Shane Jacobson, Willem Dafoe for AFI Awards

With a star-studded line-up of presenters, performers and guests, the 2010 AFI Awards could be the biggest "knockout" on Australian television since the Anthony Mundine/Garth Woods fight on Wednesday.

Australia's longest-running film and television awards, the 2010 AFI Awards ceremony will take place at Melbourne's Regent Theatre on December 11. The 2010 AFI Industry Awards will be held the night before at the same venue.

With actor and comedian Shane Jacobson (Top Gear Australia, Kenny) as host, the event won't be short of laughs -- and as an AFI award-winner himself, Jacobson seems to be the right guy for the job.

Former Olympic Australian swimmer Giaan Rooney will host the red carpet arrivals before the awards show.

Leading the presenter announcements is internationally-renowned actor Willem Dafoe (Spider-Man, The English Patient, Clear & Present Danger). With an impressive acting career that has spanned 30 years, Dafoe is definitely the icing on the AFI celebration cake. And the 2010 AFI Awards might just be his most unexpected party appearance since he crashed the Oscorp Fair as the menacing Green Goblin in Spider-Man.

But these are Australian awards, and they wouldn't be complete without some of the best new and recognised talents in the industry.

Catherine McClements, Sigrid Thornton, Asher Keddie, Vince Colosimo, Nick Giannopoulos, Stephen Curry, Julia Zemiro, Josh Lawson, Joel Edgerton, Alan Jones, Caitlin Stasey, Yvonne Strahovski, Alex Dimitriades, Fred Schepisi, Shaun Micallef, Adam Zwar, Claudia Karvan, Lincoln Lewis and Nash Edgerton will all present awards on Saturday, with many more stars attending as guests.

Among those confirmed to attend are Ben Mendelsohn, Justine Clarke, Sacha Horler, Aaron Pederson, Deborah Mailman, Aden Young, Clayton Jacobson, Damian Walshe-Howling, Ashleigh Cummings, Deniz Akdeniz, Phoebe Tonkin, Chris Pang, Nathan Phillips, Sullivan Stapleton, Jo Beth Taylor, Rhys Muldoon, Linda Cropper, Rhiannon Fish, Kick Gurry, Phil Lloyd, Martin Sacks, Frank Lotito and Brett Tucker.

The performances should be a treat to the ears of guests and viewers, including Noiseworks front man Jon Stevens and The X Factor finalist Sally Chatfield, who is a Victoria native. Melbourne locals Claire Bowditch and Oh Mercy will perform at the Industry Awards on Friday night.

The 2010 AFI Awards premieres 9:30pm Saturday, December 11 on Nine.

There are no comments yet. Be the first by writing down your thoughts above.

Like on Facebook