Fairly Odd Baby

Episode Reviews (42)

Great
145 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 2.0

    . Fairly Oddparents!

    By Patrickstarandgarysnail, Jul 23, 2014

    From this episode on, the Fairly Oddparents episodes only go downhill never getitng back to how good it was before!

    0 0

  • 2.0

    The decline of the FOP starts here

    By That_TV_Dude, Sep 09, 2012

    Like many other FOP fans when I saw this special's commercials I got hyped up about it, but it was all hype and very little substance in this special. The special is about Cosmo and Wanda wanting to have a baby, and when they do have one everyone from the Pixies, to Jordon, to the Anti-Fairies want the baby to raise as their own. Now that's all good, and everything, but where this special falls apart is lackluster humor, a boring and predictable story, and very little cleverness. The episode begins in the park where Cosmo and Wanda are looking at babies while Timmy is busy doing stuff that he wished for. The same gag is used in this part of the story. Timmy is in danger, Cosmo and Wanda are too busy looking at babies, Timmy gets hurt, and repeat. Get used to these same gags being used people they will occur a lot at this show. Timmy eventually decides enough is enough and wishes for his fairies to have a baby. Here is where a major red flag comes into play here. Apparently in Fairy World it's the men that have the babies, and not the women. Now I know this is for kids, but when they grow up and learn about how a baby is created then they will be very confused. They could have kept the baby in Wanda, and not in Cosmo. All Timmy would have to do is wish for the baby, and it would be in Wanda's belly, and there you go. Wanda even says it's beautiful or something, but I am horrified instead about that. So as time goes by Cosmo goes through the wonders of birth. Such things are mood swings that aren't funny, eating baseball cards, and another gag that is repeated a lot is Cosmo puking on Timmy. In every scene Cosmo Cosmo is seen puking on Timmy, and it gets boring fast. After a pointless party scene and trying to find Cosmo after Timmy tells him to get lost the baby is ready. Timmy wishes the baby out of Cosmo's stomach, and word of the birth spreads to the Anti-Fairies and the Pixies. I also want to point out how awful the baby looks. Why do fairy babies look like bowling balls. Maybe it's cute factor, but seriously you mean to tell me fairy babies grow from bowling balls to what everyone else look like? A fight occurs over who wants the baby. The Pixies and the Anti-Fairies want him to use his power to take over the world. Jorgan even join and wants the baby to train him properly. A chase scene ensures, and after 5 minutes Timmy and his fairies with the baby go back home. I also want to point out that yet another running gag is used again and again the naming of the baby. All throughout this special it keeps using that gag constantly. Some of the names were funny, but it got boring fast. Eventually the baby is found again, and is captured. A rescue mission is planned, but fails and Timmy, Jorgan, Cosmo, and Wanda are captured. They all break out, and go forward to stop the plan of the Pixies, and Anti-Fairies. After some more bad jokes including the gag of naming the baby Timmy and the gang get the baby back, and all go home. Jorgan takes the baby in the midst of the celebration and goes back to Fairy World. However Cosmo and Wanda have the real baby, and they decide to name him Poof. Dumb name for a kid, but who cares? And so our special ends with all living happily ever after, or until the new episodes. This was such a poorly done episode. Very little jokes like Jorgan being in an Easter Bunny suit were funny, and the constant use of gags again and again got annoying fast. The idea that men have babies is not only creepy, but makes me feel uncomfortable. Sadly Butch Hartman wouldn't learn his lesson with this, and would make episodes of FOP that would fall into mediocrity. It's sad to see this, but after this special FOP wouldn't fully recover and the new episodes it has show how far this series went down after this special. Don't worry if you missed this special at all it was nothing more than a diaper full of stupidity, and awfulness.moreless

    10 8

  • 2.5

    Uhhh...

