Crowded House

Crowded House

Birth Name


out of 10
User Rating
1 votes


No biography is available for Crowded House. Add a Biography


Trivia and Quotes

  • Trivia

    • Their albums include Crowded House, Afterglow, Recurring Dream and much more.

    • The band name, Crowded House, was inspired by the cramped room in California where the band spent 1985 rehearsing their self-titled debut album.

    • Their songs include "Don't Dream It's Over", "Something So Strong", "Sister Madly", "Lester", Weather With You and many more.

    • Crowded House often covered "Throw Your Arms Around Me" by Hunters & Collectors. Nick Seymour's brother was the frontman for Hunters & Collectors.

    • The 'Farewell To The World' concert, held at Sydney Opera House, had all proceeds go to the Sydney Children's Hospital.

    • The song "Pineapple Head" was written when Neil's son Liam started talking nonsense when having a high fever.

    • "Don't Dream It's Over" was used for a New Zealand tourism advertisement.

    • All up, Crowded House had 6 members.

    • Their only two number one albums ("Recurring Dream" and "Crowded House") were only number one in Australia and no where else.

    • Howie Day, Sarah Blasko, James Blunt, Belinda Carlisle and Paul Young are some of the many artists who have covered Crowded House. A CD was even produced, She Will Have Her Way, where only female artists covered their songs.

    • Paul Hester took his own life in 2005, making him the only deceased member of Crowded House as of 2006.

    • "Don't Dream It's Over" was used in The Stand, a Stephen King TV movie.

    • They won the 'MTV Video Music Award for Best New Artist' in 1987 for "Don't Dream It's Over".

    • A fan-created nickname for the band is The Crowdies.

    • For the first time in 11 years, Crowded House announced in 2007 they were reforming and they were also touring. As of January 2007, they were also looking for a replacement drummer for Paul Hester.

    • Crowded House was initially named The Mullanes (named after Neil's middle name), but later changed to Crowded House.

    • Neil Finn, Paul Hester and Tim Finn, who were all in Crowded House, were also in Split Enz before Crowded House.

    • Out of all members, Neil Finn and Nick Seymour stayed the longest in the band.

  • Quotes

    • Neil: It feels right to us that the band should re-emerge at this time and together with Mark Hart we look forward to reconnecting with the audience that we established and for whom we still hold a deep respect.

No one has discussed Crowded House yet. Start a conversation!

  • Fantastic both in the studio and live in concert

    Known as both Australian and New Zealanders, Crowded House (formally called The Mullanes) formed in 1985 with Neil Finn, Paul Hester, Nick Seymour and Craig Hooper (who left the band before they made their first album in 1986, when the group changed their name).

    Their albums include: the self titled debut Crowded House, Temple of Low Men, Woodface, Together Alone, Recurring Dream, After Glow, Farewell to the World and Time on Earth (due for release sometime in mid-2007). Their songs include: Don't Dream It's Over, Better Be Home Soon, Private Universe, Locked Out, Mean to Me, World Where You Live, Distant Sun, Weather With You and It's Only Natural.

    Original Drummer Paul Hester sadly commited suicide in March 2005, and in January 2007, Neil Finn, Nick Seymour and Mark Hart announced that Crowded House were getting back together and found a new drummer (Matt Sherrod) to replace Paul.

    As someone born in the year they made their first album, I grew up listening to the Crowdies and have always enjoyed their music. As much as I am sad that Paul Hester is no longer alive, I'm glad they've decided to get back together.moreless