The Kinks





1/1/1964 , London, England

Birth Name

The Kinks




The Kinks were an popular British rock group. They were formed in 1963 by two brothers- lead singer-songwriter Ray Davies, and lead guitarist and vocalist, Dave Davies. Their early singles set a standard in the mid-1960s for Rock and Roll, and albums such as Face to Face, Something Else, Village Green, Arthur and Muswell Hillbillies are considered amongst the most influential albums of the sixties. The group's original line-up consisted of Ray Davies, Dave Davies, Pete Quaife and Mick Avory. Their first succes was in 1964 with their third single "You Really Got Me", written by Ray Davies. After Pete Quaife's departure in 1969, the band centered around the three remaining original members and frequently changed bassists and keyboardists. By 1984, only the Davies brothers from the original line-up left. Along with the other members of the so-called Big Four that including The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and The Who, the Kinks are categorized as a British Invasion band. Despite being less commercially successful than other three, the band is cited as one of the most important and influential rock bands of the era among them.
The band has been inactive since 1996, but their influence on emerging artists, (such as Blur, Oasis, The Killers, The Fratellis, Franz Ferdinand...) has been a constant.

Studio discography:

- The Kinks (1964)
- Kinda Kinks (1965)
- The Kink Kontroversy (1965)
- Face to Face (1966)
- Something Else by The Kinks (1967)
- The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society (1968)
- Arthur (Or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire) (1969)
- Lola versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One (1970)
- Muswell Hillbillies (1971)
- Everybody's in Show-Biz (1972)
- The Great Lost Kinks Album (1973)
- Preservation: Act 1 (1973)
- Preservation: Act 2 (1974)
- Soap Opera (1975)
- Schoolboys in Disgrace (1976)
- Sleepwalker (1977)
- Misfits (1978)
- Low Budget (1979)
- Give the People What They Want (1981)
- State of Confusion (1983)
- Word of Mouth (1984)
- Think Visual (1986)
- UK Jive (1989)
- Phobia (1993)