7/10/2006, North Carolina

Birth Name

Chris Daughtry, Brian Craddock, Josh Steely, Josh Paul, Joey Barnes


out of 10
User Rating
5 votes


Daughtry is a band from North Carolina. The lead singer is Chris Daughtry who was a contestant on American Idol. The other members are Brian Craddock (Rhythm and guitar vocals), Josh Steely (Lead guitar) Josh Paul (Bass guitar, vocals, and Joey Barnes (Drums, percussion).


Trivia and Quotes

  • Trivia

    • All 5 of the band members are from North Carolina.

    • Chris Daughtry got his start on American Idol season 5.

    • Chris's favorite band is Live, and his favorite performer is Rob Thomas of the band Matchbox 20.

    • Chris's first public singing experience was singing "Achy Breaky Heart" (by Billy Ray Cyrus) at his grandfather's bar.

    • Chris took singing professionally seriously when he was 16 years old.

    • In 2005, Chris auditioned for Rock Star: INXS.

    • Chris Daughtry is a Christian and many of the songs on their album Daughtry show that.

    • Chris is the lead singer and a songwriter. He collaborated with Ed Kowalczyk of Live, Carl Bell, Brad Arnold of 3 Doors Down, Rob Thomas of Matchbox Twenty, SR-71 singer Mitch Allan, Brent Smith of Shinedown and Chad Kroeger of Nickelback on Daughtry.

    • They won Billboard Music Awards (2007) for Top Billboard 200 Album, Top Artists - Duo/Group (Pop), Top New Artist, Top Comprehensive Artist, Hot 100 Artists - Duo/Group,and Hot Adult Top 40 Artist.

    • They won a People's Choice Award for Best Song for their single "Home."

    • They won the following American Music Awards in 2007:

      Breakthrough Artist
      Best Adult Contemporary Artist
      Best Pop/Rock Album

    • They were nominated for the following 50th Annual Grammy Awards:

      Best Rock Album (Album: 'Daughtry')
      Best Rock Song (Song: "It's Not Over")
      Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocal (Song: "Home")
      Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals (Song: "It's Not Over")

    • Josh Paul also played for Suicidal Tendencies.

    • Chris Daughtry was born on December 26, 1979 in Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina.

    • The lead singer, Chris Daughtry, had no formal training before auditioning for American Idol.

    • So far (11/27/07) the singles released from their album come in this order 'Its Not Over', 'Home', 'What I Want', 'Over You', and 'Crashed', and 'Feels Like Tonight'.

    • They have opened for the bands Nickelback, Puddle of Mud, and Finger Eleven.

    • The band has a myspace.com profile.

    • Their single 'Home' was played whenever someone left the show on American Idol season 6.

    • 'It's Not Over', the first single from their debut album, sold 1,876,000 in point sales. The single 'Home' sold 1,181,000 points sales.

    • Their first album Daughtry was released on November 21, 2006.

  • Quotes

    • Tom Petty: Such a primal connection between a musician on top of his game and his fans can be so strong 'you can actually hurt yourself up there and not know it'.