Homer Goes to College

Episode Reviews (17)

Superb
266 votes
9.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    College Man

    By futuramarama, Jun 23, 2011

    We learn that Homer never finished college, or even went to college for that matter. So he goes and has to pass so he can keep his job at the Power Plant. He meets three nerds named Gary, Doug and Benjamin, but they are such nerds Homer tries to get them to change. But he inadvertently gets them kicked out of college. Now he must try to pass his class and get his new "friends" back into college. In the end Homer fails so he needs to retake the class.



    A very hilarious episode with a very interesting plot. Perfectmoreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Homer goes to College in this classic episode

    By Southparkfa, Jun 23, 2011

    In this episode, a suprise worker evaluation test is held at the Power Plant, and Homer fails it. This was hilarious as the replica work station manages to blow up even though there was no Nuclear material in it. He is then forced to go back to College in order to keep his job. He goes to Springfield University and takes Nuclear Physics 101. This was also hilarious because of this scene:



    Teacher: "Hello students, I see we have many new students, but as the old saying goes out with the old in with the nucleus"



    (everyone laughs except Homer)



    (Teacher drops papers; Homer laughs so hard, but he's the only one)



    This scene along with the scene where he puts his GED on fire make for a classic episode. Overall, one of my favorites and one well worth watching. 10/10 A+moreless

    1 0

  • 9.5

    Homer in College.

    By fenway98, Jun 12, 2010

    After failing a test for The Power Plant, homer must go back to college. He watches The School of Hard Knockers to prepare, and he sees how mean the dean is portrayed in the show. Homer therefore hates the dean at college, even though he is extremely nice.



    Anyways, during a test, homer runs outside and chases some squirrels. The dean sends him to a tutor. Benjamin, Doug and gary, three nerds. Homer soon becomes friends with them, and pulls many pranks with them. Like stealing Springfield A and M's pig mascot, and running over the dean. The dean forgives him, but Homer goes back to coleege.



    Overall Grade:A/95%moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    this is a great ep

    By cube2k8, May 16, 2010

    in this ep of the simpsons homer must go to college due to the fact he is underqualied for his postion and he tries to turn to his colective experince and he gets into a rowdy animal house and nearly ruins the life of his kind and he relies to get through it from three nerds that can help him pass. homer gets to keep his job and he passes. this was a good ep i thought and it had some funny moments. and that is why i gave the show what i gave it a 8.5 and i think this was a good start to season 5 with this ep and the eps before it in season 5moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    Homer has to go to college if he wants to keep his job at the nuclear plant.

    By Scottstopher28, Dec 30, 2008

    I liked this episode a lot. Had some very good and funny moments in it. However, I thought the story was a bit haphazard. There were about three different stories in this episode. Homer being tutored by the nerds, the nerds living with Homer and the plot to steal the pig mascot. Putting all of these together made a bit of a convoluted story. However, the few funny parts in this were hilarious.I especially liked how Homer thought that his Dean was out to get him, when the Dean was just an ordinary guy with no grudge. A very good Homer episode with clever one-liners and chock full of allusions.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.6

    meh

    By meatboys, Aug 30, 2008

    After learning that Homer is seriously underqualified for his own job, Mr. Burns enrolls him at Springfield University. While there, he befriends three nerds and accidentally gets them expelled.



    Al right, first off.. it's not exactly my favoirte episode



    actually it's my least favorite season 5 episode. I can't really compare to other classics of season 5



    It wasn't really funny, I mean the storyline



    The funiest part is when homer causes the meltdown in the simulation, that was funny.



    I want the box!



    Anyway as I said not very excellent, So I will give the episode "Homer goes to college" A ratin g of 7.6moreless

    2 0

  • 9.7

    Isn't this the way college really is?!

    By tominrochester, Apr 22, 2008

    Awesome episode. So many funny parts, but my favorite has to be when Homer first sees the 3 nerds and starts teasing them with chants of "nerds! nerds!" When Marge reprimands him, he goes into a common mode where he explains things to people as if they were two. "Marge, in college there are two types of people-nerds and jocks. As a jock, it's my "responsibility" (!) to make fun of nerds." Priceless. Umm...apparently my review needs to be longer, so I will leave you with this great chant- "I am so smart, S-M-R-T, I mean, S-M-A-R-T!" the end !moreless

    0 0

  • 9.3

    Amazing

    By Iverson82094, Jan 23, 2008

    When it is revealed that Homer is grossly unqualified to be a safety inspector at the Springfield Nuclear Power Plant, he goes to Springfield University to study nuclear physics. While there, Homer befriends a group of nerds and encourages them to steal a rival school's mascot pig. The prank backfires, getting the nerds expelled. In attempt to get them reinstated, Homer devises another brilliant prank. This one lands their dean in traction, but when Homer comes clean about the first prank, the nerds are once again allowed back on campus. And it's just in time, too, since finals are coming up. After a marathon study session, Homer still flunks nuclear physics, but his new friends hack into the school computer and change his grade to an "A.".moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Go Simpsons!

    By AangPhantom777, Dec 20, 2007

    Another great installment. Loved it. Homer going back to college was such a great episode, and a great episode idea. I have the Season 5 boxset, and I've watched this episode over 200 times! I laugh so hard when Homer calls the dean and says, "You are stupid" or something and then the dean looks out the window and see's Homer on a payphone and says, "Homer, is that you?" then Homer screams and runs away! That was really funny! So so funny! I couldn't have made this episode better! Watch it! HIghly reccomended with the rest of Season 5! Thanks for reading my review!moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews