The Perfect Storm

Episode Reviews (20)

Superb
536 votes
9.2
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    this was a good ep

    By cube2k8, Jun 12, 2010

    in this ep of the show the oc ryan decides to make a life changing desion that will try to help marisa case and sand agress with him and so summer and seth and him are going to reaveal her situation with dean hess and marrisa is having problems at her school but is making friends and ryan thinks he is hittion on her one of her friends the way he looks at her and spends so much time with her this was a good ep i thougth and improvement from the last ep they played and that is why i gave it a 9moreless

    0 1

  • 8.5

    Taylor Townsend is hot.

    By ZaleIsBackAgain, Dec 18, 2009

    Not the best episode so far, but it was pretty decent. The best part of this episode is that we may have seen the last of this dumb Dean. Although Taylor Townsend has tailored herself as the bratty little spoiled girl of the season, she has a certain energy to her that no matter how much you hate her, you can't help but appreciate the good acting she is doing. And unfortunately those are the high points of the episode. Ryan's little running away story was pretty boring, and although this whole Charlotte thing looks like it has potential, it hasn't exactly lifted off yet. Luckily the humour is what kept this episode afloat.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.9

    A superb episode compared to "The Last Waltz"!

    By Charmed1408, Jan 16, 2007

    A superb episode compared to "The Last Waltz"! I thought the Ryan leaving storyline was the best it could be done, the Julie / Charlotte new storyline was off to a great start & most of all I loved the development of the Taylor / Seth / Summer / Dean Hess storyline! I really feel like the writers don't really know what they're doing with Johnny, are they trying to make us think he's evil? Are we supposed to feel sorry for the poor little surfer boy? Either way, I believe people are really overreacting about Johnny, everyone hates him so much, I don't like him or dislike, he just a plain neutral character.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.2

    Too dramatic

    By Dammit_Voyeur, Oct 18, 2006

    Ok, let's begin for the bad parts of this episode. First, the all "I quit my great life" thing that Ryan decided to do. I still can't understand why he would do that, quitting just because he was expelled from the school?? Come on, a letter could not have the power to expell Ryan from all the colleges in the country. Second, the Julie Cooper / Charlotte thing. Just one sentence: She buys her a house, and Julie just accept it like that?? no questions, nothing?? I know that she is manipulating and is always after the money of others, but that's too strange even to her... And finally Johhny. I don't like him, not the character, but the actor. Seems like he's always with the same expression...

    Strangely, I think that Marissa was quite ok in this episode. Usually it's Ryan that have the clever actions, when Marissa does the stupid things she always do, but in this episode they traded papers. The Seth/Summer teamwork is always great, they carried the episode in their backs, along with Taylor. I think that she was a great addiction to the show, I love to see her act. It's like the nemesis for Summer, but with the same manipulating skills.

    Overall, good (but not great) episode.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.7

    The OC. Episode 5

    By stella_lisy, Sep 27, 2006

    The realm of unrealistic.



    - Kirsten can't be able to cook french breakfast out of the blue like that. :D



    - Taylor scared of Summer's Sidekick. Please.



    - How can Dean Hess' letter be such a terrible issue for Ryan's college future? I mean, he's just a dean of discipline, he is not the American President. Anyway, it's such a good thing this character has gone. :D I couldn't stand him at all.



    - Whatever problem the OC kids run into, they seem just good at running away. Well, at least they have second thoughts too. :)



    - Plastic Face Charlotte can't succeed in fooling Mrs. Cooper Nichol. Julie, gee, wake up!



    By the way, I like the episode.

    Even if it was obvious that Ryan would have never left as fisherman, his return [...or better, the return of the not-so-ancient-mariner...] was kind of nice.

    And the fabulous four walking on the beach were witty as they're meant to be.

    Summer's "parrot scene" was wonderful. :D She definitely knows how to break a awkward family dinner. LOL



    Ps. Sandy's mind meld always wins.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    uhhh worst episode in oc history but i still gave it a 10 cause the oc rocks

    By whatupmyasian, Feb 18, 2006

    uh i hate this episode, it was so predictable, ofcourse ryan wasnt going to work on a boat, ofcourse ryan was going to come back into harbor, dean hess leaves like that, the only good part about this episode was there was two songs i like and when they were having the fare well party and summer says she likes parrots and she makes that noise, that was realy funny and cute

    0 1

  • 0.1

    Worst season so far and worst episode so far. Can't the writers come up with something new??

    By surome, Nov 26, 2005

    Awful episode. And the storyline is the same as always.

    Ryan leaving, Ryan getting into trouble, Ryan fighting, Ryan, Marissa, Seth & Summer together at the end of an episode. HELLOOOO, it's been done like a 100 times!!!

    A new plot would be nice thank you.

    This proves once again One Tree Hill is 1000 times better than The OC. This season really made me drop the rating for this show at TV.com





    Awful, awful, awful

    1 2

  • 6.0

    Want to see what happens next, watch Dawson's Creek...

    By ayesa888, Nov 14, 2005

    I can't believe it. This series started out good but it seems like when all else fails, the writers watch re-runs of old teen soapies and copy the plots that made us watch them.



    It would have worked perfectly only this time not all the viewers are teens. The OC is starting out to be one of those soaps that you want to watch because of one character's story but can never tell your friends you watch it coz all in all it's lame.



    I hope this picks up before the end of the season or at least before this year ends... If it doesn't, I'll be parking this and my DVD collection will stop at Season 2.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.4

    Ryan centered episode with more development of Kirsten's friend to try and get closer to Caleb's company??, as Summer and Seth plot to take down the new Dean of Discipline and Taylor.

    By scubascythan, Nov 09, 2005

    Kirsten trying to prove her worth in cooking was a kick. It shows not only how Kirsten is trying to improve as well as wanting to show her family she is better, but also how her family supports this. Ryan and Seth were less reluctant to stop her cooking, as if anyone remembers her trying to cook Turkey dinner in the first season. Marissa's new friend is still a puzzle, did he really try to help Ryan or was he trying to send him away to get Marissa to himself? And whats the deal with his girlfriend, wouldn't she have something to say. On a side note, I realized where I have seen their crazy dyslexic friend, he is the same guy that tried to blow up a whole town with a nuclear bomb on smallville just a few weeks ago, episode 3 of season 5 I believe. Julie was obviously pissed when she had been beaten to the punch for the suite as she had pawned her wedding ring or some other large ring Caleb gave her for the down payment. It would have been suspicious even if the person that beat you to it would actually offer you the place for free, with no strings attached. No matter what that sounds, nothing in the world is free so this would seem suspicious. I'm unsure if Julie really knows or cares about this, as she is obviously desperate and in the slumps so she has taken up her freebie. Marissa played a major role while having minor facetime this episode. She was the one that managed to stop Ryan from going away while Sandy's carefree parent tactic failed once again. To see Sandy, Seth and Summer (Hmm, the 3 Slicks?) are finally extorting the Dean to get out and bring Ryan back. I hoped to see him get canned and Ryan possibly using his "fists of fury" but nevertheless getting Ryan back is good. However, now that Ryan is going to Newport Union while Marissa goes to the public school, is this the beginning of the wedge that will result in a season of heartache for the fans and finally get toegether near prom/graduation time? I hope not but without it, the story might be a little stale. Episodes are still pretty fast moving, not as much as season one but one can't really blame the writers, moving at the pace they were back at the start of season one would result in ridiculous plots or ultimately the demise of the show or main characters to keep more plots coming.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    This episode was pretty stupid.

    By tvfreakazoid, Nov 08, 2005

    Ok guys i read some of your comments and i can't beleive you guys like this episode. I dont know why i watch it because it's one of those shows like friends where there's no diversity. But, whatever. What is it, if you dont get into a IVY league school your life is over??? I mean come on talk about the writers don't know what to write about. It seems they have "good premise" block or some B.S. Seriously there're like thousands of college that he could get into, maybe not a ivy league but something good. Downgrade.moreless

    1 1

Load More Reviews