The Tudors

Show Reviews (51)

Great
2,376 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.5

    Always compelling

    By HiRez, May 01, 2014

    While a lot of people will quibble with historical accuracy, most of the broad strokes here, the characters and interactions, and the timeline, are in fact accurate. Sure, the women and probably the men are more beautiful than they would have been then (by today's standards). I'm sure some things were enhanced (fireworks) and others filled in, which is understandable because there are not records that accurately record the minute by minute lives of these characters. Personally I didn't mind looking past that kind of detail.



    What I found was 4 seasons of always-compelling drama. It's heavily weighted toward court intrigue and machinations vs. action. There's only a couple battle scenes in the whole series, if that's your thing. For me the writers did a great job of always having a number of interesting story lines going, and there were very few episodes that lulled and left me disappointed.



    I think season 2 with the Boleyns was the best but I missed Cardinal Wolsey from season 1, he was a great character and none of the chancellors who came after were as interesting. Also the "I'm arresting you for treason" and subsequent executions happened maybe a little to often, but historically, that was actually the case during Henry's reign so it does serve to constantly remind you "don't mess with the though people never learn. The acting can be a bit over the top at times, but again, that may be more accurate than might normally be believed. These were larger than life characters in real life and they are portrayed that way on screen. The "love" scenes can get a bit soft-core porny at times, I don't have a problem with nudity, just seemed a bit gratuitous (probably intentionally).



    Anyway, definitely worth watching the whole series, available on Netflix at this time (2014).moreless

    0 0

  • 9.0

    A masterpiece of epic, majestic splendor.

    By AnthonyHerman1, Jun 26, 2012

    Its interesting how people demand shows or movies based on history to be as accurate as possible. While I do not argue the accuracy of the show/movie in question I argue the accuracy of the history itself. For entertainment purposes being accurate is not always the best course of action, based on pure entertainment alone "The Tudors" is a masterpiece. Starting with season 1 shows Henry as a young handsome King full of life and vigor.(Which according to history Henry was in fact handsome and very athletic). Jonathan Rhys Meyers (the main star here) does a fantastic job as a young Henry VIII who shows himself as a rash humanist but also has a short tempered and vengeful wrath of a King. Sam Neill as Cardinal Wolsey, works well because of the harmless exterior but darker much more dangerous under the surface approach he portrays. Catherine of Aragon is a strong character as well as you can truly feel the abandoned and suffering trials she endures but remains strong to her convictions and loyalty to the King despite his mistreatment of her. The rise of Ann Boleyn and her family and the downfall of Wolsey was a great way to end the season. It stayed that way throughout the rest of the series. Henry despite being a cold brutal monster at times shows flashes of love and compassion to his family and those close to him even as he ages and his leg gets worse. There were moments of true emotion in this series, the sadness felt when Queen Jane Seymour dies, the tragic life of Princess Mary and the hell she was put through, which led to her unfair title as "Bloody" Mary. Henry finally waging a war and winning honor and glory on the field, the sad fate of Sir Thomas Moore and the tug of war between the Pope and Henry as he broke from the church. There are many twists and turns, almost makes you wish you were there to see it actually happen. There may have been too many steamy scenes at times, But the violence was acceptable and not overdone. The sets and costumes were near perfect as was the music. Going back to the history and accuracy, these events happened over 500 years ago and history has never been trustworthy "written by the victors remember that" so who is to say that this is not close to accuracy how will we ever truly know.moreless

    1 0

  • 7.0

    I found it really hard to come up with a rating number for this show because some of it is excellent and some, quite the opposite.

    By Lady_Lancaster, Oct 17, 2011

    Most people know at least something about the Tudor Dynasty. About Henry VIII, his six wives and all the intrigue and upheaval that surrounded them. Henry's politicial alliances and the sheer number of his dalliances with other women are not so well known. Most accounts of Henry seem to focus on Anne Boleyn and Catherine of Aragon; the rest just getting a passing mentions.



    One cannot accuse "The Tudors" of missing out detail, but I don't think that every single one of Henry's sexual conquests needs to be shown on the screen, nor do I think it's necessary to keep going over the same thing in order to get the point across.



    For me, the acting, for the most part, was appalling. It sounded very much like the actors were reading their lines and were more than a little bored in places. I don't blame them because I was too.



    The lead actor did a very credible job, as did 'Catherine of Aragon'. Sam Neill sounded like Mr. Collins from "Pride and Prejudice" and didn't make Woolsey sinister enough, even though Mr. Neill is an excellent actor. The actress who portrayed Anne Boleyn was far too attractive. All contemporary portraits of Anne show that she was a plain looking woman. The show doesn't sufficiently highlight how she managed to manipulate Henry and use his love for her so cunningly either. It hints at it, but doesn't quite get there. The extreme power of Anne Boleyn should never be underplayed, neither should the fact that Henry was not exactly what you would call a nice man.



    I was ok with the first season, but became very bored after that. I know the story of The Tudors very well and I wish the emphasis had been spread out a little more rather than placing the focus in two or three areas.



    All in all, not bad, but given the budget and the length, it could have been a lot better.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    A fabulous historical show, there really should be more of the them. Very well written and riveting each week. A strong cast of actors with magnificent sets and outside filming. Quite saucey at times, but they were like that back then!

