The Graduates

Episode Reviews (163)

Superb
977 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    sad sad episode if you cry at sad movies dont watch this it will scar u if you love the oc.

    By ocisthebest, Jul 18, 2010

    it was sooo sad i started cryin i cudnt help it i nearly wanted 2 stop watchin oc cos of it but i didnt cos i lyk it 2 much b4 i watched series 4 i had this insane idea that she might get better that ryan might take her to the hospital and thyed fix it but oc will never be the same again summer changes after marissa s death and so did i ! soooo sad i cant belive she s gone it will make me paranoid after all she went thru it was soooooo sad i coul;dent belive it pooor ryan and summ i just thought i hated oliver turns out compared to volchec hes a tree hugger!moreless

    0 1

  • 1.0

    Is that a joke?

    By Pudo18, Jun 06, 2010

    Ok so... a friend from US told me that this episode was the worst ever! Ok I can say the same!



    That was AWFUL, nothing happened and Marissa is dead! Are you kidding? I am sure you are, you can\\\'t give us a so bad season finale. It WAS NOT a season finale, it was a boring episode. When a season finale is coming, you must be behind your screen saying \\\"oh god!!! no!!!\\\" (like for smallville and One tree hill for example!) C\\\'mon that was so bad, I was sure that Mischa Barton was going to die especially when I heard that Kaitlin was back. Season 4 is going to be awful. Julie is going to cry all day and Kaitlin will be the bit... bit... of the \\\"all new serie\\\". Ahahaha Josh swartz (or something) you are so a looser. You can\\\'t even create a good season finale! Return watching your classics! Your episode was awful!! You lost all your fans!moreless

    5 5

  • 8.5

    Season finale always packing a punch.

    By ZaleIsBackAgain, Jan 28, 2010

    Just like season two, season three ends with a bang, except this time like the episode before it, the execution doesn't really feel up to par. The death of Marissa feels almost forced--well no kidding. The idea of Volchok having these super strong feelings for Marissa to the point where he goes crazy--okay maybe him being crazy isn't some new revelation--just doesn't seem convincing enough. It's nice to see Sandy getting his life back together after almost turning into the monster he detested and cracked jokes about all the time, but again the idea of it was kind of forced. Not that this isn't a good episode, it could have been better.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    If you cry during sad movies, you'll be crying by the end of this episode.

    By Lissical, Apr 07, 2009

    I am usually not one to be emotionally affected by TV shows, but there are a few season finales that have gotten to me. This was one of them. Since I already owned season 3 on DVD, I knew that it was Marissa who was going to die at the end of the episode. I just didn't know that it was going to affect me to the degree that it did. Everything started out as incredibly happy; our favorite four characters graduate from Harbor and are ready to embark on the next big thing: college. Marissa decides she's going to spend the summer with her father and the four celebrate. While all of this is going on, Volchok decides he still wants to see Marissa one last time and if he can't, he tells Marissa that he'll make life rather difficult for Ryan. After saying goodbye to Marissa, Ryan begins to drive her to the airport, but sees that someone is following them. They see that it's Volchok. He ends up running Ryan's car off the road and drives away. Ryan quickly gets out and then hurries to get Marissa out just before the car explodes. Holding her in his arms (much like when he did when she OD'd in Tijuana), she dies. Cue the song Hallelujah. At the same time, cue me breaking down into tears.



    While this was a great season finale I think in a way it was the series finale. Season 4 was very good, but it wasn't the same without Marissa. I have watched this episode about four times now and every time I watch it, I cry. One of the best episodes, but at the same time definitely one of the saddest episodes.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.1

    I'm totally shaking as i type this..i just finished watching this episode (for the first time) about 2 minutes ago.. =[[



    WHY DID THEY HAVE KILL HER!??!

    By CalSurf4Life, Jul 22, 2008

    Though i admit i knew this was going to happen because a few years ago i remember this being questioned on E! news the day after it aired about whether marissa really died or not..i just started watching this show only 2 weeks ago (all eps in order)



    I hate to admit it but i've been wanting to watch this episode really badly (to see how she dies)ha...its 4:30 am right now.



    The way she dies is really emotional (or at least it was for me). It was all slow motion and the flashback part made me almost cry (i was too busy shaking from shock). i was hoping deep inside that it was all a joke and that it was like this thing all fans did to get others to watch it or something..



    Anyway back to reviewing, Mischa Barton and Ben Mckenzie (i hope i spelled his name right)did an awesome job working together. i admit i was really disappointed when the time came when she died that they weren't really together, but you could totally tell they had feelings for each other.



    If there is any fan out there who hasn't watched this episode, i think they def should consider it. A death of a main character is definitely not the best idea for a show (since this is mostly why the show went completely rock bottom after this-mischa no longer here).



    That's all i have to say. I'm going to watch a bit of the first ep of season four. I heard something about ryan crying in a bar so it sounds interesting.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    A foreshaodowing of Marrisa's demise, which I think was a great plot decision because it gave us new material to work with for a 4th season.

    By jus2fied, May 25, 2008

    Doesn't get any better than this.....As I quote Sany Cohen from this episode: Thers has been tragedy, comedy, loved found and love lost...need I say more. i get all happy when they are in the pool at the model home playing, laughing, crying, bittersweet. Then the life w/out ryan converstaion....there would be no Seth or Summer. Phew I am so glad that brooding young man fell onto the Cohen's doorsteps. I think the ending was a little over the top, Ryan carrying a dead Marissa, just like in the TJ episode season 2. Kinda of symbolic of their relationship, Ryan was always there for her in an over the top kind of way.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.9

    the group finally graduates high school. summmer is going to brown & seth goes to RISD in january. Ryan is attending Berkley & Marissa is working on a yacht with her dad. while driving to the airport, volchek causes ryan to crash, causing marissa's death.

    By justTWIRLitup, Apr 13, 2008

    This episode always makes me cry. i must have a box of tissues by me at all times when i watch it. graduation scenes always make me cry. it makes me soo mad that they killed marissa off. whether misha wanted out or the writers just killed her of that was horrible. it killed the show. it could still be filming if she was on the show. that part makes me sad too. marissa was like my favorite character and everytime i watch, i'm screaming at the tv for volchek to stop like some kind of idiot. this episode ruined the show but i still love the show. r.i.p. marissa cooper:[moreless

    0 0

  • 2.0

    This may not have been the series finale, but it basically sent the show straight for it!

    By sccergurl2113, Feb 22, 2008

    This is probably the dumbest episode ever made. This episode is the reason the show got cancelled. You can't just kill off the star of show and expect it to be accepted. That was a horrible move and the show payed for it in the end...after that episode things were never the same. The show was quickly set to be cancelled. Why didn't they just let Marissa leave instead of killing her. At least that way they could of brought her backed when the show bombed...which it did. This show could have gone on for plenty of more seasons had they not made that mistake.moreless

    4 0

  • 9.5

    Its time to forgive to forget and to get revenge.

    By sellie12, Feb 06, 2008

    This was one of the most controversial episodes of "The O.C." that has ever been made. It was very shocking that marissa was the one written out of the show. After this episode aired nothing but speculation went around for six months. The biggest question that everyone wanted answered was..."Is marissa gone?". Fans waited the answer but didnt like what they heard. This episode basically ruined the show. If it wasnt for the shocking cliffhanger the show probably would still be on the air. I guess what they say is true "all good things must come to an end." So Marissa's role had to end soon, but it ended way too soon.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.6

    WOOW!!

    By QueenofShiba, Jan 18, 2008

    It is graduation day for Ryan, Seth, Summer, and Marissa at Harbor High School. After graduation they all go out to eat and celebrate their graduation. Ryan's mother gives him a new car as a graduation present. Marissa is going to spend a year on a boat with her father as her graduation gift. Seth finally gets into RISD for second semester. Summer is still going to Brown University in the fall. Volchok is still mad at Marissa and Ryan, so he decides to crash Ryan's car. Marissa's death was a complete shock as she was the "beautiful, troubled kid" of the Orange County rich community!! LOVED the soundtrack!!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews