ITV (ended 1998)


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
89 votes

By Users

Write A Review

Show Summary

Welcome to the Cadfael guide at Brother Cadfael is a twelfth-century Anglo-Welsh monk created by the late Edith Pargeter, writing under the pen name of Ellis Peters. A retired crusader disappointed in love, now a herbalist in charge of the gardens of Shrewsbury Abbey, Cadfael (played by Derek Jacobi) is often called on to solve murders and other crimes in and around Shrewsbury, Shropshire, in the border country where England meets Wales. The producers decided to film the series on location in Hungary, seemingly on the grounds that it looks more medieval than present-day England. This is why quite a number of Hungarian actors appear as guests. The original Cadfael books are: A Morbid Taste for Bones (1977), One Corpse Too Many (1979), Monk's-Hood (1980), Saint Peter's Fair (1981), The Leper of Saint Giles(1981), The Virgin in the Ice (1982), The Sanctuary Sparrow (1983), The Devil's Novice (1983), Dead Man's Ransom (1984), The Pilgrim of Hate (1984), An Excellent Mystery (1985), The Raven in the Foregate (1986), The Rose Rent (1986), The Hermit of Eyton Forest (1987), The Confession of Brother Haluin (1988), The Heretic's Apprentice (1989), The Potter's Field (1989), The Summer of the Danes (1991), The Holy Thief (1992) and Brother Cadfael's Penance (1994).moreless


More Info About This Show


Drama, Suspense


Detectives, Historical, Murder & Mayhem, British TV