Good
643 votes
7.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    This is one of those shows with mixed opinions I actually enjoyed.

    By leviwellsy, Oct 12, 2014

    I enjoyed this show when it came out when I was in 1st grade, and I actually liked this show looking back at it. They should bring this show back on the air and cancel other crappy shows like Uncle Grandpa. After this show and Chowder went off the air, Cartoon Network was airing a bunch of crappy shows like Almost Naked Animals, Scaredy Squirrel, Problem Solverz and Sidekick, pretty much saying that CN was on its last legs until they got back on their toes with shows like Regular Show, Clarence, Steven Universe and so on. I also don't see why people don't like this show, maybe it's due to the fact that there are some gross close-ups at times. Just because there are very few gross-out jokes here and there, it doesn't make a show bad. It's only if they go overboard with it.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    a good show

    By todd_philips, Aug 27, 2014

    after the tv hell known as chowder, i gave up on this channel. but after watching this, its one of my favorites. they should cancel chowder and renew this along with teen titans season six and johnny test.

    0 0

  • 5.5

    Okay but...

    By Vebesbeans, Jun 12, 2014

    This show was okay but not as good as Angry Birds Toons.

    5.5 out of 10

    0 1

  • 10

    This Show Was Ok,Just Never Got Its Spotlight

    By NatT96, Jun 01, 2014

    This show was funny in my opinion, it just never got the audience it wanted. I believe that the show had a very unique story line and should have been improved instead nuked. Now I also do not blame people for saying it was not all that good. But to me I believe the show never got its correct image, therefore the show was called "immiture, wierd, and dull", but honestly it was barely grown show and had only 2 years in Cartoon Networks spotlight. I wish it could have gotten a second chance and I think the humor was excellent.moreless

    3 0

  • 2.0

    Ugggh!

    By Orca36, Mar 04, 2014

    God! This show! I couldn't stand it when it came on TV. Of all the Cartoon Network shows that aired while it was still good, Flapjack was by far the worst. Admittedly, I didn't watch it past the first season, but that's because I found Marvelous (Hahaha, no. No it's not) Misadventures of Flapjack so unbearable that I didn't want to continue with it.



    The characters by far were the most annoying part of the whole show. It's side characters never left an impact, K'nuckles was a jerk most of the time, the only redeeming character I found was the whale, her tough demeanor combined with that voice, she made me laugh more than a couple times. Then, we have the title character himself. Flapjack is by far the worst part about this show. His voice is grating, and his personality is Ungodly annoying! If your main character is this unlikable, then that doesn't bode well for the show itself.



    Also, I don't like this animation style. I'm aware that it's the same as Regular Show, and really, what're the differences between the two. They're both really bad cartoons with annoying and unlikable characters. The show's drawn in a way that makes every character look ugly. The only show where it's any good is in Gravity Falls, cause at least the humans are drawn to look like humans in that show. As for the show's humor... What humor?



    I can't believe that Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack lasted three seasons. Did people really like it that much? Cause I can't find any redeeming factor for Flapjack accept for the whale. Oh well, I'm just glad this stopped showing on TV. If it does ever come on again though, STAY AWAY FROM IT! It's a horrible cartoon.moreless

    1 2

  • 1.5

    almost as bad as Chowder. ALMOST

    By Raven77, Nov 28, 2013

    Hated this show a lot. The characters are the basic definiton of ugly and the show is very poor when it comes to writing decent plot lines. So glad that this is long done for.

