Seven celebrates 150th Melbourne Cup

  • 0comments

Celebrating its 150th lap at Flemington Racecourse this year, the race that stops a nation will see Australians glued to their TV screens when the starting gates open on November 2, broadcast live on Seven.

One of the most lavish and luxurious two-mile handicap in the world, the Emirates Melbourne Cup is followed by millions of race aficionados worldwide.

The current record for the 3,200-metre course is 1990 winner "Kingston Rule", who reached the finishing line in just three minutes and 16 seconds.

In an attempt to address the plethora of illegal gambling dens and race meets that had dominated the local area, The Cup was established by the Melbourne Chief of Police Robert Standish in 1861. Since then, its popularity has increased exponentially to overtake the scale of similar meets elsewhere in the world, attracting over 100,000 revellers annually -- a far cry from the 4,000 attendees in the event's first year.

And with the 150th anniversary garnering significant amounts of press coverage and publicity, it is certain to be another year of impressive attendance figures.

Broadcast by Seven, an immense team is required for the live television broadcast to go ahead without a hitch. Following a year of logistics planning, the network will send a crew of 365 to monitor and film every aspect of the race, ensuring that those watching across Australia are able to enjoy every twist and turn of the race.

Seven will also broadcast the four-day carnival that surrounds Cup day, including the AAMI Victoria Derby Day on October 30, Melbourne Cup preview on October 31, Crown Oaks Day on November 4 and Emirates Stake Day on November 6.

In front of the cameras will be the traditional line-up of Bruce McAvaney and his loyal team -- Francesca Cumani, Richard Freedman and Simon Marshall -- to make sure punters have all the information they need in the lead-up to the race.

And with fashion playing an equally important part in the festivities, Johanna Griggs, Sonia Kruger, Fifi Box and Rachael Finch will interview celebrities and critic the frocks across the field.

The 2010 Emirates Melbourne Cup will air live and exclusive on Tuesday, November 2 on Seven -- 10am-5:30pm in Sydney and Melbourne, 9am-4:30pm in Brisbane, 9:30am-5pm in Adelaide and 7am-2:30pm in Perth.

Like TV.com on Facebook