Civil War Films of the Silent Era

Image Entertainment Premiered Jan 01, 2000 Unknown


No Editor

User Score: 0

User Rating
0 votes

By Users

Write A Review
Civil War Films of the Silent Era

Show Summary

Civil War Films of the Silent Era is a collection of three well known silent films that are centered around events and characters associated with the United States Civil War. The films included in the collection are The Drummer of the Eight (1913), The Coward (1915), and Granddad (1913). Each of the three films in the collection was helmed by renowned silent era producer Thomas Ince. The Drummer of the Eight is about a young boy who's so attached to his older brother that he follows him into battle the only way he knows how. In The Coward, a young soldier must learn to overcome his fear of battle or face dire consequences. Granddad is a film about a Civil War veteran and his interaction with his much younger grandson. Civil War Films of the Silent Era showcases three heartfelt stories that not only depict the Civil War in a different light than movies of today, but also opens up the world of early cinema for movie fans and historians both to enjoy.moreless

More Info About This Show


Military & War, Classics