Steve Wilkos





3/9/1964 , Chicago

Birth Name

Steven John Wilkos




I was born on the 9th of March in 1964 and raised on the Northside of Chicago. I was educated at John J. Audubon grammar school and in 1978 Lane Technical High School, graduating in 1982. My first car was a 1972 Fiat Spyder, a little blue two seater that I bought in 1982. I've always loved baseball and started playing in my freshman year of high school. Funny thing, my only interests in school at the time, were baseball and chasing girls. I didn't want to go to college and didn't want to get a job, so after high school I decided to join the United States Marine Corps, where I enlisted for 7 years and was honorably discharged in 1989. I figured I would get to do some travelling, see the world, and serve my country while enjoying the scenery.

Since 1990, I have been a Chicago Police Officer. I joined the Police Department for two reasons. First, my dad was a Police Officer so I wanted to follow in his footsteps and second, it was a lifetime dream of mine to be one. Being a Police Officer excites me! I love my job and I love protecting my community.

In 1994, the Jerry Springer show producers, decided to hire some off duty cops for security cover during the show. I was hired, and became a security guard for the Springer Show in addition to being a full-time Chicago Police Officer. I love working on the show! Jerry and I took to each other instantly because of the commonalities and interests we share in baseball. I'm sure you can imagine my schedule is pretty full between taping shows, being Jerry's sidekick and catching the bad guys in the city streets. But I can definitely say I do enjoy every minute!

As most people know, I am a baseball fanatic and a huge Cubs fan. I've been a Cubs fan since 1969 and watch all the games! I have a lot of memorabilia from players who have visited the show, including, autographed bats, balls and jerseys. I have a passion for golf and have been playing for the past 10 years. I also enjoy bowling and reading books. I must have read a hundred baseball books alone, as well as hundreds of other various books during my life.

I've had two pet dogs in my life. One is named Dina, she's a black Shepherd lab and is now 12 years old. The other was a Beagle, her name was Zsa Zsa and we had her for 12 years. I was 8 years old at the time she came to live with us and she passed away when I was 20.

My big role model was Ted Williams, not only because he was a baseball player, but also because he was a jet fighter pilot in the Marines. He served in World War 2 and the Korean War while still an active baseball player for the Boston Red Sox. My other role model is my dad, without him I wouldn't be where I am today. My dad also served in the Korean War and was a Police Officer for 30 years.

My goal is to retire by the time I'm 50 and enjoy life. I'd like to do some travelling, play golf and go to ball games. I have always dreamed of visting South Africa and the Rainforests. I definitely want to go on safari. as I have always been fascinated with wild life and the scenery.

I would have to say my favorite show is the Simpson's! They even used my image on one episode. D-OH!

My favorite meal is Steak & Spaghetti, hands down. I'm not much of a dessert eater, so I always take a pass when the desert cart comes around. I would have to say my favorite thing to do at night is sit in my chair and read. I'm not much of a night person, I'm content at home reading and surfing the Internet.

People always ask me what I look for in a woman… it's simple, someone who appreciates humor and loves life.