The Muppet Show

Show Reviews (54)

Great
1,328 votes
8.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    All ages, quirky, diverse puppet show!

    By anastasia1243, Feb 08, 2014

    Few ep (09)

    0 0

  • 10

    Kermit the Frog tries to put on a show every week while trying to deal with back stage chaos on the most sensational, inspirational, celebrational muppettational! This is what we call The Muppet Show!

    By meathead704, Nov 27, 2011

    What can be said about The Muppet Show that isn't already well known. One of the greatest television shows in history. Every episode belongs in a time capsule. The guests are always terrific and the sketches and songs are very well written that they never get old or tired. The fact that this show is almost part of mainstream culture is a testament to it's staying power (Who among us doesn't know "Mena Mena"?). Everybody's two favorite grumpy old men Statler and Waldorf are sure to provide laughs everytime they appear. Speaking of laughs, Fozzie Bear certainly makes his contribution.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    It's tome to get things started on The Muppet Show tonight!

    By WWinnieF, Jul 14, 2010

    With a lively crew of Muppeteers, writers, producers, and Jim himself heading this wacky adventure, one couldn't help but get sucked in. Yes, like a fellow Muppet family member in Sesame Street, The Muppet Show appealed to children just as easily as it did towards adults, and yes, like the future family member in Fraggle Rock, The Muppet Show did showcase brilliant unity between the characters and the audience. The only difference: Whereas education was Sesame Street's forte and promoting a world balance was Fraggle Rock's niche, The Muppet Show had those things, but was best in one differing attribute...outter craziness, chaos, mayhem, and disorder!



    From Gonzo's dangerous antics, to Crazy Harry blowing the theatre up constantly, to Swedish Chef finding new inventive ways to create homemade dishes, to Statler & Waldorf heckling Fozzie already bad jokes that were set to bore anyone to death, and even to Miss Piggy hogging...er, relishing the spotlight, the diverse cast of colorful characters for this variety show with a vaudeville feel seemed endless.



    In fact, no character was as cheerfully radiant as the numerous guest stars who starred on the program, proving that this was something unique...a variety show formula starring big time stars, semi-insane puppets, and an audience just as loud & bonkers as the characters being presented!moreless

    1 2

  • 10

    BEST SHOW IN THE HISTORY OF FOREVER!!!!!!!If anyone never heard of the muppets they are crazy! I

    By superchick511, Dec 01, 2008

    I love how on every episod diffrent happens to Gonzo's truppet. I also love some of the guess stars.Some of them are very funny like Florence Handerson,Mummenschanz and Steve Martin.I have Sesons 1,2,and 3 on DVD. I always watch the muppets on long car trips and cant stop watching them. I was so sad that the creater of the muppets died and someone else had to do the voice of kermit. I loved how on Steve Martins episode they were doing audisions and he couldent do the show so he tried out and kermit was so mad and how miss piggy kept pulling the girl offstage and saying "I'm the girl singer around here." Muppets are my life.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    The Muppets shows is full of colorful settings, funny characters, and creative dialog.

    By pdgator29, Oct 02, 2008

    If Kermit the Frog doesn't make you laugh, you have a sick, cold hard soul. The green coated, ping pong ball eyed frog is a Muppet. A creation by Jim Henson which is a mixture of marionette and puppet, thus having, "Muppet". Now this show isn't just the average shabam where you can flick on the tube and say you want to watch it. It's gone, but I don't want it back because it lies in my memories. When I was a kid my parents would always buy tapes of episodes of The Muppet Show, and I remember watching them back to back to back. Well point is: Great show.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    I love this show.

    By blackwolf_13, Oct 15, 2007

    I love this show. I want it back but at the same time I don't. The reason I don't is because I know it just wouldn't be as good as when it was originally on the air and that Disney would mess it up somehow. You have to admit, the muppets haven't been quite the same since they left Jim Henson's care. But the Muppet-Show was one of the greatest variety shows of all time. There were muppets on there that you don't see anymore. You dono't really see much of Janice when it comes to the muppets nowadays, do you? The skits were also random, made only to entertain.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.2

    Wholesome.

    By Inbredpoet, Sep 20, 2007

    I can't stop loving the muppets, I have loved them for over 20 years now and the affair doesn't seem about to stop. Back in the 70's Jim Henson had these little puppets came to life under his imagination. I love the classic circa 1950's variety hour feel of the Muppet Show. The guests were huge, and the regular cast although fuzzy and "not living" were hilarious. As a kid I would watch the Muppet Show (in reruns)for the muppets and their funny sketches, now that I'm older I continue to watch (on DVD) to see these classic actors, and music makers in their prime. So great.moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Classic. Just plain classicness (Yes, I realize that's not a word)

    By Masterbasset, Aug 21, 2007

    An extremly awesome show. It started out alright (Season 1 wasn't that good.) But from Season 2 and forward, it's great stuff. The Muppets were created by an entertainment genius named Jim Henson. The guy created so many classic characters. My favorites are Dr. Honeydew and beaker, The Swedish Chef, and Crazy Harry. Really, who hasn't heard of the Muppets? Kermit is known throughout most of the entire world! When each Muppet interacts with each other, there's a certain magic that happens, and it's great.



    Definitly a classic. Buy every season (Just watch out for season 1, and don't stop watching the show because of it.)moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    this show was great and I will prbably buy the DVD.

    By kevinb4444, Aug 08, 2007

    loved this show the muppets were cool, and they always had really big name guests, it was amazing because you wouldn't think big stars and especially in that amount of quanity would really do a show like that. I really liked the guys in the balcony they were my favorite muppets, along with fozzy, and of course Kermit. I liked all of them really, and the cartoon that they made later was pretty good too, I liked it as a kid. Muppets are something most kids grew up with and enjoyed watching, but it was also something the whole family could watch, there aren't many shows, if any, like that today.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews