Hollywood A.D.

Episode Reviews (14)

Great
273 votes
8.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Hollywood A.D.

    By TrueTvWatcher, Sep 08, 2012

    Hollywood A.D. was a perfect and extremely awesome episode of The X-Files. I really enjoyed watching because this episode was different and the story was a great stand alone poke fun at itself pleasure. I loved the sense of humor and I was laughing quite a few times. It was kind of awesome to see Skinner put the agents on probation so quickly and I loved how Mulder wanted to spend the time off. Seeing the characters meeting the actors playing them was engaging and it was great how Tea asked Dana how she ran in those shoes! It was hilarious when Scully, Mulder and Skinner were all on the phone in their bubble baths and Mulder accidentally spoke to Skinner about him thinking it was Scully. I loved how every thing played out and Mulder reacting the way he did in the theater was interesting. Skinner was very nice in letting the agents have an F.Bl.I. credit card to use for the night, I see where our tax dollars are going, just kidding the deserve it!!!!!!!!!moreless

    2 1

  • 5.5

    An episode filled with zombie snipers, bubble baths and Garry Shandling.

    By JaCkKbAuEr2424, Jun 06, 2011

    God, this might be one of my least favorite episodes the show has produced to date. Chris Carter and his writers have been known to experiment and tinker with the show at times, but this just felt like one step too far in the opposite direction.



    We get a weird opening sequence with Garry Shandling playing Fox Mulder and Tea Leoni (Duchovney's real life wife) playing Scully. The opening sequence is some sort of movie scene, and we learn that a movie has been made about Mulder and Scully's life and one of their cases. The rest of the episode jumps back in time as we view bits and pieces of the case the movie is based on and how the writer came up with the idea. The episode plot itself has something to do with religious forgery, something called the Lazarus Bowl that apparently can raise the dead and a priest who bought forged letters from a guy named Micah Hoffman.



    It's a pretty weak story, and it's even weaker when the show runners tried to adapt it to a movie. Whoever wrote the episode (I missed it on the credits) did a poor job of mixing the humor and the horror that the show is usually good at doing. Instead, everyone was joking around and Skinner was acting like a goof the whole time. It frustrated me to see the writers lose focus here on what made The X-Files such a good show. How can we go back to the insanity and the eeriness of the myth-arc after seeing such weird stuff? It feels weird to me.



    I don't know, perhaps I'm being too harsh. But I'm not one to give a show a low grade without due process and analyzing it for a bit, but a day after seeing this, I have to admit, I was really disappointed and frustrated.moreless

    2 3

  • 1.7

    Painful to watch. Hated it. I give this episode the finger.

    By LonePunman, Apr 29, 2011

    Painful to watch. Hated it. I give this episode the finger. I'm sure all of the "insiders" to the series got a chuckle or two out of Hollywood A.D., but as an avid fan, I see this episode as one that should never have been made, more suitable to the pages of Mad Magazine. As if the entire series broke character for one episode. Detritus of The X-Files canon. This episode marks the decline of the series. Every quality series has it's low point, and Hollywood A.D. is the low water mark of The X-files. On a positive note, the bit with A.D. Skinner in the bubble bath was funny, though painfully inappropriate.moreless

    7 10

  • 9.0

    Duchnovy returns to the writer/director chair with a hilarious look at the mess that Hollywood would make of an X-Files movie.

    By grifter78, Apr 22, 2010

    While not flawless the way that "Bad Blood" was, this episode stands up with the other comedy episodes and holds its head high. Duchovny's wit and comedic timing shine through in a script chock full of "nudge, nudge, wink, wink" in-jokes and references. And they mostly work. His real-life wife Tea Leoni guest-stars as herself as the movie Scully and Gary Shandling gives a great performance as the movie version of Mulder. The overarching X-File concerning the Lazurus Bowl isn't spectacular, but David clearly did some research, and it's mostly just a plot device to set up the inept Hollywood interpretation anyway, so...

    We even get funny Skinner here, and that's a beautiful rarity that must be savored. The only real faults in the show are a dancing pile of bones and a large dance number featuring zombies at the end. The latter at least ties into some previous dialogue, but it's still quite a bit too much and crosses from funny into silly.

    But all in all, another great humor episode that puts Duchovny at 2-for-2.moreless

    6 2

  • 9.6

    even though it's rated 8/10, it's underrated

    By lisaletostak, Apr 22, 2010

    ok i love this episode. apparently people think it\\\'s only an 8 but i LOVE it. david duchovny is hilarious, in his acting and his writing and always intelligent. the plot is secondary to the hilarity here, although i like the plot too. even the annoying agent guy is more funny than annoying. and usually when a character is supposed to be annoyingly funny he just turns out to be annoying. also the scenes where mulder and scully are uncomfortably watching garry shandling and tea leoni in the movie are so great! they just keep wincing and who knows what exactly they\\\'re thinking when they make out on screen. ok the very last scene with the skeletons dancing wasn\\\'t my favorite, but the scene before it with mulder and scully walking off holding hands to go on a free date (i\\\'m going to call it a date anyway, even if they are in denial about what it is they\\\'re doing) is so cute.moreless

    3 2

  • 9.5

    Can we ask for more?? Comedy, a good story and Scully/Mulder moments!Great work David Duchovny!

    By BrunaC, Apr 22, 2010

    David Duchovny is great! I loved his writting and direction! He has a big humor quality!! Congradilations!!



    This episode is so funny! We have great moments of Scully and Mulder: the scene of the bouble bath, the uncomfortable scenes whatching the movie on the cinema; in Mulder's apartment where he knows every single line of the ed wood's movie; I loved (of course) the last scene where they talk on the set of 20th century fox and they leave holding their HANDS!!!! I mean they could really have hooked up in all things because they are so "loose" together! I loved seeing Scully smilling so much! I adore the scene where Garry Shandling asks mulder what side does he dresses- hilarious! And Scully showing Tea Leoni how to run in heals! Perfect! I also loved wayne!! I liked the skeleton scene and the zombies scenes where they dance! It's like Tim Burton's movies! ; )moreless

    2 3

  • 10

    A Top Ten Classic

    By hotstuff491, Apr 22, 2010

    I love this episode! The story concept is pure genius and I enjoy the fact how this episode accommodates both a serious and silly side and connects them together. The actors that are chosen to play Mulder and Scully are an excellent choice- however, I don't think Tea Leoni had to audition for the part.

    2 3

  • 10

    Mulder and Scully are asked by Skinner to escort a movie writer which leads them to forgeries of Church documents that eventually leads to two murders and lots of laughs. The ending is truly what I want to believe. Zombies really know how to have fun...

    By hmitauer, Apr 22, 2010

    I thought this one was one of the best...including the reference to Richard Gere, who I think looks like he could be Mulder's cuter brother... and Lieber, the not so cute brother...This episode had the three stars I always thought resembled each other. They are practically all in this movie even though it was only a mention of Gere. I wish I knew which audience member was Chris.

    2 2

  • 9.3

    I loved this episode.

    By oldreliable, Apr 22, 2010

    I've watched the seventh season the last days and I think this is my favourite episode. Even though the mystery isn't quite solved and the attention isn't focussed on the actual X-file, I loved the idea that they were shooting an X-file movie. I liked all the allusions in the episode and the way Wayne looked at Mulder and Scully. Also, I think Scully is more fun the last episodes of this season, she seems to laugh omre as usual and make more jokes. Off course I haven't seen most of season one, two or three so I can't say this is the first time she's been like this, but I like it. The two actors who played them in the movie were fun too and I loved part where Scully is in love with AD/AP Skinner, both times.moreless

    2 3

Load More Reviews