    1 4

  • 6.5

    An OK but somewhat enjoyable show

    By fsaenz0125, Jul 04, 2013

    The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack follows a young boy named Flapjack who was raised inside Bubbie, a talking whale. After Flapjack rescues a shipwrecked crusty old pirate named Captain K'nuckles, the misadventures begin. The pair set sail in search of the magical Candied Island filled with lollipop trees and lemonade seas, but then trouble gets in the way. After rating the score of a 6 a year and a half back, I'm finally reviewing The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack. This show already been 5 years since it first came out. I avoided it at costs during the first season but halfway through season 2 I got into to it since I has the habit of watching a show when I'm bored. I did enjoyed this show but not as much as Chowder. I think Flapjack was an okay show. Speaking of Chowder, I'm tired of people relating Flapjack to Chowder. Just because both of the main characters are food named and air on the same day (it was a Thursday night show) doesn't mean it was in common. They were both rated TV-Y7-FV which not many shows nowadays had that expect the animes and Gumball. Adventure Time was the show that influenced this show as well as Regular Show. It can help the fact that the creators were former storyboard artists on this show. The storyboard here were decent but I don't know what the different facial expressions the characters made since it change depending on who board it. Anyway, on with the it wasn't the greatest Cartoon Network ever aired it was a lot better than Out of Jimmy's Head and other nonsensical live action show they had. The characters were likeable but still have moments being a jerk especially K'nuckles. Flapjack is very great characters but his facial expression turn me away for no reason. His cheeks are too big like SpongeBob's. Knuckle's was an enjoyable and hilarious character who managed to act like a jerk at times. Bubbie was an enjoyable character as well. I always found Knuck;les and Bubbie's arguments to be hilarious. The other characters are likeable but I can't tell who was my least favorite. As for the episodes, I didn't enjoyed the first season very much. i avoided it for a reason since it was meh. But once the second half of season 2 (when the 2010s started) came, i started to enjoy the show. It had it funny, heartwarming, and sad moments. As a result, I watched some of the earlier episodes and they weren't that bad after all. Season 3 was superb but I hasn't even seen the last episode at all! IDK, but it was that episode that premiered a wekk before Regular Show debuts (as well as MAD). I really need to watch more of this show. Overall, The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack was an okay but at least enjoyable show. Not the best Cartoon Network show ever but it sure did beats Johnny Test and the other lame shows. I never relating Flajack to Chowder at all for obvious reason. I don't pictured them as realted, they had a different theme imo: Chowder was about cooking and this show was about adventures. End of review. 6.5/10moreless

    4 1

  • 10

    Amazing.

    By abigailkisner, Apr 20, 2013

    i love this cartoon. they should bring it back.

    3 0

  • 3.0

    I think it's time for this show to walk the plank.

    By Toonrater21, Mar 13, 2013

    A cartoon about a small boy named Flapjack who loves to go on adventures and hangs with this guy named Captain K'nuckles. The two of them try to sail to a magical place called Candied Island but never successfully get there because of strange things that stops them. I bet there is more to it but I don't really know.



    What I think of "The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack"



    GOOD STUFF

    Nice unique sea and pirate-style feel to the show.

    Some episode stories are at least okay.



    BAD STUFF

    Gross humor.

    Dull and nasty art and character design.

    Episodes mostly feel indifferent.

    Most of the character's voices sound very similar and familiar a lot.

    Stop-motion animation scenes aren't so pleasant to look at.



    Now this show is funny at times but it can be unnecessary most of the time especially the way Flapjack talks and the things he does is just like Spongebob Squarepants. I think the show just has a few laughs and the art can just draw you away and make you watch better cartoons out there like "Dexter's Laboratory" or "Animaniacs".moreless

    17 19

  • 2.5

    Interesting concept, terrible execution

    By That_TV_Dude, Mar 11, 2013

    What is it about the new age cartoons that just keep on getting worse? There are some TV cartoons that are actually watchable and there are those that sounded good but fails, case in point The Marvelous Misadventures of Flapjack. The show was about a young boy named Flapjack, his whale Bubbie, and a captain named K'nuckles. Together they would explore the seas in search of the fabled Candy Island, where there is a lifetime supply of candy and get into other various adventures. Now on paper, the idea doesn't sound too bad, but on TV it got executed terribly. The artwork could have been a little better, the colors on everything look either too washed out or too dark and some of the characters look a little disturbing even for kids, but the animation looks great. Speaking of characters, none of them are really that likable and can be annoying, especially Flapjack, but Bubbie was actually the funniest person in the show. The actors could have improved the character's voices, some of them are alright, but why does Flapjack have such an annoying voice and an even worse laughter? I know he's a kid but couldn't they find someone else? One thing that you'll notice very quickly is that the show relies on a close up shot gag with gross stuff as humor. I usually don't mind it, but they keep on using it again and again, it gets too worn out fast and is just gross. Another thing you will notice is that these "adventures" are just basically eating candy or trying to get candy and doing other stuff to make K'nuckles rich, but once in a blue moon they will try to find Candy Island. One thing I definitely caught was that there is a huge lack of women in the show. You got Bubbie and that rich lady, but that's it, you only really see women if they are in a crowd of people but the show has men 98% of the time. This show just tanks for many reasons, too gross humor, annoying characters, lack of real adventures, mediocre artwork, and borderline acceptible acting, with the exception of Flapjack since he was annoying. MMOF could have been a good show but in the end, it just sank to the bottom of the sea and got canceled which is probably best for this mess. I understand some people like this show and that's fine, go ahead and like it, but for me it doesn't work. If you like this show, watch the reruns, everyone else make like a sailor and sail as far away from this show as you can.moreless

    19 19

Load More Reviews