The Walking Dead

Show Reviews (239)

Great
6,727 votes
8.7
  • SORT BY:
  • 7.0

    The Ultimate Movie Review! -- @tss5078

    By Tss50782625, Aug 10, 2014

    I did not want to get into AMC's The Walking Dead, because it is what I like to call, addictive television. I try to avoid shows like this, but I was at a friends house the other week and there were a group of people watching it, so I really didn't have a choice and I got sucked into it's grip. The reason I don't like to watch shows like this is because it's based on a book, which usually means, the show is amazing and very well written until they reach the end of the book and have to come up with new stuff on their own. At that point, the quality of the story quickly diminishes and the show either gets boring or goes way over the top. As I watched the first two seasons of The Walking Dead over the course of a couple weeks, I found that the same was true for it. The first season was an absolute delight and I hated the fact that it was only six episodes. The second season started out pretty good also, but that's when the book must have ended and things changed. This powerful, exciting show became extremely predictable, with every episode featuring about forty minutes of talking and five minutes of action. So, if I was so turned off by it at that point, why am I watching the new episodes right now? Addictive television! Now that I know the characters and their stories I want answers to the same four questions as everyone else. Who is fighting with who, who is fucking who, how will the story end, and the big one, who lives and who dies. Similar to soap operas, shows like the Walking Dead, for the most part, aren't well written, are extremely predictable, and don't really develop much after the initial impact. I didn't see a single episode in the second or third season that I enjoyed as much as I did every episode from season 1. I am nevertheless invested in the show and what happens now, and to be honest it's not that it's a bad show. I really like Sarah Wayne Callies from Prison Break and Norman Reedus's character is the one guy who really evolved into someone who fascinates me. The action scenes, as well as the effects are terrific, and they do have a pretty talented cast. It's my hope that as it continues to gain popularity, that the writers turn to other sources, perhaps the author of the book or even some fan fiction for alternative ideas on how to keep things fresh and interesting, because right now, aside from the question of who lives and who dies, there isn't much there to attract new viewers to the show. If you like dark stories, horror, and end of the world type fiction, I'd give the show a try, but if you're a newbie whose thinking about getting into the Walking Dead, I warn you, the first season is amazing and will suck you in, but after that, as of yet, it hasn't gotten any better.moreless

    0 0

  • 8.5

    Decent Zombie Show

    By demariusbridg, Jul 25, 2014

    I've never really been a fan of zombie films because they're usually so cheesy and clichd. But the walking dead changed that.

    It's full of drama and action, and I liked most of the episodes. I didn't care much for Season 3, but it was still pretty good.

    Although most of the characters can be annoying at times, they do it in a way that you can look past it. Its a good show to watch with friends and family(if your family likes seeing people's throats being devoured).

    AMC needs to air more shows like this and Breaking Bad in the future.moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    Best SHOW EVER.

    By nickhughes773, Jun 28, 2014

    Great show, amazing plot. But WHAT HAPPENED TO BETH?!?!?!

    1 1

  • 10

    The Walking Dead Rocks

    By annjoewhite, Jun 18, 2014

    I don't like zombies movies but TWD is the shit, totally awesome show. I am so going through with draws. But serious great show you guys Rocked on this one. Keep it going .

    1 1

  • 6.5

    TWD: Is it worth watching?

    By nath2x, May 29, 2014

    The first season was great, really great but as the seasons progressed it lost its "juice" but it is 'entertaining". In reality I know that people die but the characters in the story itself just kept on dying and dying one after the other. There would always be deaths and new characters and it's hard to get a hold of the stability of the group and each of their characters but I guess it gives a whole new "feel" to the story itself.



    Visual effects - 8 out of 10 stars

    characters - 6 out of 10 stars

    story - 6 out of 10 stars

    entertainment - 7 out of 10 starsmoreless

    1 3

  • 10

    a new view on life

    By mras97, May 20, 2014

    immaculate. that is the one word to depict this series. before i viewed the pilot episode, i was extremely biased. i am not a huge fan of gore or zombies, and i can say i was very uninterested with very low expectations. currently almost through with season 4, all i can say is wow. just wow. this show has influenced me in every way possible. the emotional attachment i have in association to the walking dead is nearly ridiculous. after i finished the pilot episode, i was curious, but not hooked- by the end of season 1 i was left wanting more, and boy, was i satisfied. simply a beautifully executed show; i could probably write a novel of a review going on about how much i cherish this show. yes, there have been a few weak spots (*cough cough* but never have i given up hope that these brilliant writers will fail to complete a great episode/season. the character developments on this show has seemed to outshine everything else. there has been AT LEAST one stellar episode per season, and in my opinion, that defines a truly epic television series.

    if you even care about my opinion (just an excuse to babble on) my 3 favorites have been the killer within, internment, and too far gone.moreless

    0 2

  • 4.0

    Lamest season finale

    By MollyScandalicious, May 17, 2014

    In fact the whole season was a waste. Mazzara would've done better.

    2 7

  • 10

    joint best show on tv with got and marvels shield

    By terryscannell85, May 14, 2014

    this show is great. ive read reports saying it slow, filler etc the way this show produces action and emotion almost every episode is unrivalled. it is a story at the end of the day. i cannot wait for new season to start. marvels shield just startin to get that balance

    0 0

  • 9.5

    despite the weak finale - can't wait for the return in fall

    By LNB-1337, Apr 16, 2014

    The finale of the 4th season was abrupt and dissatifying. The whole show though is very good, entertaining, and offers a very deep and interesting character development. Everyone who can wrap their head around a world wide zombie scenario will love this show and the near realistic setting and story line. Especially the strong characters are convincing and breathe life into the story. It should be 10 points for season 1-3 but a few little weak bumps in the 4th seasons story development justify the loss of 0.5 points. I really hope this show lasts for a few more seasons.moreless

    0 1

  • 10

    You all Seem to OVER ANALYZE!!!!

    By scarlet54, Apr 10, 2014

    It's a show which is meant to entertain & take people away from the realities of every day life.

    I love TWD and the cast, each season seems to get more and more intense.

    STOP taking every episode and analyzing the crap out of it, it's fantasy not reality and if you're going to disect it to pieces then STOP watching it and let those of us who truly appreciate TWD and the great characters and special effects ENJOY the show!!! :)moreless

    4 1

Load More Reviews