Superb
153 votes
9.3
  • SORT BY:
  • 6.5

    We did deserve a better ending. Or didn't we?

    By Edie70, Jun 14, 2012

    Disappointment. Weirdness. Gross. Fear. Shock. These four words in my honest opinion define this series finale. I was disappointed because my favorite character Audrey Horn is probably dead, such a shame. It was strangely weird how that unnecessary plot with Donna & Benjamin Horn ended, did Dr. Hayward kill him when he hit the curb? The whole sequence with Cooper/little man/Bob and dead people grossed me out. Fear and shock came with the last scene ever when Copper broke the mirror with his head and looked to the camera with that creepy look on his face. All in all, could be better. But it was the strangest thing ever shown on TV. I believe that. And I would certainly like to see what happened next. Was Cooper the killer or did he just go totally insane after all those things he had witnessed in Twin Peaks? Laura Palmer said to him that they will meet again in 25 years, that is probably the day of his death and 2016 is really near LOL :Dmoreless

    3 3

  • 2.0

    PURELY AWFUL!

    By chardr69, Nov 05, 2011

    I love this show, but this finale to season 2, and ultimately the entire show was PURELY AWFUL! David Lynch's discontent with ABC for their meddling in the shows storyline is probably to blame. It was put on hiatus in March of 1991 because of low ratings, and numerous night and time slot changes. Then after a strong letter writing campaign it was given six more episodes to round out the season. With such promise, the show just went downhill with the Windom Earl storyline which resulted in this dreadful episode/finale.



    The entire sequence of Cooper inside the "Lodge" was hard to stomach. From Laura's horribly annoying screams, to the lame dwarf and strobe effects, I found myself wanting the whole thing to end, and it did, and I was completely dissatisfied with everything. It doesn't give me a negative feeling about the show overall, but it does make me not want to watch the whole thing through to the end.moreless

    3 10

  • 10

    THERE HAS TO BE ANOTHER EPISODE!

    By redmoonrizing, Jun 13, 2011

    My sister and I absolutely love Twin Peaks! We remember watching it when it first came out. Very quirky. BUT I AM SURE there was another episode, like a 2 hour wrap up after Episode 29, I distinctly remember the Log Lady giving Cooper one last message from her log. When she was done, she threw down the log and everyone was shocked. Someone asked her something like "Why did you do that" she said something like, "I've been carrying that thing around long enough" I am absolutely positively sure of this. Is there any one out there who can enlighten me on this?moreless

    5 0

  • 10

    I loved the final show, best cliffhanger ever.

    By trippefontaine, Jun 13, 2011

    I thought the final show was so fantastic. There will never be a show like this again. I loved the part in the lodge with Jimmy Scott singing. The lodge is one of the scariest places I have seen on a television program. Bob was frightening when he confronted Windom Earl and took his soul. I was so upset when the show ended and hoped that the ratings would be better, but people were not patient enough with the show. They want all the answers immediately. That is why CSI is so popular because at the end of the hour you know who the killer is. The visuals on Twin Peaks were exhilerating and I'm glad that ABC let the show continue as long as it did.moreless

    10 3

  • 10

    The greatest hour of TV ever filmed.

    By Hexsins, Jun 13, 2011

    If you don't love or understand this episode, then you should never have even watched an episode of Twin Peaks. Why? Because this is the most groundbreaking hour of surrealism ever put on TV. An entire episode in the Black Lodge, amazing. The atmosphere and absurdist tone here are beautiful. Viewers who only understand realist plots and genres will simply not appreciate the minimalist surrealism here. Bob and Cooper and Earle have their final showdown, and we see that Bob -- the most amazing expressionist rendition of the Id/evil ever on screen -- was able to find a way to possess Cooper. Some complain that Lynch should have given a more clear, positive ending (really?), but why should he sacrifice the story he wants to tell for people who should be watching CSI or a sitcom? The pseudo fans will complain about the ending as they must, but Cooper's final act is ultimately positive -- he gives up his soul for the woman he loves -- what better example of his heroic character?moreless

    2 1

  • 10

    The complex end of Twin Peaks. A must-see.

    By -vesper-, Aug 15, 2010

    David Lynch came back for the finale of the apple of his eye: Twin Peaks. At that point it was already known that the series was cancelled due to the decline in ratings. It seems that because of that Lynch really put all in and let his imagination run wild. Not before have you seen a more ominous, nightmare-like episode.



    The central plot of the episode was Cooper meeting old acquaintances in the Black Lodge (it is debatable if it actually was the Black Lodge though). But some time was dedicated to the other characters too: Donna found out Ben Horne was her father, Shelly and Bobby were happily together (their scene was a parallel to the pilot episode), as were Major Briggs and his wife. But more unfortunate things happened too: Audrey and Pete were victims of a probably fatal explosion.



    But let's get back to Cooper's storyline. He supposedly entered the Black Lodge to rescue his lover Annie from Windom Earle who was possessed by Bob. The room with its red curtains and tile floor provides an image that will be stuck in your mind forever: it's weird, it's ominous. Cooper entered the room scared and uncomfortable, which was nothing like the Cooper we had seen before. He waited for something, and whilst he waited he encountered characters from the past: Laura, the Giant and many others, speaking backwards. It was like everything familiar now turned unfamiliar and scary: the coffee that he had loved so much now turned into oil, Laura turned evil. Even the shadow of himself was now scary and evil. After wandering around the rooms Cooper finally found Windom/Bob and Annie. This was the key moment to him. He had to save Annie because the memory of the formerly lost loved one of his still hurt and he couldn't let that happen again. In order to save Annie Cooper gave his soul to Bob, without even thinking about it. After that we come back to the familiar Twin Peaks, to Dale's hotel room. As expected, Bob has taken over Dale's body. That is the end of the episode and the whole series. Dale Cooper has been defeated. Not and ending a viewer would wish for the hero of the show (and that's what he was, in a smaller scale than in many other shows though).



    Lynch has stated that Twin Peaks wasn't about Laura Palmer's murder, but instead about all the people living in the small town. That's probably why this finale tried to give the characters a full circle and not just deal with the dark elements. Unfortunately Lynch didn't get the chance to work with these characters even more. Episode Twenty-Nine is a tribute to the series and the episode is devastating, surreal, beautiful and horrifying at the same time. It may be the best thing ever seen on television.moreless

    9 1

  • 8.0

    Unforgettable finale just might give you nightmares.

    By GreatBigSea, Jul 31, 2010

    Like many elements throughout the series (e.g., The Man From Another Place, "Bob", etc.), the closing act of Twin Peaks leaves much open to interpretation. In previous episodes, the stuff in the waiting room was depicted as Cooper's dreams. Now, he steps INTO the dream. Or rather, a nightmare.



    This may be an odd comparison, but I get the same feeling when watching Stanley Kubrick's "2001" or Dario Argento's "Suspiria." Just what the heck it all means isn't necessarily the point. It's about the images and sound, the EXPERIENCE itself. And Episode 29 is quite an experience. I may never forget the sight of the "evil" Laura Palmer screaming at Cooper, or Cooper himself laughing insanely alongside Bob.



    Maybe Lynch is telling us the good guys don't always win, I don't know. But trappig the show's hero in hell and then rolling the credits one last time is, hands-down, the most pessimistic ending ever for a t.v. show. It's also great television, EVENT television, from a time when that still meant something.moreless

    3 1

  • 8.0

    Lynch's revenge for Being Cancelled

    By gettford, Jun 01, 2005

    This episode may well have been David Lynch's revenge for being cancelled. The "Good Dale" in the Black Lodge, the "Bad Dale" turned loose on the world, Audrey Horne possibly killed... A very strange ending to an amazing series. I'd love to see another film that resolves the series after episode 29.

    12 3