Democracy Now!

Season 2011 Episode 1230

Friday, December 30, 2011

0
Aired Unknown Dec 30, 2011 on Democracy Now!
N/A
out of 10
User Rating
0 votes

EPISODE REVIEWS
By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Episode Summary

EDIT
Friday, December 30, 2011
AIRED:
For our last broadcast of 2011, we turn to someone who became one the faces of the global Occupy movement this year. Scott Olsen, a 24-year-old former U.S. Marine who served two tours in the Iraq war, was critically wounded after being shot in the head by a police projectile at Occupy Oakland. In a rare interview, Olsen joins us to discuss his life-threatening ordeal, his involvement in this year’s historic Wisconsin and Occupy protests, the case of accused Army whistleblower Bradley Manning and how he too had access to similar types of information, and the U.S. withdrawal from Iraq. "They aren’t respecting our right to assemble, protest and redress our government for grievances," Olsen says of police repression of the Occupy protests. "They are terrorizing us from going out [to demonstrations]. That is a sad statement for our country." Olsen also says he expects to rejoin the Occupy and antiwar protests as his recovery progresses. "I look forward to being a part of the 99 percent and Iraq Veterans Against the War in 2012," he says. [Rush transcript to come. Check back soon.]moreless
Sunday
No results found.
Monday
No results found.
Tuesday
No results found.

Episode Discussion

Join the discussion of this episode Episode Discussion

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

See All Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions Trivia & Quotes

Season 2011 Episodes

See All
Ep 1230
Friday, December 30, 2011
Ep 1229
Thursday, December 29, ...
Ep 1228
Wednesday, December 28,...
Ep 1227
Tuesday, December 27, 2011
Ep 1226
Monday, December 26, 2011
Ep 1223
Friday, December 23, 2011
Ep 1222
Thursday, December 22, ...
Ep 1221
Wednesday, December 21,...
Ep 1220
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
Ep 1219
Monday, December 19, 2011
Ep 1216
Friday, December 16, 2011
Ep 1215
Thursday, December 15, ...
Ep 1214
Wednesday, December 14,...
Ep 1213
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Ep 1212
Monday, December 12, 2011
Ep 1209
Friday, December 9, 2011
Ep 1208
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Ep 1207
Wednesday, December 7, ...
Ep 1206
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Ep 1205
Monday, December 5, 2011
Ep 1202
Friday, December 2, 2011
Ep 1201
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Ep 1130
Wednesday, November 30,...
Ep 1129
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Ep 1128
Monday, November 28, 2011
Ep 1125
Friday, November 25, 2011
more