    By marebear2009, Jul 27, 2012

    This episode was just too unusual. Male fairies have babies?? Seriously, what sort of ideas were the writers trying to put into younger viewers' heads when they came up with this? I understand it's just a cartoon, but it's just downright ridiculous even for this show! I will admit I did sort of like the plot for this special, and I got excited when I first heard about Cosmo and Wanda having a baby, but this special just did not live up to the hype it got. Also, I might add that most of the jokes in this episode were really lame. A lot of the humor was running gags that got old very quickly, such as Cosmo throwing up on Timmy and the "new baby smell" gag. There was even a whole scene that basically repeated itself. If that isn't a sign of writers' block, I don't know what is. I also thought the ending was lame. However, there were a couple scenes I got a mild chuckle out of, the parts where Timmy corrected himself when he started talking baby talk and the scene with Jorgen dressed up like a pink bunny. Overall, though, I did not think this was a good special, and I would not go out of my way to watch it again. Final grade: F. Marebear2009, out!moreless

    4 3

  • 8.0

    The introduction of the new "Fairly OddParents" character named Poof

    By tigerdude22, Aug 20, 2011

    I thought that this was a great "Fairly OddParents" 1-hour TV movie. It was a great introduction of a new "Fairly OddParents" character Poof. Timmy finds out that Cosmo and Wanda have always wanted a baby but they say that they can't because Jorgan won't let there be any more babies in Fairy World. Timmy wishes that Cosmo and Wanda would have a baby but then Jorgen disagrees with them and tells them "no" but the rule about baby wishing wasn't in the "Da Rules" book so Jorgan agrees to let Cosmo and Wanda have a baby. Now here is the weird thing that made my score low though... Cosmo was pregnant... not Wanda... Cosmo. How in the world can a male dairy be pregnant? I found it weird and didn't think it was appropriate for the little kids to see that. Cosmo gets the baby out and they all named the baby Poof (which didn't get the name until the end of this 1-hour TV movie). I thought that it was funny when Cosmo was going through his mood swings while being pregnant. The Anti-Fairies and then Pixies team up to get Poof to use his powers. It was funny when Jorgan kept going the restroom after eating those burritos. I also thought that Jorgan dressing up as a bunny was hilarious. Overall, despite the weirdness of Cosmo being pregnant, this was a great "Fairly OddParents" episode. 8/10



    Note: marebear2009 requested me to review this episode.moreless

    1 3

  • 2.5

    My gosh, I've never hated an episode of any show so much.

    By disturbia1910, Jul 26, 2011

    This episode of FOP is the worst. I think its really disturbing that Cosmo's 'pregnant', not to mention stereotypical and a little offensive. The show was bad enough the first time, but Nick played it EVERY FREAKIN WEEKEND. Whenever I hear "Hallababy! hallababy, halLAbab-y!" I run screaming out the door. (by the way, thats the song they sang over and over.)



    I love FOP, but that show crossed the line. Its a kid show, REALLY! A pregnant guy on a kids show! Disturbiamoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    I cried when Poof was born!

    By FairyFan13, Jun 19, 2011

    This episode made me cry it was so touching! A FOP episode that makes me cry happy tears don't come often. This episode was very good! I gave it 10,000 stars! This episode brought FOP back! It even made history! My favorite part was when Poof said "Mama? Dada?" I had to go awww when he said that. Cosmo and Wanda sure made a cute baby! This movie was hilarious! The Cosmo preganant thing was not as bad, but funny! Fairly Odd Baby brought Cosmo and Wanda back together,being even closer and loving each other! The old jerky Cosmo is gone for good. The kind, sweet, sensitive, loving, and now Daddy Cosmo is back! I couldn't be anymore happier with this epsiode! Amazing Job!!!moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    Lil' T! Elvis! and Twinkle OH MY!

    By CamptownCHEESE, Apr 27, 2011

    This was such a funny episode! Butch Hartman really outdid himself on this one! I wonder how they'll fit Poof in with the rest of the series... My favorite part was when they kept on thinking of names for Poof. Like Lil' T, Twinkle, Operah, Elvis, CashaGooGoo and Bill. :DI though Poof was a girl, cause of the purple-ness and the eye-lashes and the voice. I can just imagine Timmy having to babysit Poof while Cosmo and Wanda go to a meeting or something. I even tried to DRAW Poof! It came out kinda wrong cause I didn't have the TV in front of me so I couldn't see Poof in pause mode. D: Finally, a FOP character I can draw. Jorgan was especially funny! "Fireball burritos, Ay yi yi!" That is all.moreless

    3 1

  • 1.2

    Not worth the wait.

