American Idol

Season 11 Episode 39

Phillip Phillips Vs Jessica Sanchez

Aired Wednesday 8:00 PM May 22, 2012 on FOX



  • Trivia

    • Jason Derulo performed "Undefeated" the Perfect Harmony song. Scotty McCreery performed "Please Remember Me" which was the coronation song this season.

    • There were no video clips shown before any of the performances.

    • This episode's Twitter hashtags were: #IdolTour and #idolfinale.

    • After each of the first two rounds the Judges gave their overall impression of the singers and who won the round. Only the third round did the Judges critique the individual performances.

    • Jordin Sparks was in the audience tonight.

  • Quotes

  • Notes

    • Each contestant sang three songs, a song chosen by Simon Fuller, their favorite performance from the season and the Winner's Song. The songs sung tonight were:
      Jessica Sanchez-"I Have Nothing" by Whitney Houston
      Phillip Phillips-"Stand By Me" by Ben E. King 
      Jessica Sanchez-"The Prayer" by Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli
      Phillip Phillips-"Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)" by Billy Joel
      Jessica Sanchez-"Change Nothing" (Original Song)
      Phillip Phillips-"Home" (Original Song)

    • Jessica Sanchez becomes the first person ever to be given the Save and make the finale.

    • This is the only one hour performance episode of the whole season. This first time that this has happened.

    • This is just the second time that both Idols had their own original songs as the Winner's Song. The other season was 5. In Season 7 both David Cook and Archuleta performed original songs, but neither were Winner's songs.

    • Phillip won the coin toss and chose to go second.

  • Allusions

No results found.
No results found.
No results found.