Welcome to the Captain

Show Reviews (11)

Good
152 votes
7.5
  • SORT BY:
  • 9.2

    This show was funny and interesting. As goo or better than any other comedy this season.

    By richl56, Mar 17, 2008

    I watched all episodes shown of this very humorous show. The combination of professional veteran actors and the newcomers were great. I found myself waiting for the show each week in anticipation of what new spin would occur.With tv filled with reiculous reality shows and detective type shows that embrace the sick side of life it was very refreshing to watch a show that was just out right funny. It was not original in the boy gets girl senerio but the way it was written and the way the actors played there parts so well it was worth the rerun of that senerio. I am very dissappointed in the fact that the show is in limbo. Please BRING IT BACK!!!moreless

    2 0

  • 8.5

    A familar show that deserves a second chance.

    By count-chocula, Mar 01, 2008

    The premise of this show opens itself to many comedic possibilites: a bunch of washed up actors and Hollywood-folk all living under one Apartment building roof. Unfortunatly, due to Mr. Neilsen's ratings, this show will not be able to tell all of its stories. But don't let that deter you from giving this show a try: it has a large amount of very funny moments. For example, in the Pilot episode, Josh [the lead character] is fooled into giving a speech at a party which he believes was for him, but was actually for the cleaning lady: very funny stuff!



    This show has a wide gap between great characters and "people you just want to punch" characters. For example Josh, Hope and Saul are all great, they present great comedic moments and walk together brilliantly. On the other hand, we have Jesus (pronounced the English way), Charlene and Chris Klein's character. The joke about Jesus actually pronouncing his name the English way (with the J sounding like a J and not a H) wore thin after about 5 minutes; Raquel Welch is in her 60s and she's been cast a sexually charged "old momma!"; Chris Klein plays Josh's larger than life manager who, as you might expect, likes the ladies - haven't we all seen this character before?



    If some of the characters let down, however, the stories do not. Each episode presents a very funny tale beautifully presented. This show fits perfectly into CBS' Monday night comedy line up and unfortunatly, they will cancel it. It will really pain me to see this gem disappear from our screens having only broadcasted 6 episodes. In fact, it is noteworthy to mention that if it weren't for the 07-08 writer's strike, the show would have been pulled after episode 3 dipped to only 5 million viewers!



    I seriously don't want to say goodbye to this show, but I think I will have to. Make sure you check it out, while you still can...moreless

    0 0

  • 9.1

    a guy falls in love with a girl who lives in the building, but the girl has a bf.

    By numbeer1stunna, Feb 27, 2008

    overall i think this is an okay show. its pretty funny. i like the whole story, its pretty interesting, makes me wish i can be like josh, living in a building and falling in love with a girl who also lives there. i hope it doesnt get canceled like most shows that are filling up the 830 spot on mondays. i guess with me i dont have too much expectations for a show as long as its funny and interesting it keeps me entertained. i dont watch shows like these to learn something. if i did, id watch discovery or natgeo. i also like Joanna Garcia shes very pretty. dont CANCEL the show!!!moreless

    1 0

  • 1.0

    I'm giving this show a score of 1, and that's only because they had the sense to cast Jeffrey Tambor.

    By ibluemyself, Feb 18, 2008

    Any thing that stars Jeffrey Tambor is generally a work of brilliance. But "Welcome to the Captain" is some sort of horrific example of how even the most talented actors can sometimes pick a total dud. It's fairly hard to put my finger on what I didn't like about "Captain" but I'm fairly sure it isn't funny, which is a bad start for a show that claims to be a comedy. What did I like? Well, I guess it has the potential to be good, the cast aren't horrible and the idea of an apartment block comedy isn't new, but this is at least a little different. Sadly, the writing IS horrible. The obvious cliche of a girl keeping the protagonist in LA is really obvious and I honestly didn't care for it at all.moreless

    0 2

  • 6.9

    Hollywood types, old and young, stay at an old (actually a Landmark) hotel in West LA/Hollywood. This is a very 'fluid' kind of premise to bring in/exchange stars and cast members for highly-regarded, writer/producer/director/NY-er, John Hamburg.

    By vendbien, Feb 17, 2008

    Had to remind myself of the ugly, awkward, one-and-done first episodes of Cheers and Seinfeld - then I breathed deeply and thought, "I'm gonna give this a chance." The first episode ('Hi, my name is so-and-so and I come from such-and-such and when I grow up - or when I was young - I want(ed) to be a this-and-that) is something that just has to happen. Fortunately, in this 'I want the world and I want it now' world, more experienced heads prevail. This show has good connections, insider clout and, I am guessing, the will to get past the incubation process and blossom forth into a beautiful flower that all us honey bees will fight to drain and pollinate (Ooops, got carried away there... sorry. Of course I could just backspace that last bit out, but where's the fun). So, just like this review, let's give this a little time and see what happens. Hamburg, Tambor, Welch, Kranz, Klein, Garcia (mmmmm... Garcia), Jesus (with a 'J'), etal couldn't let us down, could they?moreless

    0 0

  • 1.5

    I know that this is one of CBS' first comedies without any laugh track, but still! CBS really needs to try harder to commission a better midseason sitcom to replace The Big Bang Theory. please skip this flop.

    By sanfranman91, Feb 10, 2008

    CBS's comedies has been known to be the same ol' sitcom. Fortunately, CBS tried something new with Welcome to The Captain. I like the fact that they're trying something new, but c'mon! Not like this! It's unfunny, incomplete and totally a rip-off of Scrubs. I know that this is one of CBS' first comedies without any laugh track, but still! CBS really needs to try harder to commission a better midseason sitcom to replace The Big Bang Theory. iIf you miss scrubs due to the writer's strike then watch the reruns on comedy central, but please skip this flop.



    I give this show two thumbs down.moreless

    0 1

  • 5.0

    What good is star power if they're stars that no one cares about?

    By shocker713, Feb 06, 2008

    While the rest of the cast for this show are relative unknowns, 3 names stand out in the credits: Chris Klein, Jeffrey Tambor, and Raquel Welch. Klein, you may remember, was the unfunny one from the first 2 American Pie movies, and Raquel, despite looking good for her age, hasn't been relevant in at least 2 decades. That leaves Jeffrey Tambor to carry the show and attempt to draw in some straggling Arrested Development fans with his very presence. Well, if they did tune in, they were probably disappointed.



    There's nothing wrong with a single-camera comedy with no laugh track (after all, Scrubs made it work), but you need the right premise to pull everything together. The writing definitely needs fine-tuning...after all, the whole idea behind not having a laugh track is, "our viewers are smart, we don't need to tell them when to laugh." Yeah, well, maybe you do, because the number of times I laughed at the pilot can be counted on one hand of a bad shop teacher.



    The whole "apartment building full of quirky characters" premise hasn't been done to death quite yet, but other shows have definitely done it better. To a certain extent, this show reminds me of a less-funny Newhart...and just like in Newhart, I wish I could wake up next to Suzanne Pleshette and discover it was all a dream.moreless

    0 0

  • 1.0

    I feel violated

    By Manolito71, Feb 05, 2008

    I had high hopes for this show. After all, it stars Jeffrey Tambor (comedic genius) and Chris Klein, always a favorite. These hopes were dashed before the end of the opening credits. Take all the leftovers you have in your fridge, hash them, boil them, re-hash them, boil them again for over 30 years and it will still be more fresh, tasteful and enjoyable than this show.



    It is predictable and definitely unfunny. I actually missed Hope and Faith during the unbearable 28 minutes this train wreck lasted. While you might wonder why I didn't just change channels, keep in mind I really thought this was going to be a great show. It's got Raquel Welsh for Pete's sake! Unfortunately, this is a show that NEVER would've made it on the air if it weren't for the writers' strike. So, to Hollywood I say: Please settle the strike! Sweet Moses give them what they want, they deserve it and we, the viewers, definitely deserve better than this stinkin' pile of...stewmoreless

    1 2

  • 10

    Loved this show! Great cast! Really loved Astrid (Valerie Azlynn)her character was a riot! I'm swerious!

    By faithasselin, Feb 05, 2008

    I think this show will definitely make it. It has the right mix of characters to be just as interesting as Friends was. The setting works well, with all of them in the El Capitain. There were some great set jokes with the wigs in the cabinet and the scary heads on the shelves while Josh got the acupuncture. Jesus was hysterical and Raquel still has it! My favorite was Astrid though. She wasn't on nearly long enough but she was extremely funny! Josh is a very likable character who is just desperate enough to need all these zanies around him to cheer him up! Great show!moreless

    0 1

Load More Reviews