Amos 'n' Andy

CBS (ended 1953)




User Rating
66 votes

By Users

Write A Review
Amos 'n' Andy

Show Summary

Alvin Childress and Tim Moore starred in what is considered by some to be the most offensive television program of all time. Despite its controversy, it was also one of first TV shows to have a predominantly black cast.
"Amos 'n' Andy" began as a weekly series airing Thursday nights on CBS. Twenty-seven new episodes were broadcast through January 3, 1952. This was followed by 25 weeks of reruns. When new episodes returned on July 10, 1952, "Amos 'n' Andy" became a bi-weekly series. By June 11, 1953, the date of the final CBS broadcast, only 52 "Amos 'n' Andy" episodes had been aired. An additional 13 episodes premiered in Fall 1953 when the series became nationally syndicated. (In most cities, the syndicated run began with these 13 new episodes, followed by reruns of the 52 CBS shows.) In August 1954, filming began on "The Adventures of Kingfish," an "Amos 'n' Andy" spinoff slated to premiere January 4, 1955 on CBS. But according to an article in the January 1, 1955 issue of Billboard magazine, "Kingfish" was taken off the schedule before it could even make its debut. Later that month, the 13 "Kingfish" episodes premiered in first-run syndication as part of the "Amos 'n' Andy" series. With these final 13, there were now a total of 78 "Amos 'n' Andy" episodes.moreless
No results found.
No results found.
No results found.