The Triangle

Show Reviews (23)

Great
352 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.7

    Very short.

    By farscapefanuk, Apr 30, 2007

    After seeing all of this series i found that the ending was very rushed and un-satifiying almsot asthough the writers didn't know how to end the show on a good note. The first two parts were pretty good and so was the thrid part up until they rushed the story and came out with alternative universe or reality. Overall this was quite a good mini series i think that this show could have been a proper series and could have run weakly over a course of a lot of episodes. Anyway that is not the case, the show does have a good cast and the story is very intresting. Just be prepared for the ending. But other than that the show was fairly good definatly work watching if you are a SCIFI fan.moreless

    0 0

  • 3.7

    Wow, that was complete disappointment!

    By neomichel, Apr 02, 2007

    First time when I heard Bryan Singer was going to shoot the mini series named "The Triangle" I was on cloud nine. It took me a while to get this show on DVD in my county. Unfortunately, the excitement was replaced with disappointment. The cast looked promising. Sam Neill, Lou Diamond Phillips and Catherine Bell directed by Bryan Singer. The problem was not with the cast, but with the script. The plot of missing ships and planes was all right, but the writer made up a ridiculous explanation to all that. Electromagnetic anomaly caused by scientists in 1940’s? I do not think so. This is nature! There are lots of similar or totally different anomalies all over the world. They are not caused by humans!

    This is one big minus for the show and the huge minus is the conclusion of the show.

    They magically fixed the problem by not doing anything and the time returned, corrected everything like it never existed and only those five people involved in finding the reason of the anomaly remembered those two realities. I am certain Bryan Singer could have avoided this screenplay and did not have to stain his reputation.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    One of the best mini series out there.

    By sfviewer, Sep 16, 2006

    If there's one thing that's not good about this is that it has a look of something that was made for tv. It could be blamed for the small budgets that are used for tv productions. But the thing that stands out here is the storyline of The Triangle. It's made by Bryan Singer of X-Men and Dean Devlin of Stargate and Independence Day. It's a very fresh look at the Bermuda Triangle myth. Some sort of scientific subplot is thrown in to make it interesting. The main plot is about a group of people hired by a billionaire to figure out what's going on inside the Triangle, it's a really great mini series I've seen in a while.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Fab... What more can I say... Watch it!

    By frgareth, Jul 09, 2006

    The latest in a growing line of slick miniseries produced by the Sci-Fi Channel, Dean Devlin and Bryan Singer\'s The Triangle draws from a number of standard sci-fi story elements in an effort to provide an original take on a tired enigma. While the miniseries concerns itself with a mystery long celebrated as unsolvable, The Triangle keeps itself from descending into maddening vagueness by demanding concrete answers from both its characters and its story. That\'s not to say this story is not enigmatic, but this is a brain-teasing puzzle with a surprising solution. Writer Rockne S. O\'Bannon should be commended. The Bermuda Triangle here is more intriguing than it has ever been, kept entertaining by the slow revealing of the shadowy sources of its power. The threat escalates as the film progresses and scientific theories--ranging from wormholes to alternate realities to exotic matter--are blended into an engaging, reality-threatening cataclysm of apocalyptic proportion. At the outset, single ships are threatened but by the time of the paradoxical climax, the globe hangs in the balance. The inevitable time-travel is elegantly handled amidst all of this and the endgame is both intelligent and stunning.



    The acting here is above average, too, and each of the leads elevates not only their character\'s role but the film\'s believability as well. Eric Stoltz, Bruce Davison, Catherine Bell, and Michael E. Rodgers are excellent as a team of unique experts in unusual fields of study. Keeping the story emotionally grounded is Lou Diamond Phillips, whose individualized subplot allows us to experience the film\'s reality-altering oddness through the eyes of an everyman. The miniseries is beautifully produced, nicely photographed, and the considerable visual effects are always impressive. More importantly, those effects are used primarily to service the story\'s intricacies, not as a means of distracting from plot holes. In fact, The Triangle\'s most serious flaws are those extended scenes echoing science fiction clich�s for suspense or drama, chunks of the narrative that will seem all-too familiar--and perhaps, as a result, all-too dull--for fans of the genre. Conspiracy plotlines wear thin too quickly, the quirks of Davison\'s psychic irritate as they escalate, and Sam Neill\'s obsessed magnate is instantly forgettable. At those moments when the film is successful, however, it plays off of our curiosity and becomes quite gripping. Viewers have set-out on this sort of strange sea voyage before, but Devlin and Singer manage to make it smart and sexy. The Triangle does make something old new again; the three-part miniseries takes a host of familiar pseudo-scientific theories and science fiction themes and finds a way to recombine them into something that feels, for the most part, fresh.

    moreless

    0 0

  • 8.4

    I love the Mini Series But None of my friends has ever heard of the show or watch it.

    By MimiZBaybe, Jul 01, 2006

    I love The Triangle but I think they could make more previews on diffrent channels because none of my friends heard or watch the show. I am so alone. LoL But anyways, I think they could make it more exciting and "out" so more people could watch it. They only commercial that I saw for The Triangle is for there DVD..

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Not what I expected

    By Susie-Gibbs, Jun 03, 2006

    It's funny I have looked forward to watching this show, I thought with such a strong cast, it really did stand a chance, but I was disapointed with the whole thing.



    It jumped from one scene to another, sometimes making little or no sense whats so ever.



    Catherine Bell is a great actress, and yet she was so meak and mild in this.

    I was expecting perhaps a little too much, btu when you think Bermuda Triangle you start to think, Ohhh a good movie here.



    I am not saying don't watch it, because it is watchable, but the trouble is it is not excitting, so very quickly my mind started to wander.



    A strong cast, headed by some great talent, just such a weak script.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.8

    Very interesting, very interesting. Odd, but interesting.

    By zackrules, Mar 05, 2006

    This mini-series was very good. Very intriguing show. The topic of the Brimuta Triangle is a very controversial topic. There are many different theories of the Brimuta Triangle. This mini-series did a great job of incorporating many of those theories into one story. It was great! From the beginning of the mini-series, I was hooked. I could not wait until the next part (but obviously I had to). The Triangle was well played out and well acted. I was very interested and intrigued before about the Brimuta Triangle and I am happy that they finally made something that people like me can talk about. It puts a visual on something that was only talked about before. It was definitely amazing.moreless

    2 0

  • 7.1

    I've seen worse.

    By eleuthra, Dec 17, 2005

    The three part mini-series, "The Triangle" had its ups and downs, but for the most part was not a bad effort for a M.F.T.V.M. Some of the special effects were pretty good for the small screen and some were downright ridiculous. But the main thing is, I think, they gave it a good, college try. Eric Stoltz always brings respectiblity to whatever he's in and his character's complexities were well fleshed out. The rest of the cast did a fine job, too. But here's what I don't fully understand... This 6-hour spectacle must have cost a great deal of money. It's hard for me to imagine that the people who put money into this got a payback. Let's face it, it's not the superbowl. They ain't selling commercial time for a million bucks a shot. However, compared to the ill-fated "Poseidon Adventure" remake and the laughable "Category 7, The End Of The World," "The Triangle" was cinematic brilliance.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    "The Triangle" is a personal favorite

    By moobell, Dec 16, 2005

    "The Triangle" was a great mini series. It had me at the edge of my seat the whole time it aired! The cast and the special effects were great. This is a mini series i would see over and over again. I hope one day they put it to DVD!

    1 0

Load More Reviews