Lani Tupu





11/4/1955 , Auckland, New Zealand

Birth Name




Lani Tupu was born on 4th November, 1955, in Auckland, New Zealand. He is a classically trained actor, and was educated at Rongotai College and Wellington Teacher's Training College. He was awarded a Queen Elizabeth 11 Arts Council Bursary in 1977 to enter New Zealand Drama School, where he graduated in 1978. Lani left New Zealand for Australia in 1985 to "branch out across the big pond".

He has been nominated for several awards throughout his career. These include the Best New Talent at the 1984 Feltex Television awards, several awards from the New Zealand Film Television Awards (1993) for Best Dramatic Performance and a Best Actor award for "Talk of the Town", which he also directed, at the Dreamaker Festival in Ontario, Canada. He was also finalist for the Male Performance Supporting Role at the 1986 Listener Film Television Awards for his work in the the film "Send a Gorilla", and was nominated for Best Actor in 1985.

Lani Tupu participated in the foundation of an Australian theatre group called "The Walkers and Talkers", which is no longer running, and has also served as an acting coach and taught "Acting for the Camera" in Australia and New Zealand. He also runs weekly workshops on "Screen Acting" at the Actors Centre in Sydney, Australia. Tupu is active in stage production, both as a director and actor, and spends considerable time behind the camera. He directed "Going Home" for the stage as well as the critically acclaimed and award-winning short film "Talk of the Town".

Lani Tupu's tv appearances include:

"Mission Impossible" (1988), "Time Trax" (1993), "The Feds" (1993), "High Tide" (1994), "Water Rats" (1996), "The New Adventures of Flipper" (1996), "House Gang" (1998), "The Lost World" (1999/2000), "Farscape" (1999-2003), "Green Sails" (2000), "The Finder" (2001), "Revelations" (2002), "Grass Roots" (2003), "Stingers" (2002/2004), "Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars" (2004) (Voice of Pilot).

Lani Tupu's movie appearances include:

"Sons for the Return Home" (1979), "Send a Gorilla" (1988), "The Punisher" (1989), "Marlin Bay" (1992), "Heart of Fire" (1997) (USA: "Tanker Incident"), "Lantana" (2001), and "Liquid Bridge" (2003), "The Condemned" (2007) and "Welcome Home" (2007).