enjoy it. I mean I laughed more at David Caruso in CSI: Miami than I did at this show. I FOX decides to let this go for a full season, the writers had better figure out what they're going to do to keep our attention, otherwise, Cleveland is going to be making a reluctant trip back to Quahog so he can keep his job in these hard times.moreless

    15 6

  • 4.0

    Less Family Guy without creating a decente show. A loose-loose situation.

    By xykoara, Sep 16, 2010

    Very bad idea. To take one of the best characters of Family Guy to make a spinoff, weakenning the original show without producing a decent offspring. Sad.

    Cancel this show and move Cleveland back to Quaghog, where he is needed.

    Seth MacFalane had the power to create a new show without diminishing the original one, but he decided to amputate of the the legs os his original "cow", and now he has a bad barbecue and a three-legged cow. Family guy lost a lot of punch whith Cleveland leaving the show. He might kill his original creation without having a new hit to replace it. Think it over, guys.moreless

    0 0

  • 6.0

    Cleveland and his son Cleveland Jr. leave Quahog to go to California. On the way they drive through his old hometown and he strikes up a relationship with an old flame. In the end he stays in Stoolbend, Va to be with her and her kids.

    By jyarter, Aug 02, 2010

    I really wanted to like this show. I enjoy Family Guy and was interested to see how this was going to be. It's not horrible, but in a way it is trying to hard to be another Family Guy. The characters just don't match up though. If you remember Family Guy was canceled at one point and revived. It took a little time to like all of the characters. I'm just not sure some of these characters that are his neighbors are that likable. Were you have Joe, Quagmire, and Cleveland on Family Guy, here you have a bear, a redneck, and some non-descriptive neighbor guy. You are also missing the Brian character as well. I like the little boy, his sister, and the Mom though. Maybe it's not fair to judge this based on Family Guy but the comparison is going to be made. Let's face it, Family Guy is not funny some time and this was not very funny at all. A little humorous in spots, but that's about it. Thanks for reading...moreless

    6 3

  • 4.0

    A terrible start to the series.

    By LukeJames525, Aug 02, 2010

    This episode was horrible. It was really boring, and painful to watch. The start was mildly entertaining, but after Cleveland left for California , the episode went downhill from there. There were no jokes that I laughed at, and the plot, characters, even the jokes were unoriginal. Rekindling an old high school flame has been done before, and characters are too similar to the ones in Family Guy. They even changed Cleveland Jr.'s character from a young hyperactive kid, to an overweight, slovenly teenager like Chris. The characters are not funny at all, not even the bear. I was just really bored and disappointed throughout the entire episode. Even though I had low expectations of the show from the start, I wanted more out of this episode. I'll watch some more episodes this season, but if they're just relapses of the pilot, I might stop watching the series for good.moreless

    9 4

Load More Reviews