    By Lonestarr357, Apr 08, 2011

    Like a number of "Fairly Oddparents" fans, I took news of the show's return with equal amounts of trepidation and optimism. Would the show return to its roots of clever wordplay and gags without the desperate need to fall back on toilet humor and general stupidity? If "Fairly OddBaby" is any sort of indication, viewers need not worry about cleverness infecting this show ever again.



    A trip to the park sets biological clocks a ticking for Cosmo and Wanda; they want a baby. And since conceiving one the old-fashioned way would raise many a parental eyebrow, Timmy wishes for them to have a baby. Several acts of alleged humor ensue, such as Cosmo gaining the enlarged belly, Timmy getting vomited on at every opportunity and, of course, Cosmo's violent (and supposedly funny) mood swings.



    It isn't long before the baby is born and, being the first fairy baby in many millenia, its arrival is a blessed event (the term 'blessed' must apply to the characters, 'cause, by this point, I was ready to hurl bricks at my television). Its powers can be used for good or evil, and the forces of evil - in this case, the non-threatening (and, more importantly, non-funny) Anti-Cosmo and the Pixies - learn of this through the old 'don't tell the bad guys this super secret thing I'm yelling at the top of my voice!' trick, which, as anyone knows, is sure-fire in the laugh department.



    Then we're treated to a chase where Jorgen, Anti-Cosmo, the Pixies and Mama Cosma pursue Timmy, his fairies and their baby. It's decided to send the baby back to Earth with Timmy, who soon learns how to trigger its magic, with "hilarious" results.



    If I'm giving too much away here, good. The less people are interested in watching this episode, the better. There wasn't a single thing that worked here. A lot of people could point to the fact that Cosmo wasn't insulting Wanda needlessly, and I admit that that's a positive; that gag was never funny. But the elimination of one minor character trait that really had no business existing in the first place is nowhere near enough to redeem this.



    Let me just list a few more issues I had:



    - The baby. Why was this child introduced? A new source of humor? A deus ex machina? What? A lot of people mention that the child (named Poof, if you care) was cute. Cute characters in comic cartoons can be done well if there's actual humor to back up the character (Chuck Jones's "Feed the Kitty", for example). Without it, little Poof was flailing. Then again, as a baby, it can't really do much else.



    - The Pixies. Ben Stein's performance as the Pixies is always good for a few laughs, even when the episodes aren't. This is, without question, the worst episode to feature the characters, and if you consider that the other episodes are "Wish Fixers", "Pixies, Inc." and "School's Out: the Musical", that's really saying something



    - The gags. The mood swings. The burritos. "Where the light is better." The baby names, which could've been funny had they not been bludgeoned to death along with everything else, not the least of which my will to live. Were the writers baked when they came up with these gags? Are they hiring the developmentally disabled as script supervisors? There wasn't a single gag here that was a fraction as funny as the 'no time to waste' gag in "The Same Game".



    - Cosmo's voice. I really miss the smooth, low-pitched voice from the early days of the show. I can just imagine Daran Norris getting jabbed with a cattle prod after every other take and being reprimanded, 'Higher! Whinier! I want people to wish they were deaf after listening to Cosmo's voice!'.



    To sum up, "Fairly OddBaby" is, in every conceivable way, a waste of time. I weep for the society that would allow this to be considered even slightly adequate, never mind great.moreless

    9 10

  • 10

    Pass out the cigars! Onto Cosmo and Wanda, a child is born.

    By gideonbernstein, Dec 02, 2010

    This is the best episode of the Fairly OddParents to come around in a very long time. Thanks to Timmy's wish, Cosmo and Wanda become the proud parents of an adorable baby boy. He is the first fairy baby born since Cosmo 10,000 years ago. Because of the infant's great magical power, the pixies and the anti-fairies team up to kidnap the little tyke in order to use him to take over the universe and destroy the world. It then is up to Timmy, Cosmo, Wanda, and Jorgen to save the little magical bundle of joy. Whatever you do, don't fail to see this episode.moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews