Democracy Now!

Season 2011 Episode 0610

Friday, June 10, 2011

0
Aired Unknown Jun 10, 2011 on Democracy Now!
N/A
out of 10
User Rating
0 votes

EPISODE REVIEWS
By TV.com Users

Write A Review

Episode Summary

EDIT
Friday, June 10, 2011
AIRED:
Almost three months after the earthquake and tsunami that triggered a nuclear disaster in Japan, new radiation "hot spots" may require the evacuation of more areas further from the damaged Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power facility. Japan’s Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency recently admitted for the first time that full nuclear meltdowns occurred at three of the plant’s reactors, and more than doubled its estimate for the amount of radiation that leaked from the plant in the first week of the disaster in March. “What they failed to mention is that they discharged an equally large amount into the ocean,” says our guest Robert Alvarez, former senior policy adviser to the U.S. Secretary of Energy. “As [the radiation] goes up the food chain, it accumulates. By the time it reaches people who consume this food, the levels are higher than they originally were when they entered the environment.” Alvarez also discusses his new report on the vulnerabilities and hazards of stored spent fuel at U.S. reactors in the United States. Then we go to Tokyo to speak with Aileen Mioko Smith, executive director of the group Green Action. She says citizens leading their own monitoring efforts are calling for additional evacuations, especially for young children and pregnant women. [includes rush transcript]moreless

Episode Discussion

Join the discussion of this episode Episode Discussion

Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions

See All Trivia, Notes, Quotes and Allusions Trivia & Quotes

Season 2011 Episodes

See All
Ep 1230
Friday, December 30, 2011
Ep 1229
Thursday, December 29, ...
Ep 1228
Wednesday, December 28,...
Ep 1227
Tuesday, December 27, 2011
Ep 1226
Monday, December 26, 2011
Ep 1223
Friday, December 23, 2011
Ep 1222
Thursday, December 22, ...
Ep 1221
Wednesday, December 21,...
Ep 1220
Tuesday, December 20, 2011
Ep 1219
Monday, December 19, 2011
Ep 1216
Friday, December 16, 2011
Ep 1215
Thursday, December 15, ...
Ep 1214
Wednesday, December 14,...
Ep 1213
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Ep 1212
Monday, December 12, 2011
Ep 1209
Friday, December 9, 2011
Ep 1208
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Ep 1207
Wednesday, December 7, ...
Ep 1206
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Ep 1205
Monday, December 5, 2011
Ep 1202
Friday, December 2, 2011
Ep 1201
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Ep 1130
Wednesday, November 30,...
Ep 1129
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Ep 1128
Monday, November 28, 2011
Ep 1125
Friday, November 25, 2011
more