Wolverine and the X-Men

Show Reviews (42)

Great
892 votes
8.0
  • SORT BY:
  • 10

    intoxicating

    By deliverence_ris, Dec 24, 2011

    i found myself adicted to this show and wanting more.the idea of a free spirited loner having to put himself aside and rase a team from the ashes then send them into battle.i get excited just thinking about this series again.then season two was supposed to A.O.A. i never thought i would get this excited over todays programing.easiy a contender for spectacular spiderman.those two were the best shows in the line up.unfortunatly this series was canceled due directly to low dvd sales.the funding ran out.but marvel/nickolodeon cannot blame the public for that.the dvds were 4 episodes for 10- 15 dollars u.s. i refused to pay that when i knew there would be a complete season 1 eventualy for atleast $20.and i was right.this series could have re written animated tv shows.moreless

    3 3

  • 5.0

    It could be worse, but it could have been a lot better.

    By happyxellos, Aug 06, 2010

    I loved the X-men growing up, I liked X-Men Evolution, and I wanted to like this show, so I'm going to be as fair as i can about this Review. Wolverine as a character isn't who he was, in the 80's and the 90's he was always the lone wolf, does what he wants, Stout smelly little Canadian that we all loved. This version is more indicative to this time. He's been made to be a pretty boy, a leader and a bit depressing. essentially he's been tamed, and seems like a shell of what he should be.



    I suppose my problem is simple, they disregard who the characters are. And while writing new stories is acceptable when go from comic to cartoon or film, the characters should be preserved. And its not just Wolverine that has lost who he was, its everyone. I think a few things kinda set you off from the get go on this show. One is the complete removal of Xavier and using him like Zordon of old Power Rangers fame. Its really hard to take the show seriously after that. In all fairness the show does try to have a plot, which is more than you can say for a lot of shows. The voice actors are mostly well cast. The animation is something of a curveball. It looks good at times, and has some very impressive scenes but there are obvious mistakes in every episode. Like the hole in the wall Rogue used to spy on Quicksilver.



    In the end I'd say X-men Evolution had the best animation and story. The original had the best art style and voice acting. What this series brings new to the table is an obvious attempt to be different, while the first season seemed like they were rushing a lot of things; trying to plug to many characters, all the while trying not to let anyone upstage wolverine. It is a flawed but watchable show, I just hope the obsession with wolverine fades a bit over the years, so he can return to his roots.moreless

    1 4

  • 9.0

    Nick does it again

    By mrob1nson, Jul 09, 2010

    Nickelodeon once again proves that good cartoons are not long gone. Wolverine and the xmen is the best incarnation on the x-men. Its a great new story, there is great voice acting, and there is much more enjoyment than the x-men movies. I thought that making wolverine the main focus of the show would spell disaster. However, it isn't as focused on wolverine as i thought. The show just presents wolverine as the leader of the x-men but he doesn't lose any of his character. I was sad when avatar aired the final episode but wolverine and the x-men shows me that there are still great cartoons to come.moreless

    4 0

  • 8.5

    Finally, SOMETHING decent.

    By syrusfan, Jul 09, 2010

    In a world where television has defenitely gone down the toilet in terms of entertainment, Wolverine is one of the few good shows out there. Now i never saw the 90s cartoon, and i don't remember much about Evolution, but this seems to establish it's own identity as a cartoon, and i like that. Originality is good for once when it's not just copying of the original source material. Now I have a few problems with it. Wolverine seems a bit too soft for me, Cyclops just depresses me, and the whole "ruined future" thing is a bit cliche. But the animation seems fresh, the action is quite cool, the characters are interesting, and overall, it's a good show. I haven't been able to see many episodes, but it does seem like a good show that does not disappoint for anyone who wants a good cartoon.moreless

    3 1

  • 8.0

    The newest incarnation of the beloved mutant franchise puts everyone's favourite Canuck at the forefront - while longtime fans may bemoan this spotlight, Wolverine and the X-Men is a fantastic series that stands proudly alongside the older 90's classic.

    By SimonTC1, Oct 17, 2009

    With the success of Fox's movie franchise, is anyone really surprised by the creative mandate to move Wolverine to the head of the X-Men? Logan is taking charge this time around, as the series opens with the mysterious disappearance of Professor Xaiver and Jean Grey. Xaiver's whereabouts are quickly revealed within the first few episodes, and it's an interesting twist that sets up the first season's plot threads. Those who liked the ongoing, serialized nature of the 90s X-Men series will find the same storytelling sensabilities here, with multiple plot threads weaving in and out and even stand-alone episodes tying in to the main arc. Like the past series, there's an authentic faithfulness to the Marvel comic universe - expect to see the Sentinels, Mister Sinister, Genosha, and many familar X-Men trappings. Even the Hulk and SHIELD bust into an episode for a match with Wolverine.



    And really, despite Wolverine's headlining name in the title, the creators do a good job of making sure the spotlight gets passed around a fair bit. Emma Frost, Rogue and Nightcrawler are particularly well-handled, and Xaiver gets a lot of screentime (moreso considering he's an old man in a cartoon aimed at kids). Wolverine gets a lot of solo spotlights, sure, but look back on the old series and you'll find he took the lead in multiple episodes as well. Where the series falters is the characterization of Cyclops - gone is the strong, tactical leader of the X-Men replaced by a depressed, brooding shell of a 2nd-stringer. Others like Storm, Kitty Pryde and Iceman are relegated to the supporting cast, though they are used consistently.



    The only real downside to the series is that it almost does too well a job of recycling the typical X-Men storylines - if you've watched the older shows, the movies, played the video games, etc. then you've seen Senator Kelly's anti-mutant agenda, the dark future created by the Sentinels, the Inner Circle and the Phoenix, Wolverine's Weapon X past, etc. "Wolverine and the X-Men" interprets these traditional storylines in a smart and intelligent fashion, but doesn't quite create engaging new storylines like the DC animated shows have done.



    Overall though, if you're in the mood for new X-Men animated material, Wolverine and the X-Men is worth your time.moreless

    3 0

  • 8.0

    interesting series....

    By G3ckOz, Oct 05, 2009

    Just started watching this new show and well, as my first impression and thoughts, the design of the characters, the childish lines and the colors, this looks a lot like The Batman(not that's a bad thing). Ok so far i've only seen up to episode 5, and it's not nearly as good as X-men TAS or Evolution series but it's still at the beginning and it shows a lot of promise. There's new equipment, new additions to the team (Emma Frost), which i think is a very good idea since she was voted "Hottest Comic Book Babe" in 2005, so this adds a different look for this show. I will deffinetly be watching the following episodes and reviewing further opinions, but, to be honest...i kinda like it. So far so good. Cheers!moreless

    2 0

  • 8.0

    Pretty good episode.

    By jdogrules, Aug 03, 2009

    So the nightcrawler episodes have been a highlight of the first season.This isn`t my favorite nightcrawler episode,but it is indeed a special one.

    i can`t beleive scarlet witch dropped logan on purpose!i guess she has a little bit of her version in x-men:evolution.the possed logan was very disturbing but i think that`s what the writers were aiming at.i do like the idea of scarled/nightcraawler

    but it`s weird since in x-meen:evolution,she ain`t think about him too much.All in All,a great episode.

    ffffffffffgswbgfmnfdgjfnb nvnnvnnnnn n nn jnn n, n.mbnv djhvn hnvmn bhn nvn vnb v v n mnbnb vnbg bb n nbjg kjb b n bbmoreless

    2 0

  • 10

    When an Eplosion uccurs that know one knows where it came from. The Professor and Jean disapear. one year later Wolverine works to reorginize the X-Men. They Head to Genosha where Magneto has made a Mutant Paradise where the Proffesor is being held

    By phunner1311, Aug 02, 2009

    This is another animated series for the X-Men, and in my opinion it is the best one yet. It takes all of the action from the X-Men movies but makes it appropriate for children. It uses characters that are barely mentioned in the movies (such as Knightcrawler and Angel), or Characters only mentioned in passing (Such as Emma Frost). This show is a nice twist on the classic X-Men. Also, in this show Wolverine is in-charge of the X-men instead of Cyclops which is the only thing I have against it. In this show Rogue is living with the Brother-hood *SPOILER* Just to get information on them. Also, this show shows conficts in the characters to join the X-Men. Cyclops is upset about Jean Disapearing. Storm is in Africa. Angel isn't aloud because of his dad's position. Rogue has joined The Brother-Hood. Knightcrawler is being held prisoner in Genosha. Only Beast Wolverine Shadowcat Iceman and Emma are preparedmoreless

    2 0

  • 10

    Probably tied for the first best adaptation of the X-Men cartoons with the 90's series. With great writing, great stories, exception voice actors this show is definitely the best new cartoon I've seen in quite sometime.

    By DaVulture, Jul 17, 2009

    Anyway, it's kind of interesting how I got hooked on the show, I read online that there was a new show coming out called Wolverine and the X-Men and a few of the episodes had already aired. Anyway it aired on the Nicktoons Network and I fell in love with the series immediately. Steven Blum as Wolverine is just great, and all the other voice actors are exceptional as well. Not mention the show is very serious in tone, and not kiddish. A potential war brewing on earth between humans and mutants. The characters are all well drawn, and I know a few people were disappointed Wolverine was the leader but his portrayal in this series keeps his tough grittiness, but also brings in new dimensions into his character. He just isn't an moronic killing machine, he has a purpose. It's also interesting seeing characters like Nightcrawler, Rogue, Shadowcat, the Ice-Man, the Beast, Mystique, Magento, etc....There is obviously a standard Wolverine going back for his past episode, there always is in every X-Men series, that's a bit tedious but other then that everything else is fun to watch. I'm definitely looking forward for Season 2.moreless

    6 3

Load More Reviews