Syzygy

Episode Reviews (20)

Great
322 votes
8.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    Syzygy

    By TrueTvWatcher, Jun 14, 2012

    Syzygy was a perfectly entertaining episode of The X-Files. I really enjoyed watching because the story was well written, interesting and had some nice horror elements to it. I liked how the two girls had powers because of the cosmic alignment happening, playing on a very interesting subject of how celestial bodies influence us. The character and plot development for Mulder and Scully and their working relationship was amazing. I liked how every thing played out and look forward to watching what happens next!!!!!!!!!moreless

    1 1

  • 7.0

    A rare planetary alignment leads to some shenanigans.

    By JaCkKbAuEr2424, Dec 21, 2010

    Whereas I found some of Darin Morgan's episodes to be hilarious and dark at the same time, I found this episode to be strange, confusing and too heavy on the funny. I can't deny, however, that the lines between Mulder and Scully remained awesome and gave the episode some level of heart. In a way, it reminded me of the episode "3" from Season 2, easily the worst episode of the show to date. Both of these episodes had Mulder acting in a way he normally wouldn't, and it made me both times realize that the writers sometimes lose track of what makes him such a compelling character.



    But enough nitpicking from me: the episode was pretty fun. It was mostly about a planetary alignment that left everybody in the town acting differently than they normally would. People were irrational and were acting weird, especially Mulder and Scully, who seemed to be arguing about every little thing. Every time that Scully said "Sure. Fine. Whatever," I cracked up. And Mulder saying that he wanted to solve the mystery of the horny beast was just as funny as any sitcom on TV right now.



    I suppose overall, it wasn't as bad as some previous episodes, but I was just bothered by the lack of explanation of things and the way the plot seemed to have more plot holes than any other movie or TV show I've seen recently. What in the world was that movie about? The one that kept playing on every channel? Beats me.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    Sure. Fine. Whatever.

    By RJNeb2, Aug 11, 2010

    At this stage in the game, Season 3 is shaping up to be a very experimental one for "The X-Files". The "Anasazi" trilogy that opened the season pushed the mythology into uncharted, more personal, yet more global waters. Darin Morgan continues to explore comedy as a tool for his episodes with his two contributions thus far. Even Chris Carter has been in fairly experimental mode, certainly as a director, with his green-hued "The List". Here though is Chris Carter the writer having a go at something a little different. Get this for high concept: Mulder and Scully hate each other's guts. Something as simple as that yields an episode that is jam-packed with quotable line after quotable line, with "Sure. Fine. Whatever." now becoming the stuff of legend. It means that "Syzygy" not only has the rare distinction of being a laugh-out-loud episode, but also it's

    undoubtedly the hardest to spell! Of course any long lasting or close relationship gets tested at some point, so in effect the events depicted here are a refreshing new angle on the relationship between the two. The fact that the two actors attack this with such vigour is testament to how much they both enjoy the change. Anderson in particular makes Scully as snippy as possible. What could be funnier than seeing her stalk off down a corridor in anger, or pacing up and down her hotel room, smoking no less, and whining on about "Detective White". (Who meanwhile is trying to do the horny thing with a surprisingly unwilling and drunk Mulder.) This proves to be very fertile ground for the character of Scully. Natural animosity and dismissal of small town beliefs is actually the perfect scenario for her innate cynicism, something that Mulder doesn't miss an opportunity in calling attention to. Of course let's not forget that this rare planetary alignment (a plot device that emerges very slowly, thereby giving us much time to enjoy the uncharacteristic behaviour of the agents) doesn't just affect the partnership of Mulder and Scully. Take a look at the teenage Carrie wannabes, Terri and Margie. Initially the syzygy homes in on these two and channels their wants and desires, most of which they don't even seem to understand themselves, in destructive directions. It was only a matter of time before such uncontrollable hormones would be unleashed against each other. The two actresses capture well that listless, always pretending to be bored quality that seems to be the hallmark of such girls. The episode also gives Carter the chance to take a few potshots at smalltown life. He would do this to even more exaggerated effect with Season 5's "Post-Modern Prometheus", and it is slowly starting to become an X Files theme in itself, as the last episode "War of the Coprophages" proved. At this juncture though, it seems little more than good-natured ribbing. So we do get a giggle out of the town's paediatrician being a closet transvestite, and the local psychic complaining about the difficulties of running a small business. Just as daring as the fractured relationship on show here is the very tone of the episode as well. This could have gone in many different ways, but the overall tone is one of slapstick. And that's despite the number of teenage deaths that occur throughout. But just take a look at the very well-executed climax where Terri and Margie cause all sorts of havoc in the police station, especially with guns going off left, right and centre. It's all set to Keystone Kops music, giving the whole thing a very goofy quality, when in reality it's a highly dangerous situation. And it's interesting to note too that the moment after the planetary alignment has occurred at midnight on the girls' birthday, everything reverts back to the way it was. Mulder and Scully go back to being (largely) in sync with each other, by shouting "Put that gun down!" in unison to the descending lynch mob. And the two teenage girls revert to being just that. Two teenage girls. Only with really bad hair. Carter can't resist one last pop at our dynamic duo as they drive off into the sunset, with Scully hilariously telling Mulder to shut up. And he, equally delightfully, repeating her mantra of "Sure. Fine. Whatever." A million T-shirt slogans instantly appear in sympathy. 9/10moreless

    5 0

  • 6.5

    Not a bad episode, but definitely suffered from a few obvious flaws

    By harrier3, Jun 15, 2009

    Okay, I liked the plot for this episode. Sure, it's not horribly original, but it was a fine idea for a filler episode nonetheless. I think it could have been done better. Every person in the town was being affected by the positions of the stars, their behavior becoming erratic and even aggressive--sure, fine, whatever (no pun intended); people behave bizarrely; Mulder and Scully fight constantly...a decent concept, but why were those two teenage girls the ONLY ones with powers, and why were those powers almost identical with the power often associated with witchcraft? I mean, X files could easily have pulled off any number of witch-based episodes, so couldn't they have done something a little more unique with the girls' powers, at least? Finally, my biggest pet peeve with this episode has got to be the two teenagers. I KNOW from experience no high school student talks the way they did...in fact, I think anyone who talked and behaved the way they around the other students would have been social outcasts, no matter how pretty they were. Finally, I really wish Scully and Mulder's bickering could have been resolved somehow. It would have been a little more satisfying for me if they had made up or at least confronted each other about their constant fighting.

    All this said, the episode was funny, and I certainly didn't hate it.moreless

    2 0

  • 9.5

    One of the best of season 3, IMO.........

    By MightyMonarch, May 11, 2008

    In my personal opinion, it was episodes like this that were as important to The X-Files success as any of the myth-arc storyline episodes were. The X-Files was a show that was almost always taken pretty seriously, and with good reason - at the time, id have to guess that there wasnt much on television that was more darker themed than this, and they did it well. For me, it was delightful to see the characters behave so out-of-character - more in the way that two people like Mulder and Scully probably would have behaved, if they were real people in the first place. Yes, its a filler episode - who cares? This episode is as entertaining for me as any other episode i remember watching. I never laughed much while watching The X-Files - i laughed repeatedly while watching "Syzygy", which isnt entirely a bad thing, in my mind. It shows how versatile this show could be, and i have to believe that regardless of what most "true-believer" type fans would say about it, it was episodes like this that kept it on television for as long as it was. If nothing else, i bet that the cast and crew had a great time filming this episode, hopefully as great a time as i have watching it. Cheers!moreless

    4 1

  • 9.0

    must see episode.

    By unexpressedrage, Mar 05, 2008

    mulder & scully help a detective solve a case of what seemed to be a satanic cult in a small town & the entire community definitely thinks it has something to do w/ satanists. there's numerology, cosmic thing involved revolving a twins whose celebrating their birthday. they have psychokinesis & is somewhat possessed by something. as always, i like the conversations, this time w/ mulder, scully & the detective disagreeing most of the time ending in scully's impatience, sarcastic remarks & trademark skepticism against mulder's beliefs & opinions. that scene w/ mulder drinking, & scully smoking then walked into mulder & the detective in a very compromising position (do i detect a hint of jealousy on scully's part?) maybe the result of something wicked in the air affecting them. lastly, the narration in the end closing w/ the last line 'maybe the answer lies even further from our grasp.moreless

    1 1

  • 7.1

    The X-Files' attempts at humor were 50% fan faves and 50% dogs. This funny / cute episode is unique in that it's merely good. Syzygy excels in its quote worthiness, but falls flat in its attempt to synthesize disparate wackiness into comic transcendence.

