Twilight Zone (2002)

Show Reviews (21)

Great
482 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 5.4

    Works...

    By da_dunker, Jan 26, 2012

    It's no stretch of the imagination to say that Rod Serling's 1959 sci-fi drama 'The Twilight Zone' is a classic series that ranks up there with the best shows of all time. In fact, it's so obvious, it's almost a statement of fact cowardly disguised as an opinion. It's like people who say they are against war or don't like death. Really? Wow, that's bold.



    So, Serling's creation is a classic. I can sit and bask in all its black-and-white glory, low budget effects and post-nuclear to-the-camera moralizing during New Year's Day marathons on the Sci-Fi Channel for hours on end. This is not 'the real' Twilight Zone' but UPN's debunked experiment to remake the series and update it for a new generation (hosted by a wildly miscast Forest Whitaker). However, I approach this show not as a cockeyed purist or one of the many pseudo-intellectuals who insists that entertainment was better back in the day. 'The Twilight Zone', and it's unforgettable formula, is exactly the type of series that can be resurrected and re-invented for future generations in response to the needs and fears of the current political and social climate of that generation. As it has already been tried once before in 1985 with lukewarm results.



    This show doesn't even come close to rising to the challenge or exploring the entirely free universe that the premise provides its writers. This is a sell-out, bargain basement 'Twilight Zone'-lite. Aside from great writing, creepy premises and patented ending twists, the biggest asset Serling brought to 'Twilight' was incalculable passion. It was his baby. All of which this show lacks in spades. It's unclear if the writers are lazily coasting on the show's namesake or working under Serling's shadow constantly in fear of doing anything bold and screwing up. The ironic thing is that, like the original, this remake could have probably gotten by with phony special effects and campy acting if it had something to say. But the stories are tedious. Pure sci-fi movie-of-the-week trash. When they couldn't make original episodes work, they resorted to guest stars and glamorous babes to titillate the audience with cheap soft-core stories (such as fictitious sex-pot women created via writing or holograms who soon start acting human) . When that didn't work, the show resorted to simply re-creating classic 'Zone' episodes. Something this series does have to it's name is an eye-catching roster of talented guest stars. See Amber Tamblyn before her breakout series and Dylan Walsh before hi. See veteran actors like Jason Alexander, Lou Diamond Phillips, Christopher McDonald, Cloris Leachman. More appealing is the chance to see character actors that have caught my eye over the years and I so can't get enough of I'd even watch this show to see what they can bring to it. That list includes such criminally ignored versatility as Linda Cardellini ('Freaks and Geeks'), Christopher Titus ('Titus'), Jeremy Piven ('Cupid'), Jason Bateman & Portia De Rossi (pre-'Arrested Development'), Vivica A. Fox ('Getting Personal'), Patrick Warburton & Wayne Night ('Seinfeld'), Xander Berkley ('24'), Robin Tunney, Alicia Witt ('Cybill'), Paul Rodriguez and even Jessica Simpson. But in the end, the guest star on the title draws us in like a fly to the bug zapper. That's what makes this all the tougher to watch. To see these people working with material so far below their means is almost sad. 'The Twilight Zone' could have been so much more then just letting us see what 'The Monsters Are Due On Maple Street' would look like with a new cast and the social climate it was pertinent in now 40 years in the past. I'm harsh on this show because I do not believe that there are no new ideas or that this hackery is a fraction of what the creative minds of this generation can come up with. You're better off with the 'Futurama' homage 'The Scary Door' over this.moreless

    2 4

  • 8.5

    Its not as good as the original but its still great

    By tacoman771, Jun 30, 2011

    This is the 2002 revivial of the twilight zone and it's the second revival Rod serling sadly wasn't in this revial because he died so the narrator is forest whittaker hes an okay narrator. The episodes here are great ones and of course some are bad but the other two twilight zones had the same problem. I think my favorite episode is when a woman is sent back in time to kill hitler the twist endings are here and the great writing. Theres also remakes of the monsters are on maple street and the eye of the beholder. The show was cancelled or ended too soon (im not sure which one it was).moreless

    1 0

  • 4.5

    A remake of the original Twilight Zone.

