The Winner

Show Reviews (35)

Great
430 votes
8.1
  • SORT BY:
  • 8.0

    A sad day for comedy

    By fire_of_chaos, Jan 27, 2008

    in my opinion the winner wasn't that bad of a show sure it had a laugh track so wat. that being said i think that canceling it was the right way to go. i really didn't see that show progressing on to become a great. The story lost its freshness at about the 4th episode and the funny part about the story line (him being a virgin) was over in about the 5th or 6th episode so there wasn't a real future for it. overall in the short i think it was a good show but it was just managed horrible and was paced out too fast.moreless

    0 0

  • 1.5

    How to describe the winner? Family guy with poor acting, child acting, and a laugh track.

    By kinglink2, Jan 09, 2008

    Overall this review is short and sweet for a reason, with in 5 minutes you know if you'll enjoy or hate this show and expect to hate it. IF you laugh at stuff like the 40 year old virgin but found a lot of the jokes were too over your head check this out. Right after the third joke, and the entirely too obvious wrting I deleted this off my DVR's record list.



    The big problem is every joke has a laugh track, which is I assume is good because you wouldn't know when to laugh otherwise since the jokes are very poor. On the other hand the biggest problem is the laugh track itself. It is obviously canned (at least I have to believe it is) and it seems to be over EVERY joke. The main guy is a loser, he's a 32 year old loser. The big problem is he's not funny, he's not stupid. Peter Griffin is an idiot. "The winner" has no reason to be lame. He just doesn't have a drive, and that's sad, it's not funny in the least.



    The loser as he should be called has a new neighbor a girl he liked when he was 14 and is still infatuated about. She has a son who the loser is going to be buddies with and give him advice on growing up. There's no real big fault. This show just doesn't work. The main character isn't compelling, the main female lead isn't interesting, the kid is just a copy of the lead and it's obvious it's going to go about 6 episodes and die. Any longer and it's beating a rotting horse. They need a radically different writing staff because it's obvious it's just not working.



    The only thing it has going for it is Seth Mcfarlane, however seeing American Dad, and this, it's obvious he should take the money and focus on Family guy. In the end it's obvious the two major live action comedies are still Scrubs and How I met your mother for a reason, because comedy is so radically harder than drama. This show proves it because a good try, and average acting just can't bring the funny home.moreless

    5 1

  • 9.3

    Is that it? Only 6 episodes?

    By geo1975, Jul 10, 2007

    I only checked this show out because I knew Seth McFarlane was involved, but what I found was one of the funniest shows I've seen in a long time. The story of 32-year old virgin Glenn Abbott, who lives with his parents and whose best friend is the 11 year old son of the woman he's in love with has so much potential, and it's jus a pity that only 6 episodes were made, and although the ending where it looks like he's finally going to get his girl was a nice way to finish things off, I'd love to see how this guy would manage in a grown-up relationshipmoreless

    1 0

  • 6.6

    Older guy still living at home who's best friend is a 13 year old neighbor...........

    By TyTV, Jul 06, 2007

    This show never had a chance, a 43 year old man who's best friend is 13, is just weird. That is where you lost me with this one, I thought if the primus was a bit different it might have made a full season. I thought the young actor who played the best friend of the shows star had the potential and I hope that he is able to find work on some other show. But I'm sorry that his 1st venture was on a less than stellar show. If I was charged with fixing this show I would have gave the main character a friend closer to his own age, and made the mother of the 13 year old his love interest, and he a mentor of the boy, more like father son, not the uncle creep type of relationship that came across on screen.moreless

    0 0

  • 6.3

    uggggyy and good, uggy=wierd

    By northphilly101, Jun 09, 2007

    Remember back in junior high? That slightly superior, socially awkward guy hovering anxiously on the outskirts of the cool-kid circle in a series of plaid button-downs? Rob Corddry is playing him on Fox's odd new comedy The Winner. The ex-Daily Show correspondent comes into his own as Glen Abbott, a 32-year-old video-store clerk who begins to late-late-late-bloom when his childhood crush (Erinn Hayes) returns to live next door. Glen's sudden confidence has less to do with the girl, however, than her bright, neurotic 14-year-old son, Josh (Keir Gilchrist) — who turns out to be the best friend Glen's always needed. The result is Pee-wee Herman meets Get a Life meets The Wonder Years: strange and sweet and, for no real good reason, set in 1994. Glen and Josh attempt first dates, bicker over new friends, and road-trip from Buffalo to Albany for Josh's spelling bee. (''Allllbany?!!'' Cordrry exclaims of their wondrous destination, with Paul Reubens-esque joyousness.) The Winner's remaining characters — Glen's catty gay boss, his blustery dad and doting mom — aren't nearly as charming. Perhaps these sitcom stereotypes are supposed to be ironic (the show is exec-produced by Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane, after all). Mostly, they feel as dated as the show's jarring laff track. These are small worries, however, as it's doubtful The Winner could ever be just an average sitcom. Even at its yuk-yuk-kiest, the show is elevated by Cordrry, who quietly chips away at the constraints of the genre — like any slightly superior, anxious outsider should.moreless

    0 0

  • 7.0

    Awkward but...

    By houbou, May 29, 2007

    Hey I like Ed Corddry... well in "the Daily Show" he was hilarious.



    This sitcom however, is .. awkward to say the least.



    I tried to get into it, but it's so bizarre, I can't wrap myself to say it's funny.



    Oh well, it could smell funny, but thank god (or whatever deity) that smells don't generate from TV.. (yet!)



    But anyways, the truth is, I doubt it will go on much, but if it does, I might give it a try again.. Just for the heck of it!



    P.S. Gotta write 100 words or else this doesn't get saved.. Let's talk about econony of phrases uh? :)moreless

    0 0

  • 10

    I caught up on the season and it it so freaking funny Please for the love of god bring it back on the air I rarely find good comedy like this anymore

    By bridgettcol, May 25, 2007

    I caught up on the season and it it so freaking funny Please for the love of god bring it back on the air I rarely find good comedy like this anymore. I recently rediscovered this gem online and I think if other people got the chance to get into the show you would have a run away hit on your hands. Hopefully the consider bringing it back. And if it's your female viewers you are worried about I'm female and in my 20's and I think it was genius. X X x x x X x x x xmoreless

    1 0

  • 9.8

    If it was cancelled damn, bring it back!!!

    By ersomn, May 10, 2007

    I hated that they are thinking of cancelling this show... its classic and the friendship between him and the kid is phenomenal tv writing. I never watched it on TV... i bought it on iTunes before it aired thats probably why it got bad reviews becuz many people bought it on iTunes. I loved it and i recommend it to anyone that liked that 70s show, family guy, or any other funny show in that genre. Seth MacFarlane does a great job with all the shows he produces and in my opinion, he did not miss with this home run. Phenomenally funny. Good Show!moreless

    0 0

  • 2.5

    This show starts out shakey, then goes down hill.

    By RJ-viewer, Apr 23, 2007

    This show starts out shakey, then goes down hill. Rob Corddry is one of those actors who can be quite successful playing someone's friend or brother or coworker, but can't carry a scene on his own, and definately not an entire show. After watching the pilot episode, I thought that maybe they were setting up characters and situations, and the later episodes would get into the humor. Nope. I laughed at certain points, but it was more an embarrassed or nervous laughter, kind of feeling bad for the people that worked on the show that they would have this albatross hanging around their necks. After watching the first two episodes, I was surprised that they kept showing more. It should have been cancelled way earlier than it was.moreless

    1 0

Load More Reviews