    By Dimsum108, Oct 05, 2007

    Syzygy is a good episode of the X-Files, a comedy episode that both benefits and hurts from its placement in the series. On one hand, it's buoyed by the inherent strengths of Season Three, i.e. the moody Vancouver production, and the Mulder / Scully relationship being at just the right moment for a completely divergent, pick-on-each-other, let's-satirize-their-foibles episode. On the other hand, Syzygy suffers from following an episode that better conveyed many of these same situations: Mulder / Scully / Babe triangle, Mulder and Scully drifting apart (without resolution at the end), and comic mass hysteria.



    On its own, Syzygy will probably be remembered, for better and for worse, for its 'cutesifying' of the Mulder / Scully relationship. While bits like Scully's feet touching the pedal, and Mulder sniffing Scully as she berates him do satirize their own relationship, the handful of oft repeated phrases in the episode serve to reduce the characters to catchphrases, and even worse, lamely cash in on a pop culture trend - 'sure, fine, whatever' - that over ten years later just sounds bizarre.



    Beyond the Mulder / Scully moments, the episode also has memorable supporting characters. While the sequences featuring the detective and the townspeople poorly walk in the Darin Morgan tradition of having everyone in a small community share the same verbose and stilted banter, the moments with the two girls, and with the seer are spot on. Particularly with girls, while the dialogue isn't any less groanworthy than previous X-Files teen episodes (e.g. D.P.O), by having the actresses overdo it a little, Chris Carter finds just the right tone of camp (think early Buffy) to make not only the comedy scenes funny, but the violent ones as well.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.6

    The one where an improbable astrological conjunction wreaks havoc on a small town - and on Mulder and Scully's relationship and personalities. Absolutely hysterical.

    By AudreyHorne26, May 03, 2007

    This is one of my favorite 'monster-of-the-week' episodes: the town goes nutty, and therefore so do Mulder and Scully. They start acting bizarrely -- Mulder sniffs Scully to see if she's wearing his favorite perfume, Scully becomes snappy and rude, Mulder drinks, Scully smokes, a local detective jumps Mulder, Scully is *none* too pleased, etc etc. Mulder and Scully have some of their most snippy and hysterical moments ever, including the classic "Why do you always have to drive? Because you’re the guy? Because you’re the big macho-man?" and Mulder's amazingly mean and witty reply: "No. I was just never sure your little feet could reach the pedals." Also this episode is the originator of the X-Files classic quote: "Sure. Fine. Whatever" - when Scully is at her most obnoxious -- and repeated throughout the episode.



    My favorite line: Mulder and Scully fight over who will pick up a doctor's bag with their gloves, and Mulder says, "No, no, be my guest. I know how much you like snapping on the latex."



    The plot of this episode is over the top, and the acting of the local characters is patchy, but watch it for the humor. You won't want this episode to end.moreless

    0 1

  • 8.0

    It's a filler, but it's still pretty good. The story's not exactly original - the witchy power of two young women - but it's not bad.

    By qstevie, Mar 06, 2007

    Two young girls born at exactly the same time find they have some very special powers, which they don't plan on using for anything good. And with the planets aligning in a very particular way, even Mulder and Scully are bickering like a long-married couple.



    Though it's concerned with some very dark forces, it's really a very funny episode in many ways too. The woman who runs the psychic shop is a hoot - waiting until Mulder's credit card clears before she'll give him any information. Det. White as a potential sex interest for Mulder, who goes into sexual overdrive as the episode progresses, only to be discovered on top of Mulder by Scully, who is not best pleased. The arguments between the two of them are hilarious - 'whatever!' - and seeing Scully smoking and Mulder drinking takes them into an area we're not used to seeing.



    The paranoia of the villagers - who only seem to lack pitchforks and lit torches - mirrors the Frankenstein films of old, and suddenly ganging up on a doctor, who for some unfathomable reason is seen being more afraid of being revealed as a transvestite than a murderer, puts another angle on things.



    The two girls are brilliant, especially in their final witchy outfits, which are so over the top somebody would surely have noticed they weren't the sweet blonde virgins they were so worried about being. The fact that the whole thing is really one whole catfight between friends who become rivals is so banal that it's wonderful - and all the deaths have no particular reason for them, which is particularly chilling.



    It's not a classic episode for me, but it does have some classic moments - it doesn't quite add up to the sum of its parts, but it doesn't fail to be interesting throughout.moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews