American Dreams

Season 1 Episode 8

Black and White

Aired Sunday 8:00 PM Nov 17, 2002 on NBC



  • Trivia

    • Helen Pryor meets her new college classmates at the Vinyl Crocodile. They announce that they have bought some Frank Sinatra records, and that now Helen has to buy some of their music. They immediately hand Helen a small stack of 45's.

      Except that among the 45's is a record on the Uni label (it's the one with the red-tan colored sleeve). As a label, Uni did not exist until the mid-to-late 1960's. Seeing this record, out of place with the rest of the 45's in the scene, broke the illusion that the show would portray a scene from 1963, by putting in records and materials that existed in a later time period.

    • The Four Tops first visit to American Bandstand:
      The footage had to be from about 9 months later when that song was released. The Four Tops were together as a recording group many years before but the song they sang on the episode shown was their first TOP 40 hit.

  • Quotes

    • Roxanne: You're supposed to be with Luke.
      Meg: What does that mean?
      Roxanne: Figure it out. I can wait. I've got all night, I don't have a date or anything. But it is kinda cold so if you figure it out sooner than later that'd be great.
      Meg: (stunned) You never liked Luke...
      Roxanne: No, I like East Catholic jocks and college boys on buses.
      Meg: And he doesn't like you?!
      Roxanne: Are you finished? And California surfer boys and rock 'n' roll drummers. Oh, and the waiter at the pizzeria. Okay, now I'm finished and no, he doesn't like me. Meg, if you stopped pretending that you hate Luke you might notice that you really, really like him. Oh, and swimmers. I forgot swimmers.

    • Meg: What are you doing out here? I thought you had a date with Luke.
      Roxanne: Nope, you do. Look, the sooner you admit you like him the easier this gets for all of us. So go on in there! He's closing up!

  • Notes

    • Songs w/Artists (in tonight's episode)
      * How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) - Marvin Gaye - 6-1/30/65
      * In Crowd - Brian Auger - [not charted]
      * Stand By Me - Ben E. King - 4-6/12/61
      * Be True To Your School - The Beach Boys - 6-12/21/63
      * Bleaker Street - Marvin Stamm - [not charted]
      * Beechwood 4-5789 - The Marvelettes - 17-9/22/62 [not listed by NBC]
      * Baby I Need Your Loving - Righteous Brothers - [not charted]
      * Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (live)
      * [unknown - Frank Sinatra?]
      * Stubborn Kinda Of Fellow - Marvin Gaye - 46-12/01/62
      * Wipe Out - The Sufaris - 2-8/10/63
      * Willie And The Hand Jive - Sha-Dels - [not charted]
      * Don't Think Twice, It's All Right - Bob Dylan - [1963 Album cut]

  • Allusions

    • Patty Pryor: I'll bring Nancy Drew.

      Nancy Drew was a series of books that came out in the early 1900's. The books were about Nancy Drew going out and solving mysteries. The series was for girls while The Hardy Boys another mystery book came out for boys.

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.