The Greatest American Hero

Show Reviews (18)

Great
459 votes
8.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Join the Greatest American Hero fan page!

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Greatest-American-Hero-William-Katt/103061305765?v=wall&viewas=1313479688

    Live chat Dec 20th Details on page above.

    By msboku, Dec 11, 2009

    The show was Great! They kept it real. There was no faking it. It was a cool show that ended too early.

    SJC picked all the right people for the parts. They had a great chemistry that I don't think can ever be duplicated.

    But feel free to Join the Greatest American Hero fan page!

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Greatest-American-Hero-William-Katt/103061305765?v=wall&viewas=1313479688

    Live chat Dec 20th Details on page above.

    We'd love to see you. We want to keep the show alive in out hearts and if you want the skinny on William Katt, that is the place to be.

    There will never be another show like it. It was original. I mean he was a regular guy with a super suit given to him from aliens, paired with an FBI agent to help the world. and he stepped up to the plate did what he had to do.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    A great flashback from the 80s

    By summand1, Nov 07, 2009

    I stumbled a couple of weeks ago over this show and think it is hilarious. Of course, it is an 80s show and that has to be taken into account. If you want special effects like Heroes, wrong show for you. Sure, the show is somewhat cheesy and old but go ahead and take a close look.



    Its pretty much above average. The cases and problems he faces and solves are clever and often funny. Above average. The writers put a lot of love in the show. William Katt plays one of the most unusual and interesting heroes ever.



    He is not like Superman, he is a normal guy that has gotten this suit that gives superpowers and mastering is not that easy. Him flying is one of the most funny things ever. And seeing him grow, getting more used to it from season to season is a very nice development.



    I wish they would have played this show when I was a kid here on TV, I am quite sure I would have liked it better than Knight Rider or some other shows that made it to europe.



    The only bad thing that I can say is that the DVD version is missing some of the original soundtracks but thats not a problem of the show itself. I wished there were more episodes...moreless

    1 0

  • 9.2

    Greatest American Hero is about a normal guy like you and me. Hes hardworking and good at what he does. On a class field trip he gets lost and he ends up meeting a guy named Bill and they end up seeing aliens who give them a special suit and book to use.

    By kingtazzy, Oct 18, 2008

    First time I saw this show I must of been five or six years old. I was pulled in. It was like a ordinary guy being a superman of all things. Many years later im still a fan of this show. It might have to do with me being a fan of what Stephen J. Cannell has done for Tv shows in the 1980s. I have to say this has to be a trendsetter for those who are normal and want to be something extra ordinary. And do those special things that seperate you from the rest. This is right up there with believing in yourself and doing it when it matters most. Many years later I have these all on dvd. But there missing some of the original songs from the series. Something is better then nothing I guess. There has been talk of a big screen movie on and off. I know the A-Team movie is coming. I cant wait. I guess will all see what happens from here. Ill keep my fingers crossed for a GAH movie.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    I tought this show was ahead it's time.

    By sjrlost, Nov 18, 2007

    I tought this show was ahead of it's time. One of the first super hero shows that was also funny. I did'nt remember this show that well because I was so little at the time. As soon as I start watching on dvd I remembered alot of it and how funny it was.The first season was really good because he was saving people from other people. The second season was pretty much the same. Which I tought was also great. Then they were'nt even sure if it was going to come back for a thrid season,and it did. I belive it had different writers. Which it turned out to be really awful. But all in all I really liked this show, they could have stopped after season two if they wanted to. They did'nt, which thats what I think the main reason for this show being cancelled. But this show dose have really big following now of all ages.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    The Greatest American Hero" is one of the greatest American TV shows - and people who try to take it too seriously are missing the point.

    By YOOPERNEWSMAN, Feb 12, 2007

    Bill reminds me of my mentor when I was training to be an investigative news reporter in Augusta.

    I love the premise of show - and while it can be cheesy - it's the way America should be and was written in a time of relative innocence.

    Wish our country had true GAH "Hero"

    1 0

  • 1.5

    Worse show ever!!! :)

    By tramlaw301, Dec 30, 2006

    Comedy plus superhero powers just does not work. It was so frustrating to see this guy suck so bad. He couldn't fly right, he couldn't do anything right. It was the Inspector Gadget thing all over again. What's the point of giving someone a gift if it ends up being so stupid. I know I was never suppose to take this show seriously and stuff like that but my 3-4 year old childhood memories and my original emotions for this show is what I'm going to base this review on. Now that I'm older I will not watch this show or rent the DVD's. I just have such a bitter taste in my mouth for it. Worse show ever, dumbest show ever!!! :) My older brothers use to love this crap and make me watch it.moreless

    0 6

  • 8.9

    Why I Liked This Crazy Series

    By aesgaard41, Oct 14, 2006

    This show took a comic book idea and made it real. For every guy who wanted to hide behind a costume and save the world, or at least picture Batman and Spider-Man in the real world, this series showed the pros and cons of superheroics and dual identities even if it had to use a UFO to do it. William Katt was basicly your All-American good guy with a gorgeous girlfriend played by Connie Selleca. Robert Culp was the gungho F.B.I. Agent, a role he played to the hilt. Supported by Faye Grant and Michael Pare, this show lasted a brief but memorable two years before we lost it. Even an attempt was made to pass the premise to a lovely young actress, but by then, the original appeal of the show had faded away.moreless

    0 0

  • 5.0

    why?

    By CAPNDEL, Jul 18, 2006

    how on earth did this show not only make it to air, but last more than one season. it had to be the catchy theme song. because the show was corny even by the 80's standards. i tried to watch an episode of this show a few years ago after not having seen it since i was a child, it was hard to watch.

    0 1

  • 8.3

    Beleive or not I can't walk on air.

    By bonefactory, Apr 22, 2006

    I remember The Greatest American Hero, I adored this hilarious series about ordinary guy Ralph Hinkley getting a magical supersuit from aliens (little green-guys) back in the 80's. It just makes you feel good and reminds you how wildly imaginative and cool television was in the 80's. I'm glad to see I'm not alone in remembering this show that was cut down way too early. 2 years on the air just wasn't enough. The Greatest American Hero was made in the early 80's, when the trials and tribulations of the 1970's were still somewhat fresh on peoples minds. After the Vietnam War, high gas prices, Nixon-Watergate, and two more lousy presidents, the very idea that a man in underwear and flaky cape could run around saving the world like Superman was seen as a complete joke. This was an original and great idea to explore. It was shows like this that made the 80s liveable.moreless

    0 0

  • 6.0

    The Greatest American Hero is definately a Classic!

    By jrfox2, Mar 21, 2006

    I really wish they would revive the Greatest American Hero. I was great when I was a kid and it would be great now. It could be The Greatest American Hero, the Next Generation. And William Katt could be passing on all of his knowledge and wisdow to the next Greatest American Hero. It would be pretty cool.

    0 0

Load More Reviews