The Venture Brothers

Show Reviews (92)

Great
2,333 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.5

    Like an Easter Egg hunt...

    By royfeni, Apr 21, 2014

    find episodes. What's on Cartoon Channel now are old episodes from season 1. It's a little tedious to have to go searching every month through late-night night listings of shows (if you can find the listings) to see if there are any shows from seasons you haven't seen yet. Saw the first two seasons on Netflix, but it looks like I'd have to buy all the others from Amazon on DVD. Really disappointing to find that nothing after season 1 is available on Cartoon Channel till who knows when. Great show, awful marketing.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    A great show

    By ericmontefusc, Jul 15, 2013

    This is one of best shows I ever seen it has great humor, it's not a bunches of fart jokes like family guy, it a great show and underrated by most people

    4 0

  • 10

    I dare you to Marathon this show.

    By patrickbelecc, Jun 04, 2013

    I love this show, You can't help falling in love with these characters and their situations. I've missed it for year only seeing the odd episode once in a while. I then started watching clips on YouTube and found them Hilarious so I decided to watch it from first to last over the weekend and just fell in love with it even more. I marathoned that shit and it was great. Love the first episode of season 5, can't wait for more.moreless

    1 0

  • 10

    Indescribable Awesomeness

    By jamesmark25, Sep 12, 2012

    I grew up watching Cartoon Network, since I was about 12 (I'm 28 now) and when I stumbled upon the Venture Brothers I fell in love. I used to watch Johnny Quest (the original) and The Real Adventures of Johnny Quest (the short lived re-vamp) and other Action Toons on Cartoon Network and now that I am an adult, and my old favorites (South Park, Simpsons, Futurama, etc) are getting boring, I struck viewing gold with The Venture Brothers. The ridiculous characters and the even more ridiculous plots fill my heart with Joy, giving me enough to remember the old action cartoons I loved coupled with the smartass, vulgar, (and often times, offensive) humor to please the cynical, failure of an adult that I am. The got renewed for seasons 4 and 5 and I simply cannot wait.moreless

    2 1

  • 9.0

    Always worth watching.

    By the_rabid_gamer, May 13, 2011

    Can't even find the words to explain why this show works. When I saw the trailers for it I though Johnny Quest parody, which it is, but oh so much more.



    Funny comedey. Very quoteable.



    Awesome Action. When or if they ever get to it. Not imortant to have action in an action show it seems.



    Interesting Character study on people who for some reason or other suck at life.



    This show is always a must buy on day one of DVD releases.



    Only gave it a 9 because on Cartoon Network, eight episodes a seasons isn't enough. What is this Britain? Oh and they killed Henchman 24.



    Move this to Fox, give it a 24 episode season, replace that horrible Cleveland Show. (A Man can dream right?)moreless

    2 0

  • 10

    A Show that simply knows what's hilarious.

    By irkillroy, May 13, 2011

    This is one of those shows that pop up every once in a while that only a few people catch because of the lack of publicity that eventually turns into a cult classic.



    Who ever hasn't seen this Series should take the time to watch it with an open mind and have a willingness to laugh. The idiotic brothers Venture and a failed super scientist father go with body guard Brock Sampson in a total rip-off of the Johnny Quest style "family" adventures. The plot development is there as is charachter development, which includes serious plot twists and dramatic moments that would make even the most seasoned day-time soap envious.moreless

    6 0

  • 9.0

    Funny show! Please give us Season 4 soon!

    By mikasapphire, May 13, 2011

    This show is down right hysterical. I purchased Season 1 and Season 2 on DVD and found myself laughing so hard, I needed my asthma inhaler to get through the episodes. Every episode is funny and all the crazy charachters have memorable lines like Monarch "Release the butterflies..okay, who's job was it to feed the butterflies?", Dr. Girlfriend "killing your arch-enemy on Christmas Eve...is your gift to me?!?!", Dr. Venture "Why is that everytime we try to get somewhere we get waylaid by jackassery?", Brock Sampson "of course I'm freaked out, a Sasquatch is something I never seen before!" and my all time favorite..Dr. Orpheus "Bring me my blue windbreaker!!!" The funny thing is, nobody knows I watch this show, so I laugh to myself.moreless

    5 0

  • 8.5

    A Johnny Quest spoof that took a life of it's own.

    By tangerine_tea, May 13, 2011

    The Venture Bros. is a gem. Funny yet intricately-plotted, the show oozes with creativity. What once started out as a spoof and satire of old adventures shows like Johnny Quest now is a show that shines with originality. The animation is a step up from most other [adult swim] shows and the art style is rather stylish. The characters are all very identifiable. From the cynical Dr.Venture to the vain The Monarch, every character has it's own personality traits. Humorously, the show often forgets about it's titular characters. Unlike most other [as] shows, the Venture Bros. is very story-driven. Season after season brings exciting plot twists and revelations. Let's hope season 4 is just as good as the previous ones.moreless

    5 0

  • 7.1

    Mixed Reactions...

    By Cyberdene, Nov 04, 2010

    I have to say that Season 1 was great, Season 2 was so so, and Season 3 is starting to bore me to death. Venture Brothers is a show that started out in 2004 with a Pilot episode that aired on Adult Swim. When I first watched the Pilot I thought this was an awful cartoon. It wasn't until later when the second episode aired that I begin to enjoy the show somewhat. I can't really say that I relate to any of the characters because to be honest? Venture Brothers have allot of dull characters. The Venture Brothers Hank and Dean Venture are pretty much the stars of the show depending on which episode it is. The show might as well have more than two protagonist. There really isn't ONE basic story for the show, since each episode is different. Some episodes are flash backs of what happened to the characters "years ago". Sadly Season 3 has about 4 flash back episodes and only one episode that was actually any good. If you asked me what are my true thoughts of the show I'd say Season 1 is still the best. Who do I hate the most? The Monarch, Dr. Girlfriend, Dr. Venture, Triana, and those lame murderous Moppins. Basically I dislike half of the cast members. Dr. Girlfriend is always yelling, Dr. Venture is either complaining about something and I've always hated the "careless types". Triana is a boring wannabe goth girl that is extremely stereotyped on so many levels its almost funny. She talks real slow, and dresses like a cross over of "Emo and Goth" when I first saw the stripy outfit on the chick from Beetle Juice I thought nothing of it. Then again the girl from Beetle Juice isn't boring except for the one in the movie. Sooo Venture Brothers is half good and half bad. Its not really a show it just doesn't really win me over like most people. Maybe if a Season 4 is being worked on for 2011 or so things will get better. Most shows start to fail after the first two seasons.moreless

    0 4

Load More Reviews