Taking Lives

Follow
Released 2004

USER EDITOR

No Editor

User Score: 0

7.7
out of 10
User Rating
3 votes
1

SHOW REVIEWS
By TV.com Users

Movie Summary

Director:
D.J. Caruso
Released:
2004
Rating:
R

Taking Lives is a 2004 suspense thriller in the vein of Seven and Silence of the Lambs, directed by hit maker D.J. Caruso (Disturbia, Eagle Eye, I Am Number Four). FBI Special Agent Illeana Scott (Angelina Jolie, Alexander) is called by the Montreal police force to help in the investigation of a serial killer, who destroys the faces and takes the hands off his victims. Montreal Police Inspector Leclair (Tch'ky Karyo, Bad Boys, The Patriot) met Illeana in Quantico six months ago, and is aware that she can help detectives Duval (Jean-Hugh Anglade) and Paquette (Oliver Martinez) in their investigation. The artist James McKeen Costa (Ethan Hawke, Before Sunrise) is found with a victim in a park, and claims that he saw the killer. He gives a hint to the police through a sketch of the killer's face, and is protected by Illeana and the Canadian team against any revenge that may come from the assassin.

Metacritic Score

  • 80

    Variety Todd McCarthy

    A somber, absorbing thriller that treads familiar psycho serial killer terrain with style. Elegantly made and comparatively restrained in cramming sick and grisly stuff down the au...

  • 60

    The New York Times Dana Stevens

    From a technical standpoint, Taking Lives is competent and sometimes even impressive. It is cleanly edited and nicely shot -- at times as cool and rich as a York Peppermint Pattie....

  • 40

    Los Angeles Times Manohla Dargis

    It's slick nonsense at best and for the first hour it's watchable. There's cheap entertainment to be had from a thriller in which two detectives are played by beauties as ravishing...

SUBMIT REVIEW

Trailer

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

FILTER BY TYPE

More Info About This Movie

Themes

Murder & Mayhem, Psychological, Thrillers