The Nine

Show Reviews (52)

Great
1,153 votes
8.6
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Great show canceled again.

    By gracielove, Nov 10, 2012

    I really like the premise of the show.

    0 0

  • 9.2

    I thought this show was really good.. turns out, what do I know !!

    By EveFR77, Nov 08, 2007

    I started watching this show in France, every sunday night, two episodes in a row.. unfortunately in french but still loved it. The idea of 9 people being held hostage in a bank and then bonding in life is fantastic.

    I agree with some that the execution of it was not great but maybe they should have given this show a chance!

    It had all the elements to become succesful. Great characters/actors and so much possibility for storylines.

    My personal favourites were Kim Raven and Tim Daly.



    They should have turned this show into a mini-series with at least a satisfying end.. now it's keeping a lot of fans in the dark.. we will never know 'exactly' what happened in the bank.moreless

    3 0

  • 10

    We have only just had The Nine for a few episode but I already love it.

    By -xXx-aimz-xXx-, Oct 24, 2007

    I couldn't imagine what people go through when their put in this position. I wouldn't want to go through what the people on The Nine went through. It looks scary. It's on tonight too. The ads on now LOL.

    I'm up to the episode where they find out their being followed. That's on tonight. Can't wait.

    I'm not really sure who my favourite is yet. It hasn't been on for that long so I'll just have to keep watching and find out.

    I do like Frannie and ummm another girl but I can't remember her name. Well I'll probably update this review when the season is over.moreless

    1 0

  • 4.7

    Something about The Nine didn't click...

    By allyp182, Sep 17, 2007

    Don't get me wrong, I found The Nine interesting at times. It wasn't awful, like most of the Lost rip-offs out there. The premise was interesting: nine random people get taken hostage for 52 hours by bank robbers. What happened during those 52 hours were revealed gradually during flashbacks and how the those hours in living hell affected the people's lives were the jist of the show. Fine. Sounds good enough. But there was something or a combination of various elements which didn't flow properly. Could it be that almost nothing about the bank heist/hostage situation was revealed? The lack of action or that the characters knew more than the audience? Another problem with this show was that it didn't know what it wanted to be. Fans of shows which focus on character development like House, Grey's Anatomy or even Lost didn't tune in because they thought from the previews it would have a lot of action and fans of action shows like 24 or Prison Break *did* tune in but found themselves uninterested and changing the channel during the first 20 minutes due to the lack of action. This show had difficulty finding it's audience and deciding what it wanted to be - an action adventure with conspiracy and plot twists or a character drama focusing on how the nine people were affected by the hostage situation? I must say, I found it hard to stay focused on this show. And putting it behind Lost was a dumb move - two dramas which required you to think and that confuse you (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) back to back just wears the audience out.



    I did not care for most of the characters. Nine characters and I didn't find a single one appealing or particularly fascinating. I found most of them obnoxious and to put it bluntly, stupid. Some of their actions just left me thinking "why did they do that?" Most of them were stock - they had no layers and were simply stereotypes.



    We got very little answers about the bank robbery. The show, which was marketed as essentially Lost in a bank, focused on the aftermath of the bank robbery and the nine character's lives after being taken hostage rather than providing answers to what happened during the 52 hours. Were Kathryn & Lizzie raped? Was the robbery a conspiracy? Were some of the hostages actually involved with the bank robbery? We'll never know. It would have worked better as a mini-series - if it did get renewed, then where would they go from where they are now? They would either drag what happened during the bank robbery flashbacks over a few seasons or focus on the lives of the hostages and their relationships, which would have defeated the whole plot of the show.



    The Nine is like every other Lost wannabe out there; there's nothing unique about it. People will forget about this one in a year. My advice if you haven't watched it? Be glad you skipped it.moreless

    1 2

  • 10

    Great Show

    By robbi45, Aug 06, 2007

    I watched the first seven episodes and bought them and was so disappointed that it was held up and not really known if it was going to be back. I was so sad and angry now that it is back I don't want it to end. The last episode was great and gave some depth to the show.



    Characters are becoming people that we are starting to care about. The show can be intense at times and take us to a point of whats next. I for one will continue to watch and I hope you do to. It really is a great show.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    in France we have 13 episode, but it looks like the show did stop in the usa on the 7th episode. I love the show and i would really like to know if i'll might "rester sur ma faim"...

    By Ying2Fa, Jul 30, 2007

    the show is on hiatus? But on abc they say that the show might be back in August? In france the show goes until the 13 episode does that mean that it's not the end of the season?

    Anyway, i can't wait to see the next episode!

    So bring it back!

    0 0

  • 6.6

    After living through a hostage situation in a bank for over 2 days, 9 people's lives are changed. This show examined what happened inside (via flashbacks) and what happened after. Interesting idea, weak delivery.

    By flynikeguy, Jul 09, 2007

    [Does not include episodes after "Outsiders"]

    I had high expectations for this show. The premise was interesting: a bank robbery/hostage situation that would be told in flashbacks with some twists along the way and then getting to see how the characters had changed since being released. Unfortunately, the execution of the show was not nearly as interesting.



    For the most part, I was uninterested in most of what happened with these characters when they got out. The only question I had was why one of the couples broke up. This lucky got answered before ABC pulled the show. After that, I didn't really care whether or not it came back.



    This show was meant to be a character show about the lives of the people that experienced the horror of being a hostage and how that changed them. I was more interested in what happened in the bank so this show never really grabbed me. Plus, how long could they have really drug out flashbacks to what happened in the bank?moreless

    0 1

  • 6.6

    I guess we'll never know what happened in the bank since the show is on hiatus...

    By swassy, Jun 23, 2007

    The pilot of this series was really captivating as nine individuals with separate backgrounds become hostage in a bank robbery. Through each episode we see how they cope with the robbery and we get some more information about what happened inside the bank. After going through this terrifying ordeal, the nine hostages feel that they now share a bond and they set up meetings every now and then so that they can discuss about what happened that day. With each episode we are supposed to get clues about the robbery. However, the show is now on hiatus and it is very intriguing not knowing what really went on in there. Hope they bring it back just to finish the story‚Ķmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    is it ever going to return?

    By GavinGibbons, May 19, 2007

    WOW and i mean WOW, i've only just caught the first episode of this after hearing about it here on tv.com and it is /was amazing. will it ever return from its hiatus because i hope so because the story is captivating and original with some awesome performances by the actors. Egan Foote rules, and "thats foote with an E" hope this returns if not then i'll be constantly rewatching the six episodes that were aired! was also good to see Timothy Daily back on a tv show after wings- i used to love that show when i was younger and want to watch it again nowmoreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews