The Shape of Things to Come

Episode Reviews (35)

Superb
708 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    Back to how things were

    By katikool, Mar 11, 2013

    Finally, the characters' pleas have been answered- things are back to how they were before! By that I mean we have a new Oliver in the devious Charlotte, who's clearly trying to Single White Female Kirsten's ass. Jimmy is also back and, surprise of all surprises, he's bankrupt and financially ruined again! This guy is clearly brain damaged because now he's in debt to the mob as well. And perhaps worse, he's tits deep in the clutches of Julie Cooper's soul sucking (and wallet draining) succubus wiles yet again. Have you learned NOTHING, Jimmy Cooper?



    Ryan and Marissa are on the rocks and facing social ostracization again, just like the good ol' times after Ryan burned down Caleb's mansion and Marissa OD'ed in Tiajuana. They're both expelled after Ryan punches the new dean square in his smug Chad face (and because Marissa shot Trey). Public schooling, here we coooome! The return to how things were will be complete if someone at the new school decks Ryan and says "Welcome to Newport Union, bitch". This better happen.



    And finally, some new villains! We meet Taylor Townsend, the annoying perky blonde Chihuahua who dominated your student government. She rats out Marissa to the smarmy new dean when Marissa shows at the school carnival. But for all her unbearable Tracy Flick ways, she's actually kinda likable. I smell a villain redemption arc this season! And of course, the smarmy new dean! God he's the worst. I can't wait for his certain downfall later in the season. I just hope we get some good confrontation between him and our favorite OC teenz in the process.



    So everyone is back to where they were at the beginning of Season 1. We even got a pretty good new version of the show's theme song, which is infinitely better with half the whine. Season 3 is off to a great start!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Taylor Townsend is hot.

    By ZaleIsBackAgain, May 22, 2011

    The follow up to the season opener, which was average on the standards of The O.C., has set up things nicely for the season to come. Although new character Taylor Townsend is setting herself up as the main antagonist of the season so far, along with the new Dean, who can hate the uncredited underachiever that always wants to do her best? Plus she's been the most beautiful gal so far in this show. Dean though is an ass. And with Jimmy introducing himself in the story, he seems to be experiencing the same money problems once again. Kirsten seems to have a secret enemy herself in Charlotte who is jealous of her and her husband's relationship. As always the episode is backed up by some brilliant writing and funny jokes, but more importanty, like the second episode of the second season, it sets the tone for the entire season nicely.moreless

    0 1

  • 9.0

    this was a good ep

    By cube2k8, Jun 12, 2010

    in this ep of the show the oc mariss is tring to prepare the carval for senior year and so marris is having problems do to a new girl talor townsland and dr kim meets with sandy and julie to talk about ryans future and she says its not up to her its up to a new guy and he will decide there future since the board wants him to do it and they start to talk to him and sandy tells ryan that and in this ep jimmy meets with a guy he met when he was relaxing far way and turns out jimmy is still owing money to peoeple and he is counting on the money from the will this was a good ep i thought and it was very exciting.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.9

    Ryan and Marrisa face being kicked out of harbour. Jimmy is still having money problems. Charlotte takes Kirsten to her "holiday home" which upsets Sandy. Seth and Summer clash with Taylor.

    By stewie1423, May 11, 2010

    This episode was good. i liked the version of Califonia at the end, and i thought it was a good ending to the show though i thought it was wierd that Marrisa was kicked out of the carnaval but anyway .... I don't know why Jimmy just doesnt tell Julie about his money problems because it seems like she seems to actually love him this time. I think seth and summer taking down Taylor was brill and very funny. Good episode!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.4

    Exactly what i have been waiting for.

    By daretodream, Apr 15, 2010

    Previous to this episode everything from summer\'s (not character) past is seemed to be behind them, but within the first 5 minutes we find out that Marissa Cooper and Ryan Atwood is endangered of being kicked out of school. This episode was very realistic and something important to lots of people. Being kicked out of your school senior year does not look all that get on any application, especially along with shooting someone. This episode was exactly what I wanted happen, something really important. When Marissa is told she has been kicked out of school, while Ryan has not, it brings your emotions to a new level. We are worried what is going to happen to Marissa both academically and socially. All of the characters deal with this differently. Summer believes that she must make up for Marissa being gone and stand up to Taylor Townsend, a girl who is convinced she is going to take over Marissa place at Harbor. Summer causes drama, and wins of course, adding some happiness to this episode. Seth did not really have a reaction except for being strong for his girlfriend. Ryan feels guilty and he and Marissa finally fight over the Trey incident. They make up and decide to go to the kick off carnival, and that is where the new dean of discipline arrives and decided to throw Marissa out of the carnival, when Dean Hess grabs Marissa\'s arm aggressively, Ryan defends his girlfriend by punching Dean Hess, bringing some of the old school O.C back. As Ryan and Marissa leave the carnival, Marissa stops and looks into the carnival through a chain linked fence looking extremely sad and Ryan comes towards her and buts is arm around her shoulder and guides away, by doing that we see the affection and love between the two characters that I have personally yet to see since they made up in season two. This episode was full of emotion and it was exactly what I have been waiting for.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.7

    A really great episode of The O.C. that is given a better rating than what I should've given it because of the fantastic last 2 minutes.

    By Charmed1408, Jan 14, 2007

    A really great episode of The O.C. that is given a better rating than what I should've given it because of the fantastic last 2 minutes. It wasn't that great actually, well I mean it was & it wasn't, some storylines in it were fantastic, others were weak. I REALLY loved the introduction of Taylor, I also was intrigued by the reunitation of Jimmy & Julie, the Kirsten / Charlotte storyline bored me & the Ryan / Marissa possibility of being expelled storyline could have been done better. I don't know why, but I LOVE Dean Hess & Taylor, they are so cool but mean, it's hard to explain!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    The O.C.'s second episode

    By stella_lisy, Oct 02, 2006

    JIMMY COOPER, the man who is totally unable to understand that speculating on stock exchange isn't really his thing.

    I've got to admit it. In the first season I sympathized with Mr. Cooper. I thought he was such a good guy whose only faults were:

    - to be a little unlucky.

    - to be married to a witch named Julie.

    Actually I change my mind because I can't believe after one year we're all over again! Okay, I know it's all writers' fault but I can't stand this character anyway. :D



    Kirsten's friend, CHARLOTTE, the most plastic face in Newport Beach.

    I mean, she is always creepier! I'm not fond of this new character at all. I don't think Charlotte could split up Sandy and Kirsten's bond and I've not understood yet what she wants from Kirsten; but I guess that sometimes it's better not knowing. LOL. :D



    DEAN HESS, the worst Arnold Schwarzenegger's imitation ever. I don't think his hostility toward Ryan (and Marissa) is such a realistic storyline: he has been in the O.C. for like one minute and he definitely hates Ryan more than Julie Cooper? :D It's kind of weird!



    TAYLOR, the "wannabe Marissa". She seems a frantic and annoying brat, but maybe it's just a wrong impression.



    Well, I've to say that the last minutes of the episode were pretty sad; I liked a lot the song "California" (a cappella) when Marissa and Ryan had to get out of the school party.

    Definitely, without drama it wouldn't be the O.C. :D



    Last but not least... THE FABULOUS FOUR.

    Summer and Seth are still pure fun but I hope there are nice storylines in store for both of them.

    Marissa seems finally grown up. Will it last? :D

    By the way, I was surprised how she faced Dean Hess. I could bet that Ryan would have punched the new Dean. Well, I guess, the old good "Chino's guy" is back in town. And maybe he has never left. :Dmoreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    marissa gets kicked out of harbour high school and ryan doesn't want to leave it like that!Summer and seth want to kick taylor's ass,because she took over the social chair.Kirsten tells Sandy,that she is not planning on coming home and he is very sad.

    By mathvict, Jun 10, 2006

    I found this episode good, it had emotional and a little boring moments( the whole Jimmy-money-problem)! The most exciting moment of the episode,was for me, when marissa is asked to leave the kick-off carnival and ryan punches mr. hess into the face. Marissa starts to cry and ryan is wondering how mr. hess will react and for my taste, he over-reacted! Ryan is so shocked and is still realising what he just done. After he's finished, ryan walks towards marissa and both walk "the walk of shame", while the whole school is watching. The acapella-version of "california" by Phantom Planet in the backround fits very well and underlines what just happened in the scene! It was very touching!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 7.4

    A significant improvement on the first episode of the season!

    By Shana868, Jan 22, 2006

    So, following the season's premiere, I really wasn't holding out for much, which was why I was pleasantly surprised by this episode.



    There were some great moments, and some brilliant lines. The twists were great too, with the subject of expulsion.



    It seems TPTB don't want us to know yet whether Jimmi really does love his familiy, or whether he's just in monetary debt and so back for the money alone. Well, this will certainly prove interesting (though they made the point about his debt a little too often - yeah, we all know he's in financial trouble already!)



    A great bit of humour involving the fair, and the bitchy organiser. Summer's intervention was pretty much obvious, and her new plans predictable, but still fun.



    Glad to see everyone is happy, though how much longer will it really last?



    And of course, the end, Ryan is the usual fool and get's himself expelled...Interesting to see the previews for next week focus on Marissa's expulsion not Ryan's though.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Great ending!

    By Mpol, Nov 27, 2005

    This episode had a great ending! I loved it! The haunting version of California, Ryan's punch, and Taylor's schemeing cattyness is just to die for! The Dean storyline seemed ok as it was new! I can't wait for Kirsten to discuss her Rehab with her boys! Love it all! Slowish start but otehrwise great!

    1 0

Load More Reviews