    By viking99g, Mar 13, 2011

    All too often when doing a remake, the creators do not think about why the original was so popular.



    This is a classic example. All the way down to the theme song, they tried to make everything more modern to appeal to a new audience. However, this is a new generation with totally new ideas and thoughts. You can not just us an electric guitar to play the old music, you must either use the old or write a new piece.



    The same goes for the episodes. The ones that were amazing for a generation ago will not have the same impact on this current generation. It is just a simple fact.



    For that reason, this show did not succeed. It would have been better for them to simply rerun old episodes, or try to start an entirely new show that was similar, like the Outer Limits.



    I appreciated the desire to create another show of this style, but they really did not do very well.moreless

    4 4

  • 9.0

    Great show!

    By TvPatriik, Jan 26, 2011

    i really like Horror and suspense movies, and this show has it!! I like all the episodes on this show they always have twists on the end.. Thats why i like this show... Some of the episodes are really scary, and its good to watch them at night... I think the old Twiglight Zone was good too, but i hate watching black and white color movies, and the Twiglight Zone from 1980's is great too .. The new Twilight Zone from 2002 revival series tended to address contemporary issues head-on; terrorism, racism, gender roles, and sexuality. Thats why its great couse those things seem to be the problem now in days..moreless

    4 2

  • 8.2

    Fun sci-fi TV series with a different story every week.

    By QuadzillaNU, Dec 25, 2010

    This series was originally created by Rod Serling is one of the great writing geniuses of our time. He took TV when it was still pretty new and came up with something totally different. He didnt have all of that high tech computers and digital manipulation that the people of today have and yet nobody can make a show as good as this. He is one of the founding fathers of Sci-Fi in my opinion along with Gene Rodenberry and Isac Asmov. I love it on holidays when they run a twilight zone marathon and I can just watch it all day. This would be a good one to buy on DVD if it is available. I still will watch the new versions of twilight zone and outer limits, but neither one is as good as the original. His Night Gallery was great too.moreless

    1 1

  • 7.9

    The new Twilight Zone (2002) was really a show that was overlooked. Perhaps because the original show from the 50's was already remade in the 80's only those that were fans of the original series gave this one a look.

    By dojodan444, May 12, 2010

    Having read quite a few reviews of this series it seems it wasn't too popular with fans of the original and most people seem to think the 80's remake was better. However, I prefer this remake so much that I bought the 6-disc Season 1 set. Unfortunately, there was only one season! Some of the things I liked best about this show was having the host Forest Whitaker walk around the set in the beginning and end of each episode. Gives it sort of a 3-dimensional feel I think. And come on you gotta love that introduction music - much better than the score for either of the previous series. And of course you get to see a lot of your favorite B-movie and TV show actors make a debut or two. I never watched the show when it aired in 2002. I actually stumbled across it one night on one of the local cable channels and saw the episode "The Pool Guy" with Lou Diamond Phillips. Since LDP is my favorite "non-mainstream" actor, I decide to watch it. The story was good and reminded me of the Outer Limit series I had enjoyed so much a few years ago. I later learned that the same person that produced The Outer Limits also did this Twilight Zone (2002) series. So if you were a fan of the Outer Limits I think it is safe to say you'd enjoy some of these episodes as well. Sure not every story is a good one, but some of them are quite good. Most of the stories take on familiar ground in the Sci-Fi realm, but there are a few twists here and there you aren't likely to expect. Episode 2 "Night Route" comes to mind. And I enjoyed Jason Alexander's (George from Seinfeld) portrayal of "Death" in "One Night at Mercy." The aforementioned "The Pool Guy" is one of the classic episodes in this series. The complete Season 1 can be had on Amazon (NEW) for about $10! Unheard of for a complete season series. The DVD set comes with an episode guide as well. It's certainly worth the $10 if you are a Sci-Fi fan...moreless

    2 0

  • 9.7

    I loved most of the episodes

    By makgambit, Jul 19, 2006

    I loved how forest whiteker was the host. I have always loved him as an actor. He si so good. As for the show, it had alot of great episodes. Sure, some were only okay. But the majority of hte shows weer entertaining and made ya think. I really wish this show was givin a chance. In my market, it was always moved around so i never knew when it would be on. Only now in repeats do i know when to watch and of course i do. I loved how some of the shows were about aliens or really of the wall subject, yet others were like that could be real.moreless

    1 0

  • 8.7

    Better then you think.

    By bonefactory, Apr 17, 2006

    First, this version is not better then the original, this no way could have been.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this revival of Serling's classic. In fact, there were a couple of episodes that were re-makes of original shows, and one was a sequel to an episode done back on the original series. Beyond those, there were plenty of stories that were original and well done themselves. Also this series had an interesting mix of special guest (Jason Alexander, Usher, Jessica Simpson, Lou Diamond Philips, etc). Also many other people that you will at least reconize their faces.

    This show was certainly superior to the one done back in the mid-'80s. They really seemed to do Mr. Serling proud. It's unfortunate that UPN canceled this after one season. I beleive the show would of shown a better force in a second season.moreless

    1 0

  • 9.0

    This show features everyday people put in strange out-of-this-world experiences. This is the third installment of this series.

    By vicmackey31, Apr 13, 2006

    This is a great show to watch on weekend nights. The oldest version is a true classic but this version is highly entertaining itself. Since Rod Serling was not around to do the writing anymore there was bound to be a drop off. The show still manages to be better than most of the other shows currently out there. Even some of the re-hashed storylines aren't too bad since you get to see current actors and actresses playing the parts. It's kind of like when a classic song is covered by a current day music group. It use really bother me as I would think that the current day band or singer was just trying to ride someone else’s coat tails. However I have come to learn that in music, movies and television many of today kids would not be exposed to the older material if it were not made popular by someone in the current time.moreless

    0 0

  • 9.5

    Two decades after a "Twilight Zone" revival had mixed results, Executive Producer Forrest Whitaker produced a solid season that stands up on its own, and is truer to the vision of Rod Sterling than the 1980s version. It definitely merits another look or

    By bwind, Apr 02, 2006

    Almost 40 years after the end of the original "Twilight Zone" series, Forest Whitaker presented 43 episodes that generally fit better into the "Zone" format better than the bulk of the 1985 revival... and even moreso, fit closer to the original concept than most of the fourth and fifth seasons of the original series.



    The result? While there weren't the ultra-high highs offered by the first two series, absolute clunkers were few and far between in the 2002 version.



    Noteworthy episodes include:



    The harrowing "Evergreen" (a rebellious teenager has trouble adjusting to her new neighborhood, in which miscreants are sent to "Arcadia")



    The lyrical "Dream Lover" (a cartoonist in the midst of writer's block creates an all-too-real companion)



    "Dead Man's Eyes" (a widow experiences the last few moments of her husband's life when she puts on his eyeglasses)



    The scary "Upgrade" (a woman finds out too late the result of a careless wish said at the wrong place -- and all she wanted was the perfect family)



    "Sanctuary" (when they leave their cars in the middle of their commute, a man and a woman find themselves cut off from civilization in an isolated house)



    "Gabe's Story" (a ne'er-do-well finds out that the reason for his incessant bad luck was that someone was actually writing his life story)



    "Fair Warning" (George has an evil twin who wants to kill a flower shop clerk)



    "Into the Light" (a reworking of the original "Zone" episode "The Purple Testament," but set at a high school instead of a battlefield)





    Unlike the 1985 edition, the remakes of original series' episodes -- and there were several -- were not generally high points but usually true to the original with a little updating.



    Comparisons with the original series are unfair, since we tend to idealize the trailblazing series by remembering the impact of the best episodes and forgetting the bad ones (and there were quite a few bad ones in the last two years of the original "Zone"), but on the whole this was an excellent series that deserved more attention than it received. It deserves another look -- or two, or three -- with an open mind, on its own.



    moreless

    0 0

Load More Reviews