A Star Is Burns

Episode Reviews (12)

Great
207 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Film Festival!

    By futuramarama, Jul 02, 2010

    Springfield holds a film festival, and Marge has film critic Jay Sherman visit. But, Homer is jealous and thinks Marge likes Jay. What will he do? Also, Barney wins the film competition, and wins beer, which is ironic because his film was about how beer has destroyed his life.



    A good episode, has some very funny parts and is a very interesting idea for an episode. It's not one of my favorites of the series but it is a strong offering from one of the best seasons of the show, I think so anyways, this episode gets an A+ from memoreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    When a need to boast of popularly is needed, host an event.

    By Lauper_Wash_86, Jun 14, 2010

    When Springfield finds itself low in popularly, Marge's idea of a film festival gets the okay from the town. With the ability to make their films, the citizens begin the process. Marge invites Jay Sherman to the show as a judge. During the process, Burns is inform by Smithers about the film festival and realizes he can use this chance to improve his image. However, Barney was able to pull-off a win by doing a document about his alcoholism. As for Burns, not even Hollywood would help him. At least, there was a win for Homer when a parody of his favorite film, Man getting hit by football, got a Hollywood face up.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    This is definally one of the better crossover specials of any show.

    By gothkid200, May 27, 2010

    It's funny to see Jay Sherman in the Simpsons universe. I liked the whole episode, espically when Jay entered, he made the episode better. It's also revealed that depsite that Mr. Burns was in WWII, he also made bombs for the nazis... "but min worked damn it!". It gives you a warm feeling when u see one of your favorite characters from one show, and it briefly goes onto another popular show. It's like if Garfield went on a Peanuts special, it would be really intresting. The scene where Homer gets shown off by Jays belching is just freakin hysterical.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    this was a good ep

    By cube2k8, May 20, 2010

    in this ep of the simpsons there is a film festval comeing to springlfield and people start to make movies for it . and there is a few one by barney gumbal another of mr burns and another with mole man getting hit in the crotch with a football . and they have to vote to see who is the winner and who gets the award everyond does not want burns to win and so they all vote aginst his movie but the vote all comes down to homers who votes for moleman getting hit in the crotch which was hilrious . and mr bunrs movie gets the award a very good epmoreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Money can't buy respect, Mr. Burns learns this lesson.

    By Sara_Marie_41, Jan 02, 2010

    Springfield was in trouble after being declared the least popular city. Mayor Quimby makes a plead to the public to attract tourists. Marge suggest a film festival and allow the townspeople to make their own films. As Marge recruits Jay Sherman, you can bet a certain someone wants to seize the chance at fame. That person is Charles Montgomery Burns, and he wastes no time on gaining respect. Burns hires a Mexican director and starts in his own film, had no choice. At the film festival, a Mole-man film gets Homer in trouble when Marge had made him a judge. Barney's film becomes the most talked about, and Burns… he pays two of the judges to get his film going. However, after Homer votes for Mole-man puts the decision in a deadlock between Burns and Barney. Homer watches Barney's film and votes for it to break the deadlock. Burns tries again, but a film similar to Homer's favorite Mole-man film teaches Burns that money won't buy him respect.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.4

    Man getting hit by football

    By meatboys, Aug 30, 2008

    Springfield is the least popular town in America. They have a town meeting on how to attract tourists and Marge pitches the idea for a film festival. After they accept her idea, she searches for a film critic to be the judge and Jay Sherman is her choice. He comes to Springfield and stays with the Simpson family. Mr. Burns decides to enter the festival to boost his reputation, and makes a horribly self-indulgent film. Jay Sherman fits right in with the Simpson family, but he and Homer quickly form a rivalry. After the screenings, Homer has already made up his mind he is going to vote for the dumbest video, the one by Hans Moleman. This is an injustice to Barney's film about alcoholism, which is the best of the bunch. The jury includes Jay, Homer, Krusty, Marge, and Mayor Quimby. Mr. Burns bribes Krusty and Quimby to vote for him. Homer decides to change his vote to Barney's film, so Mr. Burns loses. What does Barney win? Why beer, of course! Mr. Burns later tries (unsuccessfully) to bribe the Academy Awards.



    My review could've been over there but guess what... It's not



    Homer and hans molemans movie was so funny. I like the part where McBain Comes up to the critic and threatens to kill him.



    When homer pulled out his burping trophy, and then the guy out-burped him, and bart handed him the trophy was awkwardly funny.



    this is a very special and well written episode

    So i call it a specially well written episode!



    I'm so creative



    Meatboys final rating is a 9.4



    Adios, Amigos!!!moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    A very funny episode with classic moments!

    By schoolsucks2005, Feb 17, 2008

    What a great episode this is! Springfield was becoming less popular by the minute, so they hosted a film festival for all the Springfieldians to get involved in. The critic, Jay Sherman came into Springfield to help them host it and Homer became one of the judges. Personally, my favourite was Hans Moleman's "Man Getting Hit By a Football". It was so funny watching Homer laugh out loud at it and it made me laugh too, and it still splits my sides today hearing Han's voice and seeing him getting hit in the groin. This episode had a pretty good plot too which I enjoyed. Watch this episode, because it is really funnymoreless

    1 1

  • 10

    One of the most laughter filled half hours I have ever spent in my whole life.

    By Iverson82094, Jan 27, 2008

    Springfield plays host to a film festival in which various townspeople display their original work. Barney presents "Pukahontas," a haunting meditation on his alcoholism; Apu directs "Bright Lights, Beef Jerky," the tale of a lonely man working the loneliest shift in a small-town Kwik-E-Mart. Two other important entries are Mr. Burns' autobiographical "A Burns for All Seasons" and Hans Moleman's "Man Getting Hit by Football." Despite receiving bribes from Mr. Burns, the judges choose to honor "Pukahontas" as the festival's best film. Luckily for Moleman, his film is remade as "Football in the Groin," a star vehicle for George C. Scott, and wins an Oscar for Best Picture.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    People give this great reviews but they refer to The Critic as the guy I forgot the name of. I am disgusted.

    By captaindillo456, Jul 13, 2007

    This is a really funny episode, it has funny moments, great movie parodys and Jay singing the oscar meyer weiner song. Something disapoints me about this episode, well two things. I can't beleive Matt Groening took his name off the episode, Mike and Al made him really rich and here he is badmouthing their show, far out I hate Groening sometimes, the second thing is, people don't know who the F*** Jay is. Can't people give it some credit as the Critic crossover episode, they just think he's a character the Simpsons universe created espicailly for this episode, those two things disgust me! This is a really good episode, you can watch it time and time again, without it ever getting old, just like The Critic.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    An often undercredited episode

    By slainmonkey, Nov 30, 2005

    In this rather funny episode has a cartoon cross over with Fox's short lived animated series 'The Critic'...The episode is about Springfield finding out how unpopular the town is so the town gathers for a meating to come up with ideas to attact tourists....after going though some really stupid ideas makes mentions of having a film festival which the town was suprised since they usually hate her ideas...as they try to organise the festive Jay Sherman (The Critic) is chosen to the on the board of voters for the best film....As half the characters make there own short film Barney makes the most clever and artistic, Mr Burns trys to bribe his way into winning.



    This was a very funny episode which much like the college episode is a laugh a second it just a tad on the silly side but not quite as good....a very good episode none of the less.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews