American Idol

Wednesday 8:00 PM on FOX Premiered Jun 11, 2002 Between Seasons



User Score: 5729

  • Season 2 Episode 15: I Need Results, Not Excuses!

  • Simon explained that the reason he was in a bad mood the previous night was because of the producers being a pain. This caused a bit of a stir and also led to a group hug involving all the contestants, families and some of the crew as well, to cheer Simon up. Simon later "apologized" for his comments.

  • Season 2 Episode 16: The Clean Dozen

  • Songs sung:
    Kimberley Locke-"(Love Is Like a) Heat Wave" by Martha and the Vandellas
    Josh Gracin-"Baby I Need Your Loving" by The Four Tops
    Charles Grisgby-"How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)" by Marvin Gaye
    Kimberly Caldwell-"Nowhere to Run" by Martha and the Vandellas
    Rickey Smith-"1-2-3" by Len Barry
    Julia DeMato-"Where Did Our Love Go?" by The Supremes
    Clay Aiken-"I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)" by The Four Tops
    Vanessa Olivarez-"You Keep Me Hangin' On" by The Supremes
    Corey Clark-"This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)" by The Isley Brothers Carmen Rasmusen-"You Can't Hurry Love" by The Supremes
    Trenyce-"Come See About Me" by The Supremes
    Ruben Studdard-"Baby I Need Your Loving" by The Four Tops

  • Season 2 Episode 17: The First One Bites The D...

  • Starting with this season the contestants sit at the right side (our right) when hearing the results instead of the left side.

  • The group number was (Love Is Like a) Heat Wave" by Martha and the Vandellas. This is the first time the group number song is one that a contestant had sung.

  • Season 2 Episode 18: Eleven Man Band

  • Simon's mom was in the audience

  • Kristian Holt appears in this episode, showing us the new house the Contestants would live in. This is her first appearance since the Hollywood round.

  • Gladys Knight refers to Ruben as the "Velvet Teddy Bear". This has become his nickname, not just for the remainder of the competition, but afterward as well.

  • Ryan gets another judge, this time Randy, by showing embarrassing photos of him.

  • Simon mentions that the next week would be Disco, but that wound up being Top 9 week not the next week.

  • Songs sung:
    Corey Clark-"Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)" by Phil Collins, from the movie "Against All Odds"
    Ruben Studdard-"A Whole New World" by Peabo Bryson and Regina Belle from the movie "Aladdin"
    Trenyce-"I Have Nothing" by Whitney Houston from the movie "The Bodyguard" Clay Aiken-"Somewhere Out There" by Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram from the movie "An American Tail"
    Kimberly Caldwell-"The Shoop Shoop Song (It's in His Kiss)" by Cher from the movie "Mermaids"
    Josh Gracin-"I Don't Want to Miss a Thing" by Aerosmith from the moive "Armageddon"
    Carmen Rasmusen-"Hopelessly Devoted to You" by Olivia Newton-John from the movie "Grease"
    Charles Grigsby-"You Can't Win" by Michael Jackson from the movie "The Wiz"
    Rickey Smith-"It Might Be You" by Stephen Bishop from the moive "Tootsie" Julia DeMato-"Flashdance... What a Feeling" by Irene Cara from the moive "Flashdance"
    Kimberley Locke-"Home" by Diana Ross from the movie"The Wiz"

  • Rickey's first song choice was "A Whole New World", but had to choose another song after Rueben chose the same song.

  • Corey Clark's performance was cut when the episode was aired on American Idol Rewind.

  • Season 2 Episode 19: One More Shall Fall

  • There were two group numbers in this episode. First was "Footloose" by Kenny Logginsfrom the movie "Footloose" and "(I've Had) the Time of My Life"by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnesfrom the movie "Dirty Dancing".

  • Randy got Ryan back by showing embarrassing photos of him

  • Season 2 Episode 20: 10, 9, 8… Ah, You Know...

  • Songs sung:

    Josh Gracin-"Ain't Goin' Down (Til The Sun Comes Up) by Garth Brooks

    Trenyce-"I Need You" by LeAnne Rimes

    Kimberley Locke-"I Can't Make You Love Me" by Bonnie Raitt

    Corey Clark-"Drift Away" by Dobie Gray

    Carmen Rasmusen-"Wild Angels" by Martina McBride

    Rickey Smith-"I've Done Enough Dyin' Today" by Larry Gatlin

    Kimberly Caldwell-"Anymore" by Travis Tritt

    Ruben Studdard-"Sweet Home Alabama" by Lynyrd Skynyrd

    Julia DeMato-"Breathe" by Faith Hill

    Clay Aiken-"Somebody Else's Star" by Bryan White

  • Due to a lack of timing, Ryan only asked Simon a critique on Clay. The other three judges gave him a standing ovation so he felt it was unnecessary to ask them.

  • Season 2 Episode 21: Ten Will Become Nine

  • This episode featured the very first Ford music video (which is now a weekly thing). The song was "Mustang Sally" byMack Rice. The video was Josh driving a car and Kimberly Caldwell being stranded with her motorcycle. Josh stops to help and she steals his car, but then comes back and picks him up. This only featured the two contestants when usually the video features all of them, however all the contestants sang the song.

  • Ryan did not announce a specific amount of votes

  • There were 2 Group Numbers tonight. The first was "Where The Blacktop Ends" by Keith Urban and the other one (sung twice) was "God Bless The U.S.A." byLee Greenwood. The second one was an homage to the fact that there was a war going on.

  • Season 2 Episode 22: You Kids Be Good!

  • When Ryan read out Trenyce's number nothing came on the screen. After the commercial break they did it again so the number could be shown to everyone.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
No results found.
No results found.
No results found.

More Info About This Show




celebrity cameos, music and dancing, Talent, hip soundtrack, fame and fortune