Dancin' Homer

Episode Reviews (16)

Great
313 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.5

    Good.

    By jmbsonic555, Oct 17, 2011

    The episode begins at Moe's bar where Homer is badgered by Moe and Barney to tell the story of his adventure in Capital City, Homer reluctantly agrees. His story begins with himself and his family, as they attend a Springfield Isotopes baseball game, as part of the nuclear power plant's employee appreciation night. They arrive to the ballpark in a charter bus driven by Otto. At the game Homer and the rest of the family are enjoying themselves and having a good time, when to Homer's dismay Mr. Burns sits right next to him in the stands. Surprisingly though, Homer and Mr. Burns strike it off and have a great time together at the game. In the bottom of the ninth, even with the winning run stepping to the plate for the Isotopes the crowd is clearly not into the game. Homer, unhappy about the crowd's lack of enthusiasm for their hometown team, steps out in front of his section in an effort to rally the crowd into a cheering frenzy. As "Baby Elephant Walk" plays in the background, Homer does a crazy little dance and as the crowd starts to wake up and cheer, the batter at the plate hits a walk-off home-run to win the game. In the parking lot after the game everyone crowds around Homer applauding him. Antoine "Tex" O'Hara, the owner of the Isotopes approaches Homer and asks him if he would like to be the full-time mascot for the Isotopes. Homer accepts and while he tries to decide what his mascot name should be, someone from the bus calls out and refers to him as Dancin' Homer, and the name sticks.



    Overall, an okay episode

    7.5 out of 10moreless

    0 0

  • 6.5

    fair

    By futuramarama, Aug 19, 2011

    what i liked- Bleeding Gums Murphy taking forever to sing the Star-Spangled Banner, the end to act one with the guy calling homer 'dancin homer' and homer telling him to shut up so he could think of a name, the ending, etc.

    meh, never cared too much for this one. it has some good moments but it is pretty boring by s2 standards, i think so at least. C+/B- or so as my final grade

    1 0

  • 7.5

    Not the best.

    By Gibson3445, Aug 15, 2008

    Homer tell the boys at moes about his time in the cityadn narrates what happens.Homer dances at a baseball game the team owner sees it and he gets a job dancing as a mascot. Soon he becomes very popular and is offered a job at capitol city so the simpsons go there and see how much bigger it is. Homer dances after the capitol city mascot and the fans boo him ,so realizes he isn't cut out for the big city. He quits and they go back to Sprinfield.



    It isn't close to the best of season 2. This episode got old. 7.5moreless

    1 1

  • 7.6

    Maybe I just need to watch this episode again, but it was not one of my favorites...

    By Iverson82094, Jan 28, 2008

    Homer recounts his brush with fame to his friends at Moes Tavern. The story unfolds. The family attends the baseball gathering held by the Nuclear Power Plant. Burns, of all people, sits next to Homer. To Homer's surprise, Burns buy's Homer a few drinks. Soon, Homer is drunk. With the Isotopes down by three runs, Homer excites the crowd with an impromptu dance and rallies the team to victory. The Isotopes manager gets Homer a job as the team mascot. He accepts, and leads the team on a winning streak. Homer is soon offered a job with the Capital City Capitals. The Simpsons sell everything and move to the big city. On his first night as team mascot, his small-town routine flops before the big city crowd and he is fired. Homer is happy because the folks at Moes were not interested in his failure, but hearing his adventures.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.4

    dancin homer

    By bender21345, Dec 15, 2007

    this was another great episode of season 2 sure it was not the best but is was not that bad so dont listen to most of those reviews this was a great episode and it is worth watching.



    the episode starts off when homer its next to mr.burns during a baseball gbame and during that game he gets so drunk he starts dancing and so the team makes him the maskciot of the baseball team and the motre homer dances more games the team wins until homer is promoted to capital city mascot but will he beable to step up to a new platemoreless

    0 0

  • 8.1

    Quite unlike many other episodes of The Simpson

    By dilan94, Aug 28, 2007

    As always, The Simpsons made me laugh, and this episode wasn't any diffrent. Homer becomes a mascot for Capital City, and it was so funny with jokes like the baseball that Bar wanted signed, and stuff like Mr. Burns throwing the pitch. That was funny, because Mr. Burns couldn't even get it over the plate, but the episode was diffrent because I don't think I've really seen a show or episode that shows a Mascot rising, then failing and how difficult it can be for them. The job is awesome, but atleast Homer went back to his usual self. Aslo jokes like the "expecting" baby thing for Maggie was so funny.



    The Simpsons didn't disappoint in this episode!moreless

    0 0

  • 8.3

    One of season 2's better episodes.

    By DaGamePhreak, Aug 13, 2007

    While at Moe's Homer tells the story about what happened to him in Capital City. One night at a Springfield Isotopes baseball game, Homer started dancing to pump up the crowed. The Isotopes went on to win the game, and Homer got a job as the team's mascot. Soon, Homer got bumped up to be a part-time mascot at Capital City, up along side the "Greatest Mascot There Is", according to Homer, the Capital City Goof Ball. Homer becomes an absolute flop in Capital City and gets fired.



    I thought Dancin' Homer was a great episode. Sub-consciously probably because I'm obsessed with baseball, but still, this was an entertaining episode that any Simpsons fan would respect.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    I didn't really like this episodes storyline, but I still thought that the episode was great.

    By hsimpson44, Jun 16, 2006

    The family attends a Springfield Isatopes game, and Homer gets drunk and dances for the team. He becomes an offical mascot for the team, boosting attendance and the team's play. But when Homer attempts to crack the big time - the big city ballpark of Capital City - he strikes out. Yet he finds to his suprise that the experience has benefited him after all since his friends now consider him intresting. The whole episode turned out to be a flash back sequence in which Homer was at Moe's telling his story. This episode was prouble my least favorite episode of Season 2.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    Homer tells a great story!

    By ozziefan, Feb 22, 2006

    Homers tells his fellow barflies on how he became a star in the world of sports mascots and then it just dissapeared.



    The ending was quite similar to Bart's "I didn't do it!" episode. In the end the audience stopped laughing or they weren't entertained.



    I wasn't so much laughing in this episode as I was fascinated by the story - Which is quite amazing! Normally the plot takes a back seat to the laughs and I find myself entertained.



    When there is more plot and less laughs its usually for me a weaker episode - but this is an exception.



    Top episode!

    moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews