TV Hall of Fame welcomes four

Television's goldenest girl tops this year's list of Television Hall of Fame inductees, which were announced Thursday by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Actress Bea Arthur (pictured, front and center), who played Dorothy Zbornak in The Golden Girls and Maude Findlay in Maude, is the sole actress getting her due this year. Since The Golden Girls went off the air, Arthur has reduced her workload, guest starring in a few shows such as Malcolm in the Middle and Curb Your Enthusiasm.

Joining her in this class are the late Merv Griffin, M*A*S*H producer Larry Gelbart, and Brady Bunch creator Sherwood Schwartz.

Griffin passed away last August at the age of 82. The producer had a vast media empire, and created the shows Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy (he also composed the latter's theme song).

Gelbart was instrumental in getting the popular M*A*S*H on the air, and wrote the screenplays for Oh God! and Tootsie.

In addition to creating The Brady Bunch, Schwartz also created Gilligan's Island. Like Griffin, Schwartz also had a hand in television theme songs, creating the jingles to both the aforementioned shows.

No date has been announced for the induction ceremony.

Like on Facebook