    By Linnyjane, Apr 03, 2011

    A truly great show with great actors playing each part. Johnathon Rhys Meyer is mesmerising as King Henry, well done on fabulous acting, showing Henry could be loving, caring and kind as well as showing a truly terrifying side to his personality also. I really hope that Michael Hirst continues writing more episodes as The Tudors was more than just King Henry VIII. It would be fab if he continued the story on from Henry's death. I could certainly watch this all over again without any series breaks this time round! I thought the last episode was so touching, showing how age was beginning to effect Henry's judgement and we was beginning to reflect more on the decisions he had made during his life - it made me cry anyway!moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    The Tudors

    By TrueTvWatcher, Mar 13, 2011

    The Tudors may not have followed history as we know it perfectly, however this series was a perfect reimagining of the story of King Henry the VIII. I really enjoyed watching every episode of each season of this series because the actors were perfect in their roles, the major and minor plot lines all moved forwad at a perfect pace, and thesets and costumes where spectacular. It was really refreashing to see a modern look at life during these times and what young Royalty would have been doing during these times. I really enjoyed the awesome actors who played their characters perfectly. This series is entertaining because it mixes action, drama, intrigue, character and plot development. I wish there was a spinoff series about the events of King Henry the VIII's children's reigns! I will watch this show in my yearly rotation because it is perfect from start to finish!!!!!!!moreless

    2 0

  • 9.0

    Henry Tudor

    By SMGslayer97, Feb 20, 2011

    The king of England was never so good. I've been fascinated by the story of Henry VIII for quite a long time so when I heard they were making a tv show about Henry I was thrilled but I knew there was a lot to live up to. There is after all a reason they chose him of all the different European monarchs to make a serious about. They do it well too. The cast the perfect king, I adore the set and costume work, they make good but more importantly interesting casting and story choices. The try and work on different sorts of stories, both focusing on the political aspects of Henry's time on the throne and the personnel aspects and choices of his reign. The show is well worth the watch even if you don't know Henry's story but so the better if you do. Accuracy sometimes takes a hit but it's actually more accurate then you'd think and even when they do deviate it's usually only with liberties like time, ago, and to condense. It's a real addictive show, once you start you won't be able to stop. Death, betrayal, sex, intrigue and it's all based on real events. I'd like to see tv shows that aren't based on real stories try to do better. You can't make some of this stuff up.moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    One word-Amazing!

    By archmaz, Jan 29, 2011

    Shows i watch are typically not drama, actually other than this show i don't really watch drama TV shows.



    I like action, comedy, and mystery. This show has none of that. Don't get me wrong!! I may sound like i hate the show but it is the exact opposite. I find this show to be a break from all those things. Although it has none of those attributes it does have a lot of drama (the good kind), and amazing acting, and incredible writing to make one of the best shows ever created! I cant even describe just how amazing the acting and writing in this show is. I watch a lot of TV, and i can say that this show has the best acting and best writing i've ever seen. Even though i know whats going to happen because it is based on King Henry VIII, every episode leaves me jaw dropped and begging for more.



    Even though King Henry was a horrible person you hate to love him! Jonathan Rhys Meyers plays him so amazingly that if u seen him walking down the street you might just bow down and kiss his ring because he is just that convincing!



    If there is one show you should watch it would be this one most definetly.moreless

    4 1

  • 8.0

    The first two seasons were the best!

    By filmgoer4life, Jan 05, 2011

    Very much like the story of Henry VIII himself, the real intrigue and scandal of the story is in the whole Anne Boleyn affair. Once the pursuit, seduction and ensuing drama take place (and conclude by the end of Season 2), you feel like "What's next?"



    As a student of the period I excused some of the historical inaccuracies (dramatic license I suppose) so that did not bother me.



    Middway through Season 3 I told a friend of mine who also watched the show that this cannot go any longer especially since they seem to focus the story on Henry. What would have been interesting would be to see a little more about Elizabeth I - the show is "The Tudors" after all and not just "Henry Tudor" :) By the time I reached the finale I felt like I was watching more out of an obligation to completing the series than anything else. Maybe if it had the EI I would have been more engaged. But so be it. It was a fun ride while it lasted!moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Sarah Bolger

    By thereisaplant, Sep 20, 2010

    Huge fan of the show and of Sarah Bolger, playing Mary. She has another film coming out later this year called Iron Cross, which stars Roy Scheider. She plays a young girl who falls in love with the lead character during the flashbacks to WWII. Her character is also supposed to be a heroine, although I'm not sure what this entails. Her performance looks amazing on the trailer I've been able to download online (you can find it if you google "Iron Cross," it's all over online!), and I really can't wait for its release!!! Sarah Bolger, you surely rock!!moreless

    0 2

  • 7.0

    The lives of the English royal family of centuries past.

    By Lokar, Sep 08, 2010

    This series is a dark, powerful portrayal of the family who ruled England in the 16th Century. The acting and writing is often excellent. I am aware that the producers of the show are somewhat bound by the fact that the characters are already defined for them. Still, I did think it was a bit difficult to find any truly likable people from whose vantage point to 'see' the story. The story as depicted here suffers a little for not having much light creep in. Henry VIII is, as ever, a force of nature, and it is truly impressive to watch him careen out of control. It's worth it to give this show a try.moreless

    2 1

Load More Reviews