American Soldiers: A Complete History of U.S. Wars

Ambrose Video Premiered Jan 01, 2004 Unknown


No Editor

User Score: 0

Episode Guide


  • Specials
    • Wars for the Continent
      This episode spanning the years 1702 to 1770 covers some of the earliest conflicts on U.S. soil, including Queen Anne's War, the oddly named War of Jenkins' Ear, the French and Indian War, Pontiac's War and the Boston Massacre.
    • Manifest Destiny Wars
      A fledgling nation looks toward the West in this episode spanning the years 1797 to 1836. Highlights include the launch of the USS Constitution; the British capture of Washington, D.C.; the debut of "The Star-Spangled Banner"; and the battle for Texan independence at the Alamo.
    • The Revolutionary War
      In this episode tracing the American colonists' struggle for independence from 1775 to 1781, George Washington is named commander of the Continental Army; John Paul Jones sets sail aboard the Bonhomme Richard; and soldiers survive a terrible winter at Valley Forge.
    • The Civil War
      The Civil War
      Episode 5
      Chronicling the years 1846 to 1865, this episode covers the United States' declaration of war on Mexico; the secession of 11 states and the creation of a Confederacy; President Lincoln's unveiling of the Emancipation Proclamation; and Gen. Lee's surrender at Appomattox.
    • The Imperial Wars
      With a focus on the rise of Manifest Destiny during the years 1868 to 1918, this episode covers the conflicts with Native Americans at Little Big Horn and Wounded Knee; the sinking of the USS Maine; and the United States' entry into World War I.
    • The Cold War
      The Cold War
      Episode 3
      The nature of geopolitical conflict changes in this episode spanning the years 1952 to 1969 as President Eisenhower puts John Foster Dulles in charge of fighting communism in the Cold War. Other milestones include the Cuban Missile Crisis and the United States' entry into the Vietnam War.
    • The Global Wars
      The Global Wars
      Episode 2
      Milestones in this episode spanning the years 1939 to 1953 include Japan's bombing of Pearl Harbor and the United States' decision to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima; the launch of the D-Day invasion; and U.S. participation in the Korean War.
    • The Police Wars
      The Police Wars
      Episode 1
      The series concludes with an examination of modern conflict during the years 1973 to 2004. Highlights include the United States' futile efforts to win the war in Vietnam; the Grenada conflict; the Gulf War; the end of the Cold War; and the war in Iraq.
No results found.
No results found.
No results found.