The Real World

Show Reviews (108)

Great
1,782 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 3.0

    Unreal World

    By mahituna1, May 13, 2013

    I laugh at the teens who watch this dribble and think this is what it's gonna be like when they leave mommy and daddy. Yep, that's it. You just move out and find a multi-million dollar house on the beach in San Diego and live with some buddies. No need to work, just worry about what your going to wear and go tonight or spend your time worrying about who is sleeping with who. It's that easy.

    0 0

  • 6.0

    Not so Real

    By stanleyyelantes, Dec 19, 2011

    The Real World is often criticized for not being a great example of what the 'real world' actually is, and although this season had great drama and fights, it definitely did not live up to it's name. Putting seven strangers in a $8 million dollar mansion in San Diego for three months does not exactly show the audience what the real world is like. This season, to show they are like real people, they were given a job. This job was no desk job; they were given the opportunity to work for The House of Blues. Out of the twelve episodes, there were about only four that actually showed them doing 'work'. The rest of the episodes that mentioned House of Blues were ones where one of the housemates was sleeping with their boss. Other seasons of The Real World did a better job depicting reality, like the New Orleans season; their job included working at a homeless shelter and re-constructing a house that was destroyed during Katrina. The only reality depicted in San Diego involved two off the housemates; a lesbian and bisexual. Throughout the season they are shown struggling to get the rest of their housemates to accept them for who they are, something people do in everyday life. Even though that seems like good reality, it was the only reality that San Diego portrayed.moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    This is the tv show that ruined american television forever, the jersey shore of the early 1990's

    By afijamesy2k, Dec 20, 2010

    This show not only was the downfall of MTV, But the downfall of television as a whole, I Still can't believe that people think this is a good show, this is not, this is shameful trash beyond believe, eric nies was the DJ Pauly D of the 1990's, Yes I Said it, he and the rest of his cronies that brought us trash that should be the dumpster for decades, this is just truly shameful trash and I Hate to say this, but this is a failure and it should be, Because people are so much into this mess, why.moreless

    0 1

  • 1.3

    A show about 7 (prearranged) strangers. The producers intentionally pick people that will clash. The result? A bunch of people drinking, fighting and hooking up.

    By MrsPea, Dec 20, 2010

    This show was good for the first couple of seasons that I watched, but it's worn out. This show is definitely for the young immature high school crowd. The Real World has been going downhill for a while, but the season where I actually stopped watching was RW Key West. Maybe it's due to the fact that I actually have a real life. I don't need to watch losers on a "reality" TV show create pointless drama with each other. Especially when the lame drama is created by the producers. The only positive thing I have to write about this show is that they have some pretty cool music. Someone over at MTV has decided that the music MTV plays sucks. So, they throw in the good bands whenever they can - background music for sucky shows. Although, the music isn't a good enough reason to tune in to this tired show.moreless

    2 2

  • 7.0

    The Real World is one the kind of shows I don't normally watch but the new season seems to be the most interesting yet...

    By TKfan27, Nov 08, 2010

    The Real World is basically just about different types of people living under one roof. The newest season, "The Real World: Brooklyn", seems to be the most interesting season yet! I don't know if it's because Katie is transgendered or because one of the girls is passionate about dancing. I kind of like this show now. I just hope people aren't watching it just because someone is gay or transgendered. You can learn a little bit about how those kind of people work. Anyway, I say this show gets better every season. It's decent in a way. The new season is great!moreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    This show is about 7 people that move into a house and live together and they never meet each other.

    By gordosaros, Oct 22, 2010

    love the real world. man once you watch it you want to see what happends next.I gvie it about 5 stars beacause it is a great show and you will love it. I like the real world hollywood its has a lot of drama and fights and lots of love parts. The real world hollywood tells about the 7 people that move in want to be famous and they need to get along with all the other roommates. They need to start be comming real. the real world. trust me you will love this show. The real world rocks. The best tv showmoreless

    0 2

  • 1.0

    Good concept that has been bastardized beyond recognition.

    By mama1974, Oct 22, 2010

    I watched season one faithfully and it was refreshing to see real people outside of their comfort zones. Now it's simply a big game of who can be the most obnoxious, sleazy and cruel. Let's spin the wheel to see who will sleep with who tonight! There isn't anything new to be seen and a lot of repeated scenarios that are clearly set-ups. Just because they haven't got the good sense to be embarrassed by showing themselves in the most unflattering light doesn't mean they shouldn't be embarrassed. I imagine that a lot of their family members are, at least. Do the "real people" get "real" penicillin at the end of the season? I certainly hope so.moreless

    1 0

  • 1.0

    The show that started reality TV and took music off MTV, may they burn in hell

    By guyroy1971, Oct 22, 2010

    Remember the 80's when MTV was cool, was the most influential channel on TV and practically made music careers? Then this cutting edge channel did something that seemed cutting edge for the time, make a show about young people living in various cities around the world and just watch them. No actos or scripts, just them going out, getting drunk, having sex, etc..



    Brilliant right? Uh, no. Oh the show that spawned everything wrong with TV, destroyed MTV and gave viewers hours and hours of horrible reality dreck. Soon after its premier, MTV figured out the idiots watching their channel would watch this garbage instead of having to pay musicians for, like, videos and stuff. The morons on the show were "do anything for their 15 minutes of infamy" and they didn't even have to pay them. It was a race to the bottom since with other channels benching real drama and comedy for cheapo reality.



    Unlike some (VERY FEW!) reality shows like Survivor and Amazing Race, the Real World has no reddeming qualities to it. This is the type of show that Jumped the Shark from day one. Every single moron on the show has been repulsive. The first few seasons the people were repulsive for being preachy bores or pretend jerks (i.e. Puck), now they are repulsive for being bland, preening wannabes that despite all evidence to the contrary, think that this show is a springboard to better things. Based on the zero actual celebrities this show has produced over like 20 years, thats a pretty rotten batting average.



    Every season is completely the same..pretty boys/girls shallow as hell drink alot, think they are the first ones to discover the concept, and pine away with each other after promising "I will not cheat on the show" Of course they will, because they want to look like idiots on TV and without the pining and the drinking the show would be watching regular people do nothing..wait that is the show! People entertained by this probably also like watching their screensavers.



    Gets one star because I can't put zero, maybe the worst thing ever on TV as a whole. They may have been worse moments on other shows, but pound for pound over 20 years of dreck gets it into the hall of fame of crappy.moreless

    3 0

  • 7.0

    I guess I'm just biased?

    By trishuhhh, Jan 08, 2010

    Despite the fact I'm a teenager, I barely watch reality tv or MTV. Occasionally if I'm bored I watch a random episode of a show on that channel but I can't say I watch any of their shows religiously. The Real World has never really appealed to me over the years. I try to make a point of watching the premieres because I loooove seeing the houses they're put in (have you seen them? there's nothing real about them the mansions are crRaaZZzy!!!!) There's only been two episodes of this season DC so far but I think I might start tuning in more often. It's probably because I love the city of Washington. My friends who are big fans of the Real World series aren't really impressed with this season, and I guess I can understand. The house mates are some what boring, with the exception of Andrew. He is probably the only other reason I enjoy watching this. His panda hat... where can I get one? I'm totally rooting for this kid to get laid, and MTV thanks for picking Washington D.C.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews