The Oprah Winfrey Show

Show Reviews (112)

Good
1,351 votes
7.8
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.5

    My Husband the hero

    By rubenloricarpentier, Dec 13, 2013

    For the first time since her rollover accident last month on Farm-to-Market 1554, Rosie Cortez and her family met with Ruben Carpentier, the good Samaritan who helped save her life, at a replacement blood drive held in her honor Monday afternoon at Horseshoe Western Wear in Alice.



    Cortez lost her left arm during the rollover accident on FM 1554 near FM 625 on Nov. 19. She said she was heading to a friend's house before taking her children to their tumbling and football practices.



    "A normal routine for us," Cortez said.



    Cortez said she over-corrected her turn while trying to avoid a reflector pole, rolling her vehicle and breaking the window on the driver's side.



    "When the glass broke, I knew that I had severed my arm," she said. "There was just blood



    Cortez said she tried to remain calm following the accident, and told her 9-year-old son Sebastian, who was in the front passenger side, to check and make sure his siblings were okay.



    "They were in their car seats in the back," she said. "I told him to make sure the kids were fine and then get help. I knew that I was bleeding profusely and needed



    Carpentier said he was not even supposed to be on the road that evening, but had been sent by his wife to pick up some milk.



    "I was on my way home when she called, so I made a u-turn," he said. "About two or three minutes later, she called back and said she didn't need the milk, so I turned back around. I went about a quarter mile and I looked to my right and saw the car flip on its



    Carpentier said he saw the accident and immediately stopped to render aid. Using Sebastian's shirt and an iPhone cord he had in his pocket, Carpentier made a tourniquet on her arm to stop the bleeding.



    "She said, 'Just do what you need to do,'" he said. "So I reached in my pocket and I had one of those iPhone cords, tied it around her arm and just squeezed the heck out of



    Carpentier said if he had been just five seconds earlier, he would have missed the accident.



    "He was out there at the right moment and the right time," Cortez said. "With it being a county road, who knows how long before I would have gotten



    Cortez was transported to CHRISTUS Spohn Memorial in Corpus Christi via HALO-Flight for medical attention. Carpentier said he left shortly after she was transported, but his emotions didn't hit him until later that night.



    "I started crying like a little baby," he said. "I was just bawling. It was so fast. The DPS officer told me that I saved her life, but it hadn't processed in my mind at that time. He said if it had been just another 30 seconds, she would have



    Carpentier said he said stayed in contact with Cortez and her family through Facebook, but wanted to give her time before meeting her again face-to-face.



    "I stayed in contact, so I knew she was doing all right," he said. "I was so happy when I saw her



    Cortez said she is still recovering, but has begun to get back to her regular routine.



    "This is actually my second outing," she said. "I haven't really been out much. The cold weather has really taken a toll on my

    moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    No more Oprah for me....

    By paulashepard3, Aug 13, 2013

    I used to be a fan of Oprah's until recently. First with her behavior with her "friend" Paula Deen then her ludicrous comment about Emmett Till and Trayvon Martin then her attempt to rabblerouse about race by making a story up about her trip and the handbag. Such a comment disrespects what Mr. Till went through. Shame on her, with a friend like her you don't need enemies and she is a racialist if not an out and out racist and is obviously more interested in the color of her skin than I am. I don't need that in my life. No more Oprah in my world from now on- she's thoroughly revealed herself and I want no part of that behavior.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    hi please help me go to college !!

    By meqanallsmile, May 22, 2013

    Hi my name is Megan Chavis and I was diagnosed with ovarisn cancer at 14! It cause a lot of chaos with my family! Both my parents lost their jobs and we lost everything! We are still trying really hard to get back on out feet but now I'm at a holt in my life. I can't go to college!! School has always been my #1 priority. I'm hoping you can help me. I would also really like to share my story about me gaving cancer at 14 I think its something woman should be highly aware of because its so silent! Please can you help!!moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    Please Oprah, help me

    By FlaviLovatic, Jan 20, 2013

    Oprah, Hi, my name is Flavia, I'm 15 years old (will be 16 on March 29).

    I have a problem, I was diagnosed with OCD.

    I cut myself, but now I'm stopping thanks to Demi Lovato.

    You can help realize my dream of meeting Demi?

    Please? I am Brazilian.

    0 0

  • 10

    Black Americana

    By martinmcarthu, Dec 28, 2012

    I heard you collected Black Americana stuff, I have some pieces,If you are interested.

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Pretty good.

    By gracielove, Nov 09, 2012

    I love her and her show. but she does interrupt guess all the time. and is into her self more and more everyday.

    0 0

  • 10

    A silent killer

    By InesMoreno, Oct 01, 2012

    Dear Oprah,my name is Diego Moreno and I am greatly in-need for my sister health and well b being,she is a single woman with 4 kids presently she tried making up her life again n is presently living with a guy who does all in his power to support her morally,financially,and mentally especially in this time of need she has.Recently she has been diagnosed with stomach pain and was rushed to the ER just to get the alarming news she has pancreatic cancer, we were never aware of such illness in our family but such is life and sickness does not carry or have boundaries...presently Mom was here present to support her but she could not take the pain in seeing her baby getting deteriorated by this cancer so i decided to send her back home to Belize.. (mom is sick on her own)..now this note is to as for your help i have seen u in many ways helping others and thats why i ask god to bless u even more n more everyday. recently my sis got kicked out of her home due to the fact she could not afford her payment and we sheltered her at home for a couple months. Now her hubby got some money together to take responsibility on his own but still they are struggling ..so i ask on her behalf to please help in any way u can i know i ask very bluntly but at this moment my tears shed .. cause if it was in my power n if i was financially capable i would make her last days happy please help... my number is 2403001989... May god bless u n your family every day that goes bye.... and thanks in advance for ur time into looking toward my pleamoreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    help me please

    By dessydoddles123, Jul 10, 2012

    hi oprah my name is destiny i am 14 years old i have been over weight since i was 4 i am sick of looking this way and coming home crying for what people say about me i have recently had a surgery for being bullied at school for the way i look i have done every thing i can to try to lose weight but it dose not go away would you please help me

    0 0

  • 1.0

    The typical show for ignorant american dipshits.

    By lmaorofllollmao, Jun 30, 2012

    I'm tired of being told who to admire in this country, so i am going to flip off all of these "american role-models" that i have a knowing about. FUCK dr phill. FUCK lance armstrong. FUCK oprah winfrey. thank you.

    0 0

  • 8.0

    Oprah is a real tv personality to watch!

    By T_VFan, Apr 30, 2012

    She takes questions from studio watchers (which I think interaction is great), she showcases great talent (the visuals are superb), her discussions with celebrities are interesting because she herself is a versatily person: journalist, tv personality, lawyer, etc. She is always beautiful and genuine about showing us her workouts and her tips, and her show is empowering for women around the world in general. I love the lighting on this show and how she changes the discriminations against minority as an accomplished TV personality.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews