Treehouse of Horror III

Episode Reviews (18)

Great
250 votes
8.9
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.0

    this was a great treehouse of horror

    By cube2k8, May 15, 2010

    in this annual treehouse of horror ep number 3 it starts off with a killer krusty doll that homer purchase for barts birthday and it starts to try to kill homer in the tub and then they realize it was just turned to evil. and the second part was about homer who is like king kong and it tells the story of like king kong but homer is the ape it was a good story i thought. and it has some humor in it and the third was the zombies in the town when bart goes to read a book from the restricted section and all the people are becoming zombies and killing others this was a good treehouse of horrormoreless

    0 0

  • 8.0

    THOH III

    By futuramarama, Jan 10, 2010

    The Simpsons have a Halloween party and tell 3 stories:



    Clown Without Pity- For Bart's birthday, Homer needs to get him a present at the last minute because he forgot. He ends up getting a Krusty Doll that is seemingly evil and wants to kill Homer.



    King Homer- A parody of King Kong. Not my favorite, it is actually my least favorite. Not very funny.



    Dial Z For Zombies- Bart raises the undead and now the Simpsons need to get rid of all the zombies before it is too late.



    The first and last segments are the best but the third is weak IMOmoreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    "The Simpsons" continues its annual Halloween tradition with the third installment of the "Treehouse of Horror" series.

    By meathead704, Oct 19, 2009

    In my opinion, this episode is the best of the "Treehouse of Horror" series since the original. There are a number of reasons for that. Having the episode set during a Halloween party is a great idea. Seeing who is dressed in what costume was hysterical in and of itself. Another great point about this episode is that all three stories work. The first story has a number of great laughs. "King Homer" is yet another great "Simpsons" parody (and has an ending scene you won't soon forget). The highlight of the third story was Bart reciting the hysterical spells.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.5

    Awesome and funny

    By Vaughn104, Mar 08, 2009

    This is the 3rd treehouse of horror.This episode includes three stories as well of the other treehouses of horror. This one consists of, "Clown without Pity","King Homer" and finally, "Dial Z For Zombies" The first one (Clown without pity) is a parody of a twilight zone episode. King homer is a parody of King Kong and Dial Z for zombies is a parody of a Steven King Book. Now the episode is basically good but the best segment would have to be Clown without pity.King homer was funny and okay.Dial Z for Zombies is very strange and funny at the same time.I give this episode a 7 out of 10-VaughnD Productionsmoreless

    0 0

  • 10

    My 100th Review! Woo-Hoo!

    By exterminator25, Apr 08, 2008

    Clown Without Pity - Homer forgets barts birthday and gets him a cursed Krusty doll that tries to kill Homer whenever he can *with hilarious outcomes* Homer then burys the Krusty Doll, but it comes back and Marge believes him. She calls the sompany and they switch the Krusty Doll from evil to good! King Homer - Marge is recruited on board Mr Burns' ship to go to Ape Island. Marge is offored as a sacrifice for Homer,. but he doesn't kill or eat her. Then he is captured and put on broadway. He escapes, kidnaps Marge and climbs the Empire State Building *but can't get past the 2nd floor* Marge then marries him.



    Dial Z For Zombie - Bart needs to review another book for his book report, but accidently gets a supernatural book which he tries to use to raise snowball 1 from the grave but raises the dead! The family try to get to the libary with Homer killing Zombies along the way and they save the daymoreless

    0 0

  • 9.9

    Treehouse of Horror does it again!!!

    By Iverson82094, Jan 23, 2008

    In this year's scarifying special, the Simpsons gather for a Halloween party and exchange ghost stories. In the first tale, told by Lisa, Homer buys Bart a talking Krusty doll with a few glitches: It tries to kill Homer with a knife and strangle him to death. No one believes that the doll is really trying to kill Homer, but when Marge calls the toy company's customer service numbers, it is revealed that the doll was accidentally set to 'evil' instead of 'good.' In the next story, told by Grandpa, Homer plays King Kong to Marge's Fay Wray. Mr. Burns plays a maniacal millionaire who plunders the jungle in search of mythical giant gorilla. The gorilla falls in love with the millionaire's beautiful assistant and carries her to the top of the Empire State building. After a messy confrontation with the army, the gorilla and the girl get married and live happily ever after. Finally, Bart tells a story in which a spell from a book of witchcraft bring Springfield's dead to life. The only thing that can send them back to their graves is the right spell.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Simpsons of the Dead

    By sh811a, Nov 14, 2007

    This is another one of the Treehouse of Horror episodes I really like because it has a couple of my personal favorate anthology stories.



