Oscars 2012: Where to Watch the 84th Annual Academy Awards (and Related Coverage) on TV and Online

  • 8comments

Award season is just flying by this year! Now that the Golden Globes, the Grammys, and many lesser-known ceremonies have all come and gone, it's time for what is arguably the most popular award show in the biz, the Academy Awards, airing this Sunday, February 26 at 7pm Pacific/4pm Eastern on ABC. Say what you want about movies getting duller and popcorn prices getting higher while Hollywood gets poorer: When the Oscars hit, we trade in our 3-D glasses for a pair of rose-colored specs until all we can see are stars. Movie stars, specifically, but the point here is that the Oscars are all about glitz, glimmer, and glam. So if that wets your whistle, we'll see you there this weekend—er, or at least tell you when and where you can tune in.

And if glam isn't your thing, maybe Billy Crystal is? This year marks his ninth, count it, ninth, appearance as host. Clearly, Mr. Crystal is the Academy's go-to, but hey, if it's worked eight times before, then he's bound to bring the funny again—even if he is a somewhat safe choice.

If we still haven't convinced you to tune in, listen to this: This year's nominees include a silent film about a silent film star, a film about an orphan with an appreciation for silent films, and another film about a young boy whose father was killed on 9/11 with a title that literally boasts the opposite of silent. This is riveting fiction, people! More than that, it's like a silent-film conspiracy! Do the others even stand a chance? That question, alone, warrants watching.

Visit our Oscars page to see the complete list of 2012 Academy Award nominees.


Where to Watch:

Unfortunately, the full Academy Awards ceremony won't be streaming live online, but if you have an iPad or an iPhone, you can download ABC Digital's Oscars app to access the related live-streams you'll find on the show's official website, plus movie trailers, special Oscar-centric video specials, and more. Android users won't be quite as equipped, though Comcast will offer a live-stream of E! Live From the Red Carpet for free through the Android Market. Bummertown on not getting to watch the actual ceremony, though. Maybe next year!



THE ACADEMY AWARDS:
SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 26, 2012



RED CARPET & PRE-SHOW COVERAGE:

LIVE ON TELEVISION

LIVE ON THE WEB

SUNDAY 2/26, 2PM ET / 11AM PT
E!'s LIVE FROM THE RED CARPET
SUNDAY 2/26, 1:30PM ET / 10:30AM PT:
E!'s RED CARPET COVERAGE
http://www.eonline.com/redcarpet/2012/oscars

SUNDAY 2/26, 6PM ET / 3PM PT:
TVGN's ACADEMY AWARDS RED CARPET
WITH CHRIS HARRISON


SUNDAY 2/26, 12PM ET / 9AM PT:
ABC.com's ACADEMY AWARDS VIDEOS
While it's unclear whether or not there will be an official live stream of the red carpet on Oscar day, this would be the place to find out. Meanwhile, there are plenty of other Oscar-themed videos to keep your attention. Of course, if you download the Apple or Android apps mentioned above, you'll get streaming red carpet access, for sure. http://oscar.go.com/video


LIVE AWARDS CEREMONY:

LIVE ON TELEVISION

LIVE ON THE WEB

SUNDAY 2/26, 7PM ET / 4PM PT:
ABC hosts the 2012 ACADEMY AWARDS
SUNDAY 2/26, 7PM ET / 4PM PT:

Unfortunately, there's no live stream for the official ceremony that we're aware of. But if you download the free iPad or iPhone Oscars app, you'll get access to backstage live-streams while the ceremony is going on. It will complement your television viewing party perfectly.


FASHION & AFTER PARTY COVERAGE:

LIVE ON TELEVISION

SUNDAY 2/26, IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE CEREMONY:
ABC's JIMMY KIMMEL LIVE: AFTER THE ACADEMY AWARDS SPECIAL
Kimmel's awards special will include appearances by Meryl Streep, Billy Crystal, Tom Hanks, George Clooney, Martin Scorsese, and Coldplay.


MONDAY 2/27, 8PM ET:

TVGN's ACADEMY AWARDS FASHION WRAP
TVGN dishes on the best and worst red carpet fashions of the day as the after all is said and done.


We'll update this story if we hear of additional Oscars coverage online or on TV, so bookmark it and check back often. Then, keep an eye out on Monday, February 27 for Price's photo recap of the ceremony!


Will you be tuning in for the Oscars this year?


RELATED STORIES:
TV.com Throwdown: What's the Better Awards Show, the Oscars or the Emmys?
ABC Releases a Celeb-Filled Trailer for... the Oscars? (VIDEO)
Billy Crystal Replaces Eddie Murphy as Academy Awards Host
Good News! The Oscars Will Have Musical Numbers Again (And No Eddie Murphy)