ABC, TEN rule AFI Awards

After dominating the nominations, it wasn't a huge surprise when the ABC and Network TEN received the most television accolades at this year's AFI Awards.

Hawke, Review with Miles Barlow and Black Saturday documentary Inside the Firestorm lead the TV winners at the AFI Awards over the weekend.

The ABC was the most successful TV network at this year's AFI Awards , winning 11 awards including three for the documentary on Victoria's devastating Black Saturday bush fires, Inside the Firestorm. For the second year running, Review with Miles Barlow won Best Television Comedy Series and Best Performance in a Television Comedy Series for its star Phil Lloyd. Contact, dirtgirlworld, The Gruen Transfer, Miracles, My Place and You Only Live Twice: The Incredible True Story Of The Hughes Family also received recognition.

Politic biopic Hawke was responsible for half of TEN's six awards, including Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama for Richard Roxburgh's portrayal of the former Australian Prime Minister. The network also won Best Television Drama series for Rush, Deborah Mailman won for Offspring and Shaun Micallef for Talkin' 'Bout Your Generation.

SBS picked up a respectable two awards for Liberal Rule: The Politics That Changed Australia and Wilfred, while Nine got a look in thanks to Damien Garvey's performance in Underbelly: The Golden Mile. Showcase also earned pay TV's only award for Catherine McClements in Tangle.

Some of the top film awards went to the three highest-grossing box office releases of the year: Animal Kingdom, Tomorrow When the War Began and Bran Nue Dae.

The dark Melbourne crime thriller Animal Kingdom won 10 of its 18 nominations, including Best Film, AFI Members and Reader's Choice Awards, Best Direction, Best Original Screenplay, Best Lead Actor Awards for Jackie Weaver and Ben Mendelsohn, and Best Supporting Actor for Joel Edgerton. Jacki Weaver is also up for an Oscar for her role as troubled mother Janine "Smurf" Cody.

Tomorrow When the War Began received awards for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Sound, while Bran Nue Dae earned Deborah Mailman her second award of the night.

Although not one of the biggest money spinners, Jane Campion's Bright Star collected three awards with Greg Fraser winning Best Cinematography and Janet Patterson winning Best Production Design and Best Costume Design.

For the complete list of winners, visit the AFI Award website.