    Killer Krusty Doll: Obviously a parody on a "Twlight Zone" anthology tale and "Child's Play" this I thought was really funny. Two of my favoate jokes would have to be Homer's trip to the chinese magic shop little in homage to "Gremlins" and both him and the shopkeeper have some sort of conversation interplay where the shopkeeper would tell Homer about certain other deals but then says it is cursed. Also Homer running out of the bathtub naked when the Krusty Doll attempts to kill him.



    King Homer: This is my sixth favorate tale. Everything about it is just nailed right. It was a great idea using black and white coloring to really give the tale that nostalgia feeling. But most of all the use of Homer as King Kong, he has no dialog in this tale except for gestures and certain noises which just make it all the more funny because it's sort of silent comidy. I couldn't help but crack up when we discover how far he truely scaled that sky scraper, which I'll just say resulted in the most unspectacular and pathetic climax I've ever seen.



    Dial Z for Zombie: This is my second favoarite tale in the anthology series, may'be it's because I'm a fan of the George Romero zombie movie series (of course two of them Night and Dawn of the dead are both my personal favoarate movies) I'll just say this is the funniest parody of zombie films I've seen since "Shawn of the Dead". There are just a lot of things to really like about this, from those little in-jokes, the Necronomicon like book Bart gets could be a little injoke to "The Evil Dead", going to the Pet Cemetary to try and resurrect Snowball 1 well that's obvious Steven King's "Pet Cemetary", and of course with Homer handling a shotgun "Terminator 2". In fact that's actually the most exciting and best thing in the whole episode plus the only real time I've ever seen Homer kick some butt for once. The highlight of course of the episode is Homer killing the Ned Flanders zombie and just saying a memorable quote, "Flanders was a zombie?" it was just comic gold I cracked up and cheared when that happened, all I can say is oh well Flanders had it coming.



    But of course who could forget when Homer killed the zombie versions of historical figures George Washington, Albert Enstin, and William Shakespere, how the heck they could of all been in that school at once is anyones guess but I wouldn't bother because it was just funny seeing Homer shoot down and spout quotes along the way, you go Homer.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    "He was a zombie?"

    By sfan64, Oct 30, 2007

    Here is my review for this funny episode of "The Simpsons". It's the third installment of the Treehouse Of Horror anthology that's been made for almost every season of the show. Anyway, the first segment of the episode (as told by Lisa) is called "Clown Without Pity", and it's about a doll of Krusty the Clown that Homer buys for Bart's birthday and it turns out to be evil; it tries to kill Homer until we see why it was evil (The switch on it's back was set to "evil"). The second segment (as told by Grampa) is called "King Homer", and it's mainly a Simpson version of the classic movie "King Kong" with Homer playing the giant ape and Marge playing the heroine. The third segment (as told by Bart) is called "Dial 'Z' For Zombies", and it's about Bart reciting a magic spell from an old book that awakens the dead, and some of the people of Springfield become zombies as well. This episode has one of my favorite quotes in the show, and I crack up each time I hear it:



    Bart: "Dad! You killed the zombie Flanders!"

    Homer: "He was a zombie?"



    This is one of the best "Treehouse Of Horror" episodes ever made in the series, and it's absolutely hilarious to watch and enjoy.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    Very funny episode. Could of been better, but still good.

    By starman100, Aug 04, 2007

    "Clown Without Pity"

    Very funny segment...there's not much more to say really. It's a very simple episode. 6.9/10



    "King Homer"

    Probably the most boring segment of any Treehouse.. episode. Probably only good if you've bothered to see the original King Kong film. But I haven't, and I might not bother to watch this segment again. Of course it isn't bad (No Simpson's episode from this season is), it's just not one of the best. 4.9/10



    "Dial "Z" for Zombies"

    Very entertaining. We finally get a rare insight into the death of 'Snowball I'. 7.1/10



    It's good. Not the best Treehouse.. episode, but definitely not the worst.moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews